Book Review – Rebel Belle by Rachel Hawkins

Book Review - Rebel Belle

Rebel Belle Cover

Rebel Belle (Rebel Belle #1)

Author: Rachel Hawkins

Publication: April 8th, 2014

Publisher: Putnam Juvenile

Format: Kindle Edition, 352 pages

Genre: Young Adult, Contemporary, Paranormal

Read: May 2016

Rachel HawkinsGoodreads

 

3.5 Stars

Synopsis
Harper Price, peerless Southern belle, was born ready for a Homecoming tiara. But after a strange run-in at the dance imbues her with incredible abilities, Harper’s destiny takes a turn for the seriously weird. She becomes a Paladin, one of an ancient line of guardians with agility, super strength and lethal fighting instincts.
Just when life can’t get any more disastrously crazy, Harper finds out who she’s charged to protect: David Stark, school reporter, subject of a mysterious prophecy and possibly Harper’s least favorite person. But things get complicated when Harper starts falling for him–and discovers that David’s own fate could very well be to destroy Earth.
With snappy banter, cotillion dresses, non-stop action and a touch of magic, this new young adult series from bestseller Rachel Hawkins is going to make y’all beg for more.

Critically

Plot – 3.5 out of 5 stars
I thought that the plot was really entertaining, it kept my attention but at the same time, it was really predictable. It’s funny and simple and interesting. The paranormal aspects were what kept my attention the most to be honest, the rest I just swept through without much thought. It’s the kind of book that you can’t take too seriously or it ruins it’s purpose. Overall an average read with some good parts mixed in.

Writing Style – 4 out of 5 stars
I found the writing style to be really funny, the comedic timing was really well placed and entertaining. While in general it was simple, it was also really quirky and kind of silly to be honest. It worked well with what the story was trying to accomplish I think but I think that some people could be annoyed by it. However, the character’s voice is really young and immature which grated on my nerves.

Characters – 3 out of 5 stars
This is where things fell flat for me. I could easily be taken in by the plot and the background and the funny writing style but the characters felt a little flat to me. Harper was kind of annoying in the beginning. She’s really self-centered, only focused on herself and kind of vain. But at the same time, as the story keeps going, it kind of feels like the author is poking fun at those types of girl characters by playing up the stereotypes of a girly girl and throwing her into a situation that would normally change her personality but doesn’t. I liked that aspect but there was so much of clothes that I can take haha. Yet Harper was also really sweet and kind and just genuinely a nice girl. She has a temper but she’s well rounded in general. There are two male main characters in this book and yes you know what that probably means and you’re right but at the same time, it didn’t feel that way. Both guys have specific purposes to the story and the movement of the plot and while they were very different, there are things that I liked and disliked about both of them. The ending of the book created a very weird and strange dynamic between them and I’m looking forward to exploring that in the next books.

Emotionally

I’m glad I went into this book with low expectations despite the old hype that it’s had because this was pure entertainment.

The plot is interesting. We follow Harper, who’s on her way to becoming the over achiever/Southern It Girl when the night of Homecoming she’ s gifted with super powers by a dying janitor. It sounds silly and kind of quirky and it is, trust me, but it’s also really entertaining. It was mostly really comical situations with a little bit of paranormal and mythology elements thrown in that give it a little spice but that’s as far as it goes. There’s nothing overly serious or intense about it and even what there was, didn’t actually seem to be that big of a deal to the main character. She has had some tough times before the book begins but it’s mentioned in more of a casual manner and not as if it’s something heavy and weighing on her mind. I was really interested in all the Paladin stuff and how that mixed in with the Greek mythology kind of thing and while it was mentioned and explained, I wanted more. I wanted more details and examples and like concrete things to sink my teeth into while reading and there wasn’t enough information. That was the most interesting thing about this book and what I enjoyed the most. I quickly want to mention the romance because I wasn’t a fan. It was super predictable and kind of average to be honest. There wasn’t anything that attracted me to the romantic situations that were going on and while cute and sweet in general, it was just meh.

Harper was interesting in her own special way. She turned me off in the beginning because she was just so prim and proper, so girly and vain and focused on looks and the superficial things in life that seem to matter more than anything else. She’s kind of stuck up and the type of girls other girls complain a lot about. But at the same time, she has something really cool and crazy and unbelievable happen to her and while she doesn’t immediately take to it, totally understandable, she learns to embrace her new life and her new role while still being true to the person that she is and developing into who she wants to become. She kind of got to me towards the end and I want to get to know her a bit more.

The side characters were interesting. I really liked David, I fee like he had the most unique personality. He was really snarky and sarcastic and a joker. He wasn’t afraid to be himself and to do the things that he wants to do, no matter what anyone says about him. I feel like he’s the character I connected to the most. Ryan is another one of the male main characters. There’s not really much to say about him, he was kind of like Harper in his stereotypical kind of way and I didn’t like nor dislike him because of the way he was represented in the book. Though I’m looking forward to exploring his  personality more. And finally Bee, Harper’s best friend, was super cool and tough. She handled herself very well and while similar to Harper, I feel like she was more down to Earth. I want to know more about her now.

Overall, I liked this book. The background of the plot was interesting and while the story was kind of predictable, it was really entertaining. The writing style really showed the story off well and it was quite funny but the characters were a little flat yet I’m hopeful for the way things are turning.

So that’s it for this review! Let me know if you’ve read this book and what you thought of it. I’m definitely continuing with the series but I’m not sure when I’ll get around to it. Thanks so much for reading and I’ll see you on my next post!

Send off

4 thoughts on “Book Review – Rebel Belle by Rachel Hawkins

  1. This book really took me by surprise once I realised it’s not just a contemporary – that cover sure pulled a doozy, haha. I’m glad it was funny and quirky writing-wise, though it’s a shame the characters didn’t do it for you. I don’t think I’m gonna pick it up because I’m just not interested, but I’m gonna be living vicariously through you! ❤

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

