May ’16 Wrap Up

Wrap Up May Logo

Hello everyone!

I am here today to wrap up all the things I read, posted and accomplished in May. I started off the month really well but during the second and third weeks, I got a little disinterested in what I was reading so I went and reread one of my favorite fanfics (which is kind of like my version of a reading slump). That put me behind on my reading goal for the month but towards the end I got my stuff together and managed to read a lot of the books I wanted to. Yet, I wish I would’ve read a lot more and a lot faster too.

SO let’s get started!

Books I Read

Read Books May

  1. Summer of Supernovas by Darcy Woods – 4.5 Stars  I got an e-ARC of this book from NetGalley and since it was coming out this month, I made sure it was the first thing that I read. I really enjoyed it and I loved the astrology aspect. My review link will be towards the bottom of this post.
  2. Rebel Belle (Rebel Belle #1) by Rachel Hawkins – 3.5 Stars  I read this book with my friends Abby and Gervan for out monthly book club. We started it last month and finished it the first week of May. I liked the background and the fantasy parts of this book a lot and kind of felt like the rest of it watered down the story. But it was funny and I want to see what happens next.
  3. Spy Glass (Glass #3) by Maria V. Snyder – 5 Stars  Last book of the Glass trilogy, hell yeah for another finished series! I definitely didn’t love this one as much as I loved the Study trilogy but I did really enjoy it. It was full of ups and downs and twists and turns and the main character went from the most annoying little shit to a character that I really love. A+!
  4. Swoon (Swoon #1) by Nina Malkin – 3 Stars  This was a reread for me and I was a little disappointed. It wasn’t as entertaining and intriguing the second time around. I noticed the instalove right away (now that I know what that is) and the main character annoyed me a lot.
  5. And I Darken (The Conquerors Saga #1) by Kiersten White – 3.5 Stars  Another e-ARC I received from NetGalley and the publisher. I was really looking forward to this book because I’d heard such great things but I was disappointed. It was really drawn out and some parts were boring and I didn’t understand why they were important (this is the book that turned me toward fanfic). I’ll talk about more of my feelings in a review closer to publication but while I have a lot of complaints, it was an interesting book and good start to a trilogy.
  6. Lion Heart (Scarlet #3) by A.C. Gaughen – 4 Stars  Yay for another completed series! Whut whut! This finale was not what I was expecting. The entire series has been really graphic and violent, full of action and suspense but this third book was not like that. There were some exciting things but it was mostly a lot of waiting for the final scene. The ending itself was a little disappointing but yay for a happy ending.
  7. Swear (Swoon #2) by Nina Malkin – 2 Stars  Such a disappointed. The only reason this book exists is because there needed to be a happy ending to a really annoying relationship. I did not enjoy it at all. It was all over the place, and I think completely unnecessary in regards to any of the characters since they were just meh.
  8. Even If the Sky Falls by Mia Garcia – 4 Stars  I read this book to keep up with my Debut Author Challenge and it was quite cute. It’s a really sweet contemporary romance but I feel like it was a little flat at some parts. I’ll definitely be reviewing it next month but it was a good debut from this author.
  9. Ruined (Ruined #1) by Amy Tintera – 4 Stars  I was really surprised with how much I liked this book. High Fantasy is my favorite genre and it’s really hard to impress me because I’ve read so many different fantasy worlds, but this book was amazing. The world building was slow and methodical and there’s a lot more to this book than I first thought there would be. I’m really excited to see what this series has to offer.
  10. Harry Potter and the Goblet of Fire (Harry Potter #4) by J.K. Rowling –
    4.5 Stars  A lot longer and a lot heavier and darker than the first few books. I kind of struggled with getting through it because it felt so big and long but I did enjoy it. The tournament was really interesting but the last few chapters were insane. I’m actually a little scared to continue on because I know things just get harder and harder from here.
  11. The Raven Boys (The Raven Cycle #1) by Maggie Stiefvater – I really wanted to read this series this month but the days kept going and I was reading other things but I made myself start this book last night just because. I wanted to read it in one sitting but I still had my HP buddy read to finish, but I managed to get halfway in just one day, how awesome is that?! This will definitely be the first book I finish in June.

Posts I Shared

Reviews

Tags And Awards

Memes

Top 5 Wednesday

Book Traveling Thursdays

Features

Challenges Update

  • Goodreads Reading Challenge – 58/120 Books (48%)

Kicking ass and taking names in this challenge you guys! I feel like I could’ve read a lot more this month than I did but I’m still pretty happy with my current number. Only two books until the halfway mark which will definitely happen in June which is the halfway mark of the year so I feel like I’m right on track!

  • Read It While It’s Hot Challenge – 14/12 Books

I decided to change the way that I count the books for this challenge because while originally I hoped to read 1 new release per month, I feel like my ultimate goal is really to read as many of the new releases that I’m looking forward to in the year. So I’m now counting all the books that I read released in 2016 in this challenge. And I’m kicking ass!

  • Potter Challenge – 4/7 Books

This month’s book was a struggle you guys. I don’t know why, maybe because we were super busy this month or because this is one of the longer books, but it took us awhile to finish. I hope next month will me a lot better.

  • 2016 Debut Author Challenge – 4/x Books

I feel like I’m doing well in this challenge. Maybe not as good as I wanted to but at least 12 debuts this year (which is the goal: one per month) I think it’s a good thing.

  • Finishing the Series Challenge – 7/x Series

So I decided to change the way I count the books for this challenge too. The challenge says that if you catch up on the books that are released in the series, it counts but that makes it really confusing for me to keep track, so I’m only counting the ones I’ve finished completely. But I still have over the goal of 5! Woo!

  • Around the World Challenge 2016 – 54/x Places

I went into a lot of fictional or now nonexistent cities this month, so I only had three more cities to add to  this challenge. I keep forgetting that I need to constantly keep track of this while I read because if not I spend the last few days of the month scrambling to figure out where my books are set haha.

So that’s it for this wrap up! Let me know if you’re read any of the books I mentioned above and what you thought of them! Thanks so much for reading and I’ll see you on my next post!

Send off

 

15 thoughts on “May ’16 Wrap Up

  1. I’ll right away grasp your rss as I can not in finding your email subscription link or
    newsletter service. Do you’ve any? Please permit me realize so that I could subscribe.
    Thanks.

    Like

  2. I’ve wanted to read Rebel Belle for awhile and I’ll just have to see what you think of the other two before I pick it up myself. Loved your wrap-up!

    Liked by 1 person

  3. You seem to have an amazing month of reading Sara. I’ve been meaning to read The Raven Boys since forever, and I just pick it up today. I’m super excited to see what you think about it when you finish! ❤ Love your wrap up post as always 😉

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

