Book Traveling Thursdays June 2nd – International Children’s Day

BTT Jun 2

Hello everyone!

It’s BTT time! This is a weekly meme created by Danielle at Danielle’s Book Blog and Catia at TheGirlWhoReadTooMuch. You can find all of the information you’ll need to participate on the Goodreads page.

This week’s topic is Yesterday was International Children’s Day!! Choose a book you would have read in your childhood if you could go back in time. There’s only one series really that I thought of when this topic came up and that’s what I’m going to talk about today.

SO let’s get started!

My choice for this week is Harry Potter and the Sorcerer’s Stone by J.K. Rowling. While I’m currently reading this series with a lovely blogger friend, I still kind of feel like I should’ve read it when I was younger. I’m enjoying the series a lot but I feel like I would’ve liked it a lot more if I read it when I was a kid. There’s a lot of covers for this series and I might go nuts looking through them all so I narrowed it down to the ones available in paperback. But even with that, there’s various editions of paperbacks from the same countries so just look at the things okay?

Disclaimer: Obviously there’s copies of all the covers from all the different countries in the world, so don’t think these are the only choices.

Original Cover

Harry Potter and the Sorcerer's Stone Original Cover

I believe this was the first ever UK cover. It’s okay, there’s nothing particularly wrong with it but it’s just so simple. And it doesn’t really share a lot of what the book is really about.

My Country Cover

Harry Potter and the Sorcerer's Stone Cover

I like these covers! They’re so iconic you know? They’re the original covers that were released in the US and the first ones I think of when I think of this series. I like all the colors and the amazing illustration of Harry playing quidditch which he loves so much!

My Favorite Cover

Harry Potter and the Sorcerer's Stone Norwegian Cover  Harry Potter and the Sorcerer's Stone Portuguese Cover  Harry Potter and the Sorcerer's Stone Spanish Cover Harry Potter and the Sorcerer's Stone UK Cover

All these covers are beautiful in my opinion! The illustrations are so beautiful and the colors are all special in their own ways. The first cover is Norwegian from the new Harry Potter edition box set which is gorgeous! The spines are also really cool and I like the blue colored background and how detailed it is. The second is an edition from a country that speaks Portuguese (I’m guessing Portugal but don’t quote me because I’ll get in trouble with Cristina) but there’s also other countries that have this edition too. Generally I don’t like white covers because they’re too simple but this one is really pretty and I like how they picked symbols not as popular to represent the book. The third one is the first ever Harry Potter version that I saw, one of the Spanish versions and while it’s not the prettiest, it has a nostalgic feeling to it. And that last one might be the best one of the group. I love the colors and the details and the illustrations and everything about those kinds of covers.

My Least Favorite Cover

Harry Potter and the Sorcerer's Stone Vietnamese Cover  Harry Potter and the Sorcerer's Stone German Cover  Harry Potter and the Sorcerer's Stone French Cover Harry Potter and the Sorcerer's Stone Dutch Cover  Harry Potter and the Sorcerer's Stone Danish Cover

I’m not going to go into a lot of detail into why I don’t like these covers because I’m pretty sure you can compare the ones above to these ones and figure it out for yourself but I will say where these covers are from: 1. Vietnamese 2. German 3. French 4. Dutch 5. Danish.

So that’s it for my choices! Let me know what you think of the covers and if you agree with my favorites. Thanks for reading. See you on my next post!

Send off

10 thoughts on “Book Traveling Thursdays June 2nd – International Children’s Day

  1. Hahaha. I knew you would probably choose this book 😀
    I’m pretty sure the portuguese one is from Brazil. We have two different coversin Portugal and it’s the one that everyone knows and also the box set ones.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Like you said, I love my Spanish edition even if it’s not the most beautiful it still captures the Harry Potter feeling ❤ Ahh, the awful covers, why can't they stick to the original in those cases lol. Though I don't hate the Dutch one.
    The Portuguese one is beautiful, but as a poster maybe, I don't like it as the cover because it's sort of too serious and kids probably wouldn't be interested in it.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

