Potter Challenge: Getting Fly Like a Hyppogriff!

Potter Challenge Getting Fly Like A Hyppogriff

Hello everyone!

I am here today to share another very special post!

My friend Aldii @ PerfectioninBooks joined me in accomplishing my Potter Challenge this year and last month we read Harry Potter and the Prisoner of Azkaban, book three of the series. We are having so much fun buddy reading as well as sharing our thoughts with you guys.

In this post, I’ll be sharing a mini review with my thoughts on the book, the top 5 magical creatures we would like to have as pets and the animal we think we’d be if we became animagi.

SO let’s get started!

MINI REVIEW

Harry Potter and the Prisoner of Azkaban Cover

5 Stars

Critically

Plot – 4.5 out of 5 stars

Writing Style – 4.5 out of 5 stars

Characters – 4.5 out of 5 stars

Emotionally
This is my favorite book of the series so far, I’m so glad it lived up to my expectations. The plot is action packed. Honestly, I’m a little mad at how much detail the book has that the movie doesn’t show! I missed so much! We get to learn so much about their classes, their personal relationships and their passions in this book and that really helped to see the growth of the characters. Even some of the main plot points are a lot deeper than I first realized. This book is definitely a lot more intriguing and entertaining than the first two. While those still had introductions, this one is getting deeper into the series’ story line and making more connections between the past and the future. It’s also a lot darker and heavier and I think that is just going to continue to grow as the books go on. Everything was kicked up a notch and I can’t wait to see what more there is to discover. Harry is growing up, he’s a lot more reckless in this one. Not only do I think it has to do with being a teenager, but also with being overly protected all the time as well as the loneliness that comes from being an orphan. He’s trying hard to learn more about who he is and what he believes are the best choices for him. Ron is also getting that way too, it must be a boy thing. I thought it was interesting to see the tension between him and Hermoine in this one because I’d never realized they had drifted apart so much in this book. It may not seem like the biggest deal in the context of the story but their friendship had some struggles and that was great to see. Not only because it’s realistic but because it brings a lot more interest into their dynamic.

MAGICAL CREATURES I NEED AS PETS

So one of my favorite parts of this book is Buckbeak, I love me some wild flying magical creature. But while I’m completely and totally in love with him, I’m a huge animal person. Aldii and I wanted to know more about the mythical creatures that exist in the Harry Potter world so we decided to pick the top 5 that we would love to have as pets!

Abraxan_Pottermore

Abraxan

An Abraxan is a breed of Winged horse. They are gigantic and extremely powerful. Madame Olympe Maxime, Headmistress of Beauxbatons Academy of Magic, breeds them, and used them to pull her carriage in 1994. Her horses drink only single malt whiskey and require forceful handling, it is unknown if this is true for the entire breed.

Hippocampus

Hippocampus

Native to Greece, the Hippocampus is a beast with the head and forequarters of a horse, and the tail and hindquarters of a giant fish, making it somewhat similar in appearance to an over-sized seahorse. Although it is Hippocampus, as shown on new Pottermore map, generally found in the Mediterranean, a blue roan specimen was caught by Merpeople off the coast of Scotland in 1949 and domesticated. Hippocampus lay large, semi-transparent eggs through which the young hippocampus, known as a Tadfoal, can be seen.

Buckbeak

Hippogriff

A Hippogriff is a magical creature that has the front legs, wings, and head of a giant eagle and the body, hind legs and tail of a horse. It is very similar to another mythical creature, the Griffin, with the horse rear replacing the lion rear. Hippogriffs have cruel, steel-coloured beaks and large, brilliantly orange eyes. The talons on their front legs are half a foot long and appear deadly. The breeding of fancy Hippogriffs is an established wizarding career, with known breeders including Newton Scamander’s mother. Images of said fancy Hippogriffs are sometimes put onto calendars.

Owl

Owl

Owls are birds of prey. They belong to the families of Strigidae (typical owls) and Tytonidae (Barn Owls), and there are at least 200 species. They normally feed on small mammals, insects, fish, and other birds. They do not make nests, instead sheltering inside trees, ground burrows, caves, and barns, or using other birds’ old nests. Owls do not live in flocks, but the term for a group of owls is a parliament. The study of owls is a branch of ornithology. Owls also appear to understand English and are able to communicate with wizards. Normally, most owls are nocturnal, and owls generally keep to themselves, but in the wizarding world they serve many needed functions and have many sorts of personalities.

Fawkes_rebirth

Phoenix

The phoenix is a large swan-sized scarlet bird with red and gold plumage, along with a golden beak and talons, black eyes, and a tail as long as a peacock’s. Its scarlet feathers glow faintly in darkness, while its golden tail feathers are hot to the touch. Phoenixes will usually nest on mountain peaks and are gentle herbivores that are not known for fighting. As phoenixes approach their Burning Day they resemble a half-plucked turkey. Their eyes become dull, their feathers start to fall out, and it begins to make gagging noises. Then the bird suddenly bursts into flames only to rise from the ashes shortly after. In a number of days, they grow back to full size.[1][2] Thanks to this ability, phoenixes live to an immense age.

So yes I have an obsession with things that fly and horses yet, I’ve only ever had one of these types of animals as pets in real life. I also had no idea winged horses lived in this world until I did some research! Isn’t it cool?! What kind of mythical creatures would you guys love to have as pets?

SO YOU WANT TO BE AN ANIMAGI?

1mcgonagall

An Animagus (pl. Animagi) is a witch or wizard who can morph him or herself into an animal at will. It is a learned, rather than hereditary skill, unlike those of a Metamorphmagus. Information on Animagi is taught to Hogwarts students during their third year Transfiguration class.

Another pretty important part of this book is the subject of animagi and some of the side characters that have this ability to turn into different animals at will. I’ve always been curious to know what it’s like to be an animal, especially because I’m such a huge animal lover and have volunteered in many shelters and ranches over the years.

But that’s kind of my problem. I love…. Most animals so I wasn’t really sure what I wanted to become. I love horses, with a huge passion and I’ve always wondered what kind of horse I’d be. They’re so beautiful and powerful.

Yet, I am currently obsessed with my cat. My poor kitty is getting old, and she has a fractured leg, but she’s the cutest, sweetest and the loudest meower ever. And her attitude just speaks to my soul haha.

But then I have a dog! Who is also awesome and sweet and energetic and adorable! Do you see my problem?

In the end, I decided on what my heart was telling me and I’ll leave you with this:

tumblr_n18vykcW1C1s7cqmno2_500

So that’s it for this post! Let me know your thoughts on my review, my future pets and my awesome animagus form! Have you ever given any thought to our questions this month? Let me know in the comments! Thanks so much for reading and I’ll see you on my next post.

Send off

8 thoughts on “Potter Challenge: Getting Fly Like a Hyppogriff!

      • Mwahahaha the world of HP will suck you in and never let go! 😈 Wait, I mean free cookies and rainbows *whisper* of feels and tears…
        Haha I’m just kidding. I agree with you though, when you read to this book, the series definitely become deeper and… *evil grin* darker…
        Can’t wait for more of your thoughts for the rest of the books! 😍

        Like

  1. You’re bringing back all my feelings for this series, wow I missed it so much. It’s very complex, which is why I don’t love the movies that much. They weren’t bad or anything, but the world building in every book is incredible and that was missing in all the films. I’m so glad you’re enjoying it!
    I was so obsessed as a kid with the magical creatures. You’ve no idea. It was great reading this post to remember all that 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

