Book Traveling Thursdays May 19th – Favorite LGBTQ+ Couple

BTT May 19

Hello everyone!

It’s BTT time! This is a weekly meme created by Danielle at Danielle’s Book Blog and Catia at TheGirlWhoReadTooMuch. You can find all of the information you’ll need to participate on the Goodreads page.

This week’s topic is choose a book that features your favorite LGBTQ couple. I wanted to pick Everything Leads to You but I’ve already shared that book in this meme so I picked another book that has one of the cutest LGBTQ+ couples around that I haven’t gushed about enough on this blog.

SO let’s get started!

My choice for this week is Simon vs. the Homo Sapiens Agenda by Becky Albertalli. This has the cutest relationship I’ve ever seen as well as how it developed. It’s like the heart eyes emoji all over that shit. I want to reread this book again because I need to get more of those adorable and real quotes in my life.

Original Cover & My Country Cover

Simon vs the Homo Sapiens Agenda Cover

I like this cover, it’s interesting and distinct. But it’s also kind of weird, considering how the person has no head… hahaha. I like the how the title is set up and how rough the color of the background is.

My Favorite Cover

Simon vs the Homo Sapiens Agenda Cover  Simon vs the Homo Sapiens Agenda Dutch Cover

Again, I really like the original cover. But the second cover, this is the Dutch cover and I really like how they set it up. First of all the title feels like a superhero movie and it’s cool because it’s him vs. the homo sapiens. AND THE OREO! That is totally awesome and it represents Simon so much. It was also one of my favorite parts of the book.

My Least Favorite Cover

Simon vs the Homo Sapiens Agenda Spanish Cover   Simon vs the Homo Sapiens Agenda Vietnamese Cover

I don’t hate the first one, it’s the Spanish cover. I actually quite like the way it’s set up but I don’t like the title, it simplifies the original meaning way too much for my tastes. The second one is the Vietnamese cover. Don’t get me wrong, I am all for LGBTQ+ pride, I mean my blog has rainbow all over, I am a huge fan. But this is just weird and has nothing to do with the actual book. If there was no coming out and was just matter of fact, I might like it a lot more but since it’s not, it feels excessive.

Honorable Mention

Simon vs the Homo Sapiens Agenda German Cover

This is the German cover and while it’s not one of my favorites, I like it well enough to mention it. It doesn’t have a lot of connection to the story so that’s why it’s not my favorite. But it’s really cute and definitely not the kind of contemporary cover that is usual.

So that’s it for my choices! Let me know what you think of the covers and if you agree with my favorites. Thanks for reading. See you on my next post!

Send off

11 thoughts on “Book Traveling Thursdays May 19th – Favorite LGBTQ+ Couple

  1. I actually like the Spanish one, but I agree that the title is far less eye catching than the original. The Vietnamese one just isn’t very good photoshop. I don’t mind the rainbow heart, I think that’s a nice touch, but the overlay on the hands makes it look amateur, especially paired with that background + font ><

    Liked by 1 person

  2. The original and the dutch are the best, I’m not a fan of the Vietnam Cover. It almost screams ‘textbook’ on me rather than story if you get what I mean?
    I haven’t read this book yet, I need to. I’m seeing it everywhere 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Yeah, the cover from Vietnam is ridiculous, so excessive. What I don’t like about the German cover is the title, it means Only Three Words and I don’t know if it fits the book well because I haven’t read it, but the original title is so cool! It ruined it for me. Also, my favorites are the original and the one from Spain because it kept it similar and it looks sort of cool.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

