T5W May 18th – Summer Reads

T5W May 18

Hello everyone!

Time for another Top 5 Wednesday. Top 5 Wednesday was created by Lainey from gingerreadslainey and is now hosted by Sam from Thoughts on Tomes and if you would like to join, here is the link for the Goodreads group with all the information.

This week’s topic is Top 5 Favorite Summer Reads, which is not hard for me but I don’t really pick what to read depending on the season. However, I usually pick contemporary books and sometimes mythology like mermaids and gods and goddesses. And I picked one of my favorite books that match with those categories.

SO let’s get started!

#5: The Fill-In Boyfriend
by Kasie West

The Fill-In Boyfriend Cover

This is one of those contemporaries that I just don’t take seriously. It’s fluffy and light and funny and it gives you that summer feel. When all you want to do in lay on the beach and get into a book that doesn’t make you think much but it still makes you feel happy and filled with cuteness overload.

#4: Deep Blue
by Jennifer Donnelly

Deep Blue Cover

Yay for mermaids in the summer! I love to read about mythology specially mermaids, in the summer months. This series is also super cute and fluffy, there’s a lot of mermaid puns and jokes while the story line is still interesting and entertaining.

#3: Everything, Everything
by Nicola Yoon

Everything, Everything Cover

I feel like I’m going to re-read this book in the summer. It’s just one of those contemporaries that blew all the rest out of the water. There’s so much growth and development while still keeping that light fluffiness that I enjoy in contemporaries.

#2: Amy and Roger’s Epic Detour
by Morgan Matson

Amy and Roger's Epic Detour Cover

I feel like any Morgan Matson book in this category but since this is the only one I read, I have to recommend it. I lovedd this book when I first read it but it was part of a readathon so I want to reread it and take my time and savor all of the road tripping deliciousness because it’s such a summer thing.

#1: Off-Campus Series
by Elle Kennedy

The Deal Cover The Mistake Cover The Score Cover

I LOVE THIS SERIES! New Adult is definitely like a spring/summer reads for me so I definitely want to have like an entire re-read of this series in the summer before the fourth book comes out. I need it!

So that’s it for my choices this week! Let me know what kind of books you like to read in the summer and what you think of the books I mentioned. Thanks so much for reading and I’ll see you on my next post!

Send off

11 thoughts on “T5W May 18th – Summer Reads

  1. Amy and Roger’s remains the (only??) Morgan Matson book I haven’t read, so hey, we’re on opposite ends for that! OK, I’ve only read The Unexpected Everything and Since You’ve Been Gone, but I agree that she’s kind of a summer YA author. Her books are just so summery and the two I’ve read are kind of set in the summer months… if memory serves me right.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

