May ’16 TBR – Ghosts Theme

TBR Logo May

Hello everyone!

I am here to talk about the books I am hoping to read this month. I have a lot of books that are in the paranormal/urban fantasy genre. Like a lotttt of books. I definitely can’t read them all in one month. So I decided to divide them into paranormal creatures and for the next few months, I’m picking off some of those creatures. And I’m starting this month with ghosts! Or books that have themes of spirits and things like that.

SO let’s get started!

First Order of Business:
And I Darken (The Conquerors Saga #1) and Summer of Supernovas
by Kiersten White and Darcy Woods

 And I Darken Cover  Summer of Supernovas Cover

I got these e-ARCs from NetGalley and I am really excited  to read them. I’ve heard really great things about And I Darken, some from really tough and critical reviewers so I’m hopeful that this will blow me away as well. I haven’t heard from many of my friends about Summer of Supernovas but I love the astrology aspect of the plot because I love that kind of stuff to. This is probably going to be my first read because it comes out super early in May.

Goodreads Goodreads

TBR Jar Pick:
Zodiac (Zodiac #1)
by Romina Russell

Zodiac Cover

I wanted to read this book sooo much since it came out. I’m obsessed with astrology and I’m very conscious of my sign and what that means and things like that. But I heard a lot of mixed things since it’s come out and I’ve been hesitant to start it. But come on, it’s from a Cancer girl’s POV, and I’m a Cancer!! I need to read this.

Goodreads

Monthly Book Club:
Me Before You (Me Before You #1)
by Jojo Moyes

Me Before You Cover

Abby’s choice this month! I’m excited but nervous at the same time. I’ve heard a lot of great things about this book but also that it’s heartbreaking and really emotional. So I’m a little apprehensive but pumped  to get to read this with my friends.

Goodreads

Read It While It’s Hot Challenge:
Even if the Sky Falls and Ruined (Ruined #1)
by Mia Garcia and Amy Tintera

Even If the Sky Falls Cover  Ruined Cover

So I failed awfully in this challenge last month because I picked a book that came out at the end of the month and by that time I wasn’t definitely not going to have enough time to read it. So I want to make up for it as well as keep the momentum so I picked two books this time. The first is a standalone as well as a debut author so I want to read it to help that challenge and the second is the start of a new series that I’ve heard a lot of great things about and I want to see what the fuss is about.

Goodreads Goodreads

Potter Challenge:
Harry Potter and the Goblet of Fire
by J.K. Rowling

Harry Potter and the Goblet of Fire Cover

That’s right people! Aldii and I are still kicking butt and taking names in our challenge. We’re having a lot of fun chatting and coming up with our featured posts and I’m really excited to be getting into those final stretches. After this, I’ll be reading books without seeing the movie before and that’ll be interesting.

Goodreads

Continuing Series:
Spy Glass (Glass #3) and Lion Heart (Scarlet #3)
by Maria V. Snyder and A.C. Gaughen

Spy Glass Cover  Lion Heart Cover

On my quest to finishing more series this year, I am doing it like a champ! I’m going to read these two books and knock  two off my giant list which you all saw last week, I am still a little ashamed honestly. But no matter, I hope these two will be good finales.

Goodreads Goodreads

Swoon #1 and #2
Swoon and Swear
by Nina Malkin

Swoon Cover  Swear Cover

Another series I need to finish. Luckily this is a duology so it doesn’t take long to finish. I really enjoyed the first book when I read it, got the hardback in Barnes & Noble on a whim and it was kind of cool so I’m excited to see how it will end.

Goodreads

Light #1 and #2
A Certain Slant of Light and Under the Light
by Laura Whitcomb

A Certain Slant of Light Cover  Under the Light Cover

Another unfinished series, another duology, I’m going to do it! My 9th grade English teacher recommended the first book to me and I really enjoyed it but I don’t remember much of what happened. Hopefully I’ll get this one done too.

Goodreads

The Graveyard Book
by Neil Gaiman

The Graveyard Book Cover

So this one is a wild card. I’m interested in reading Neil Gaiman, he’s a really popular author and I’ve heard a lot of great things about him. But I’m not sure I’ll be in the mood to read this book, something that never happens to me because I’m not a mood reader whatsoever, but there’s a lot of other books on my list that I want to read more. So we’ll see.

Goodreads

The Raven Cycle #1, #2, #3 and #4
The Raven Boys, The Dream Thieves, Blue Lily, Lily Blue and The Raven King
by Maggie Stiefvater

The Raven Boys Cover The Dream Thieves Cover Blue Lily, Lily Blue Cover

The Raven King Cover

There is no way you have not heard about this series by now. I’ve heard about it so much, specially from my friend Estefania @ Fiction Jungle since she read it recently. I am hopeful that I’ll be able to start and finish this series. BUT don’t quote me because the last book just came out and I don’t know if I can buy it this month so maybe I won’t get it done, but wish me luck!

Goodreads

The Hollow #1, #2 and #3
The Hollow, The Haunted and The Hidden
by Jessica Verday

The Hollow Cover  The Haunted Cover  The Hidden Cover

Yes, yet another unfinished series. This one is actually quite cool and I don’t know why there aren’t more people that have read this series. It’s kind of like a new take of Sleepy Hollow which I thought was awesome when I first read it so I’m hoping I’ll enjoy it just as much the second time around.

Goodreads

Immortal #1, #2, #3 and #4
Immortal, Betrayal, Eternal and Destiny
by Gillian Shields

Immortal Cover  Betrayal Cover  Eternal Cover

Destiny Cover

Last books I’m sharing in this list (I have more in the written list) and this is also an unfinished series. I had an obsession with Paranormal when I was younger, I blame Twilight. Hope I’ll kick butt and at least re-read the first book in this series because I need a refresher so I can finally finish this series.

Goodreads

So that’s it for this post! My lists are always huge but I average 10 books read per month so I think I can do most of these. Let me know if you’ve read any of these books and what you thought of them! I would love to know if you’ve ever had a genre obsession before. Thanks so much for reading and I’ll see you on my next post!

Send off

23 thoughts on “May ’16 TBR – Ghosts Theme

  1. Okay, your tbr list is super ambitious!!! I read Emily May’s review for And I Darken and I trust her opinion 100%. I think I’ll be reading Me Before You before the movie comes out. And omg, TRC, you should beware of spoilers though, fandoms can be super intense, am still reading The Raven King and I don’t want it to end!

    Liked by 1 person

    • Aren’t they always ambitious? It’s one of my problems haha. Emily May is hit or miss for me. When she loves a book I know it’s going to be great; but when she hates a book, I’ll usually try it for myself as well because she’s a really critical and picky reader. I thought the movie had come out already! Look at me being totally lost haha. I have actually banned myself from tumblr for the time being and have methodically skipped any mentions of the books on goodreads. So far, so good!

      Liked by 1 person

      • Haha, I still can’t do TBRs though, unless it’s like a super super tentative one haha. No! I think I comes out on June 3rd? Yes, June 3rd, we still have time. Exactly, those are the reasons I trust her, and normally we seem to agree on a lot of books; that’s how I discovered Alice by Christina Henry, because she gave it 5 stars.

        And yeah, the problem is the people who don’t seem to realize when they’re being spoilery :/

        Liked by 1 person

      • Awesome!! I wonder if they’re going to release it here in theaters. Do you know??
        Really? I hadn’t noticed that. I do TBRs because I’m a control freak and I need structure for everything haha.
        I like reading her reviews, she’s really eloquent while still keeping things straight to the point.
        I’m sure some people think they’re not spoiling the last book but are still spoiling the series for those who haven’t started

        Liked by 1 person

      • Yes but on the 24th, I checked yesterday! Hehe I have the books I’ll be reading next lined up in my mind, because what if I don’t feel like picking up a certain a book I had already on my list? So I like that liberty of picking up whatever I want to read next! I don’t know that’s just how it works for me, but apparently am in the minority here, practically everyone sets up a TBR haha.

        Liked by 1 person

      • That’s awesome! I’ll need to see that. I haven’t gone to the movies in the longest times. I mean I set a theme for my TBR plus books that are outside of that so I don’t feel bogged down, and I pick the way that I read them. Either way, everyone has their own preferences

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

