April ’16 Wrap Up

Wrap Up April Logo

Hello everyone!

I am here today to wrap up all the things I read, posted and accomplished in April. I honestly thought I was going to die this month. I convinced myself that it was a great idea to be part of four different buddy reads along with reading my regular TBR books. So it happened that I ended up reading 5 books at once for two weeks and only have 3 read books the first two weeks of the month. In the end, it was actually quite fun but maybe I won’t do that many again.

SO let’s get started!

Books I READ

Read Books April

  1. Dirty South Drug Wars by Jae Hood 3 Stars  I got an e-ARC review copy from the author in exchange for an honest review. I generally liked the story but I felt like it could’ve been much better if the editing process had been more through. If you’d like to see more of my in depth thoughts, check out my review which is listed down below.
  2. Sea Glass (Glass #2) by Maria V. Snyder – 4.5 Stars  Definitely much better than the first book. I love the main character’s development in this one, though a little extreme at times. The writing style and the plot are absolutely amazing as Maria does and I can’t wait to finish this trilogy next month.
  3. Wolf by Wolf (Wolf by Wolf #1) by Ryan Graudin – 5 Stars  This was go amazing!! I was a little apprehensive because of all the hype and the beginning is a little slow to start, BUT IT WAS SO GOOD! I was blown away, the writing style is incredible, the story kept me hooked and THAT ENDING. I need the second book now please.
  4. Ten Thousand Skies Above You (Firebird #2) by Claudia Gray – 5 Stars  Abby and I read the first book with Gervan last month and we were dying to continue so we buddy read this one together. IT WAS SO GOOD! More than everything I loved in the first book. I am now in love with this series and I am dying for the last book because of that ending!
  5. Proxy (Avalon #0.5) by Mindee Arnett – 3.5 Stars  Interesting novella to start off a series. I liked the writing style and there was a lot of action for just 82% of content (the rest was the first chapter in the first book). I’m interested in learning more about the characters.
  6. Lady Thief (Scarlet #2) by A.C. Gaughen – 4 Stars  In my efforts to finishing more series this year, I continued with this series. I like this series but it’s kind of a bit of love/hate relationship. There’s parts I enjoy, and others that make me really uncomfortable. But I’ll talk about it more once I write a series review.
  7. Anything You Want by Geoff Herbach – 4 Stars  I buddy read this e-ARC with Cristina @ My Tiny Obsessions and Kat @ My Life and Other Disasters and I was kind of the odd woman out in the beginning. I wasn’t a fan of the main character at first or the writing style but the story and his personality stole my heart and I ended up enjoying it.
  8. The Conspiracy of Us (The Conspiracy of Us #1) by Maggie Hall – 4 Stars  I was interested in this book because of the cover since it first came out but I never picked it up. Then Lainey from gingerreadslainey read it and raved about both this one and the sequel so I picked it up this month. I enjoyed it but it had a rough beginning. It got better and better towards the end though so I’m looking forward to the sequel.
  9. Harry Potter and the Prisoner of Azkaban (Harry Potter #3) by J.K. Rowling – 5 Stars  I am so happy that we finally got to this book! This is my favorite of the movies I have seen and I was a little scared that the book wouldn’t compare or be worse. BUT IT’S NOT! My first 5 stars for this reason, no regrets whatsoever. So much more action and information and entertaining. Can’t wait for the next book!
  10. Avalon (Avalon #1) by Mindee Arnett – 4.5 Stars  I picked up this book because of Lainey’s recommendations and I actually really enjoyed it. I’ve never been a huge fan of science fiction, it’s really confusing to me, but this had the kind of backstory that I could grasp. I really enjoyed the characters and the plot was full of twists and turns.
  11. Map of Fates (The Conspiracy of Us #2) by Maggie Hall – 5 Stars  OMG, this was amazing! The first book was good, but everything was taken up a notch in this book. More action, more drama, more twists and turns. I was obviously completely blown away by the things that happened in this book. The character development was amazing and that ending! Can’t wait for the last book!
  12. Polaris (Avalon #2) by Mindee Arnett – 4.5 Stars  I was surprised with how much I enjoyed the first book and wanted to try and finish the duology this month and I’m so glad I did! This one was just as exciting and action packed, with lots of plot twists and unexpected turns. However, there’s just something about it that I can’t make myself give it the full five stars. I’ll be exploring that in my series review at the end of May.
  13. Rebel Belle (Rebel Belle #1) by Rachel Hawkins – I’m currently reading this book with Gervan and Abby for our book club. Unfortunately, we started a little later in the month than usual and we’ve all been busy in general so we didn’t finish it this month. However, I’m sure we will soon since we’re halfway through and I’ll be sharing my thoughts on my May wrap up!

Posts I Shared

Reviews

Tags and Awards

Memes

Top 5 Wednesday

Waiting on Wednesday

Book Traveling Thursdays

Features

Challenges Update

  • Goodreads Reading Challenge – 48/120 Books (40%)

Wooo! I feel like I’m kicking some serious butt in my challenge this year. I might even surpass my goal before the year is over which would be awesome and would make me feel pretty great to be honest.

  • Read It While It’s Hot Challenge – 3/12 Books

Failed in this one so hard this month. The book I picked to read for this challenge came out really ate in the month so I did not actually read it because there wasn’t enough time to finish it in the month. BUT I’ll do better next month!

  • Potter Challenge – 3/7 Books

Aldii and I are still kicking butt in this! If you guys have not read our Harry Potter posts, you definitely should because we’ve gotten incredibly creative and it should be celebrated okay?

  • 2016 Debut Author Challenge – 2/x Books

Exact same problem as with the RIWIH Challenge because I was trying to knock two birds with one stone and it did not work out.

  • Finishing the Series Challenge – 7/x Series

Yay! Wooo! I surpassed my goal of finishing 5 series this year….sort of. This challenge says that a series counts as finished when you have caught up with all the books published so far. But I’m hoping to completely finish more series than I have so far which is actually 5 (meaning I still completed my goal for the year so woo!).

  • Around the World Challenge 2016 – 51/x Places

I got really lucky this month and read quite a few international thrillers so my places count went way up. If you haven’t yet, check out my map for this challenge at the very bottom of my blog next to my categories. You can see the majority of places I’ve gone and which are connected by the same book!

So that’s it for this wrap up! Let me know if you’re read any of the books I mentioned above and what you thought of them! Thanks so much for reading and I’ll see you on my next post!

Send off

15 thoughts on “April ’16 Wrap Up

  1. Wow, that’s A LOT of books! Congrats!!! I am so glad you ended up liking Anything You Want more hahaha it’s a little ridiculous how happy I am about that.
    But I am also glad that you enjoyed TTSAY! I loved that book so much more than the first one because it had a lot more action and I liked how much Theo shone in it. Yet, the cliffhanger almost killed me. I hate that so much.
    And you’ll be happy to hear that I really love Wolf by Wolf so far. The writing style is just amazing!

    Liked by 1 person

    • Thanks friend! ❤️ I am quite proud of myself. I’m glad I did too, it has a deeper message than I realized at first. OMG that cliffhanger killed me! I’m dying for the last book. I need it in my life! Yay! I’m so glad you’re loving it, I’m quite obsessed with it at the moment

      Liked by 1 person

  2. You GO girl! Great job with 13 books. That’s amazing! ❤ I'm glad you like Lady Thief. Funny how the series was actually a judge-a-book-by-its-title for me, since I'm a sucker when it comes to red haha 😅 And fist bump on waiting to read Ghostly Echoes. Still hasn't let go how amazing you are introducing me to that series… *satisfy sigh*
    Love your wrap-up post! Hope you have a great May friend! 😉

    Liked by 1 person

  3. AMAZING READING MONTH, SARA. 13 books in 30 days? I can’t even hope to compete. 😛

    Sooooo glad that you enjoyed Wolf by Wolf. That’s one of my favourite recent reads as well and I agree that the writing style is incredible and THE ENDING KILLED ME. Haven’t read any of the other books you’ve read except Harry Potter and the Prisoner of Azkaban, which just happened to be my top HP book pick, I think. ❤

    Liked by 1 person

      • YES WE SHOULD. Especially Blood for Blood – it’s coming out the second half of this year and I AM SO EXCITED. On one hand it’s crazy how fast time is flying and on the other there are so many books I want to read that haven’t been published and I just want them to be here already. 😛

        Liked by 1 person

      • YES! It’s planned! I KNOW RIGHT?! It’s so crazy, it’s two months until my birthday! Isn’t that insane?! The year is flying by so fast that it feels like in a day it’ll be Christmas.

        Like

Leave a Reply

