Book Review – Sea Glass by Maria V. Snyder

Book Review - Sea Glass

Sea Glass Cover

Sea Glass (Glass #2)

Author: Maria V. Snyder

Publication: September 1st, 2009

Publisher: Mira Books

Format: Kindle Edition, 478 pages

Genre: Young Adult, High Fantasy, Paranormal

Read: April 2016

Maria V. SnyderGoodreads

 

 

4.5 Stars

Synopsis
Student glass magician Opal Cowan’s newfound ability to steal a magician’s powers makes her too powerful. Ordered to house arrest by the Council, Opal dares defy them, traveling to the Moon Clan’s lands in search of Ulrick, the man she thinks she loves. Thinks because she is sure another man now her prisoner has switched souls with Ulrick.
In hostile territory, without proof or allies, Opal isn’t sure whom to trust. She can’t forget Kade, the handsome Stormdancer who doesn’t want to let her get close. And now everyone is after Opal’s special powers for their own deadly gain….

Critically

Plot – 4 out of 5 stars
Just like all her other books, the plot is fast paced and full of constant action. It’s full of adventure and traveling to all the different kinds of clans found in Sitia which was really fun to experience. There’s suspense, danger. betrayal, tension, lies and magic of course. I like that there’s a new form of magic introduced that gave the story and the world an entirely new dynamic. Super easy to read and to get caught up in which is why I enjoy them so much.

Writing Style – 4 out of 5 stars
As always, her writing style is super easy to read and engaging. It’s really straight forward and simple but the pace is fast which makes it addicting and really easy to consume. Yet it still manages to be descriptive and detailed especially since the world is so vast and full of all different kinds of magic and people. The narration this time is a little darker, jaded and harsh after the events of the first book which was sometimes a downer to read. But it’s so imaginative that you can’t help but be caught up in it.

Characters – 4.5 out of 5 stars
This was were my biggest problem was in the first book. Opal is absolutely nothing like Yelena and that threw me off completely in the first book but there’s a lot of development in this one that made me like her a bit more. She’s deeply affected by all the events in the first book and has almost done a 180 from where she started. She’s a lot more jaded and angry and is trying to not trust people so easily so she doesn’t get hurt. She’s grown more powerful but she’s kind of resentful about it and tries to keep her powers to herself so people won’t try to take advantage of her. However, she still gets sucked into horrible situations for being naive and caring when she really shouldn’t. And she unfortunately has kind of martyr attitude that got on my nerves a lot. Again, there’s a few side characters that are spotlighted. I love seeing some of the old characters from the Study series make appearances in this one, they’re all so interesting and complex and funny that I enjoyed the interactions they all have together. The new characters introduced in this series I’m not 100% sold on. There’s a lot of back and forth and you don’t really know who to trust or what to believe so it was a little hard for me to connect with the characters, specially the love interests. Yes, as in plural, also one of the things that turns me off about this series is that there’s a lot of different romantic entanglements with the main character and I DON’T KNOW WHO TO SHIP.  IT’S SO CONFUSING.

Emotionally

 This one was definitely a huge step up from the first book.

The plot is intricate. We follow Opal again as she’s trying to make her way back to Sitia to stop blood magic once and for all. The problem is no one believes her that that kind of magic is still going on and everyone has started to see her as a threat because of her new powers. The plots of these books are always really entertaining and super fast paced. It’s very hard to be bored because there are a lot of different threads showing up at once and you can never really tell what’s going on until the end. They all seem unrelated and separated in the beginning but they all come together in such a mind blowing way and in one that you never saw coming. I really loved getting to see more of the setting because this world is so vast and full of such different cultures and clans that have very special realities and rituals. It was so interesting to learn more and to see the huge imagination that the author has to create so many different cultures that are still intertwined together. The ending was unexpected and kind of annoyed me to be honest. It changed a really critical and important part of the series arc and of the character and I don’t know how that is going to work in the third book. I’m a little apprehensive to see what will happen there.

Opal is a lot better for me in this book. I definitely warmed up to her more though she has the tendency to annoy me. She finally realized how much people have taken advantage of her and used her and she’s sick of it. She tired of people overpowering, bullying and pushing her to do the things that they want her to. So to counteract that, she started to take matters into her own hands. But things were taken way too far. She shed everything and everyone, even the people who love and support her. That ended up getting her into more trouble than necessary because she tried to do everything alone. It was really frustrating to see her go from one extreme to another but it’s also realistic. I’ve done things like that myself, so while I was annoyed by her actions, I understood them. Towards the end, she got a little better so I’m hoping she will reach a happy medium in the last book.

So my biggest issue with this series and this book in particular was the love square that ended up emerging which is so frustrating. I was quite surprised to see this kind of romance from this author because my favorite part of the Study is the slow and steady build up of Yelena and Valek’s relationship. Again, there’s three guys in this story and the lines are quickly blurred because of some of the plot points and most of the time I have no idea who to ship! Just when you think you know who it’s going to be and you start focusing more on that line of the square, shit happens and you’re back at square one. It’s very disorienting and I am not a fan of this part of  the story, I could do without it.

Overall, this book improved a lot after the first one. The plot as always is fast paced, entertaining and intricate. The main character’s development was intense and necessary but it was taken a bit too far. The romance is not my cup of tea but the writing style makes it easy to get caught up in the story anyway. Can’t wait to finish the series!

So that’s it for this review! Let me know if you’ve read this book and what you thought about it. I’ really excited to be making some leaway into Maria’s published books. I really enjoy her as a writer and I can’t wait to get to the next trilogy! Thanks so much for reading and I’ll see you on my next post.

Send off

5 thoughts on “Book Review – Sea Glass by Maria V. Snyder

  1. I was so excited for this one but then you mentioned love square and I totally backed out lol. SOrry! That’s totally not my thing. Which is sad, really, because I adoreddd the romance in Poison Study AND Touch of Magic. Maybe one day I’ll pick it up! But love square *sad sigh*

    Liked by 1 person

  2. THIS! My thoughts exactly. I love how you point out the fact that the 2nd book really did improve a lot from the 1st one. The characters are definitely easier to get use to (since jumping from Yelena to Opal is such a huge gap), and like always with Snyder, gripping plot! Love this review!! ❤ ❤ ❤

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

