Book Traveling Thursdays Jun. 9th – Because World Building Matters

BTT Jun 9

Hello everyone!

It’s BTT time! This is a weekly meme created by Danielle at Danielle’s Book Blog and Catia at TheGirlWhoReadTooMuch. You can find all of the information you’ll need to participate on the Goodreads page.

This week’s topic is Because world building matters. Choose a book in which world you would like to live. There’s really only one place where I would want to live, it’s one of my most favorite fantasy worlds of all time and you bet your ass I found a way to share more covers from this series! Mwuahahahaha!

SO let’s get started!

My choice for this week is Storm Glass by Maria V. Snyder. Yep, that’s right, I managed to pick another book from the Chronicles of Ixia into this meme and you are all jealous of my awesomeness. In all seriousness though, Ixia and Sitia are some of the most well crafted and yet completely different fantasy worlds that I’ve ever read. They’re super intricate and unique and I would love to be a part of them, just don’t make me choose which side.

Original Cover & My Country Cover

Storm Glass Cover

This is my favorite cover of this book. It’s the original US Mira cover and I just think it’s really well done. I really like the purple because it’s my favorite color but also how the orb and the title both have like a luminescence to them. And I love how there’s a person but you can’t see how they look!

My Favorite Cover

Storm Glass Cover  Storm Glass UK Reprint Cover

The first one I already talked about above but the second one is the reprinted UK cover and it can also be found in Australia I believe. These are the only covers that transcend the first two trilogies of this series and maybe the last trilogy though I’m not sure. I find that really cool and interesting because they’re all similar but at the same time different for each book.

My Least Favorite Cover

Storm Glass UK YA Cover  Storm Glass US Mira Cover  Storm Glass Italian CoverStorm Glass Australian Cover

I’m sure you can probably tell how much I don’t like this particular model. Oh, it’s not obvious? Let me say it: I don’t like the model on the last three covers! Like what is your purpose? Why not just have the orb, let it represent the story and be gone with you? The first of these is the reprinted US cover, then the Italian and then one of the Australian and I just gotta say I’m disappointed. This is the cover they had to replicate everywhere? Come onn. And my only problem with the first one is that it’s not as good as the covers that came in the same style from the Study trilogy. It could’ve been better.

So that’s it for my choices! Let me know what you think of the covers and if you agree with my favorites. Thanks for reading. See you on my next post!

Send off

4 thoughts on “Book Traveling Thursdays Jun. 9th – Because World Building Matters

  1. I haven’t read this yet (I know, I know) but covers with faces are SOOO often a miss for me. Like, I think it’s kind of awkward and actually detracts from the book? I think they just kind of scream HEY LOOK I’M THE PROTAGONIST and I just… don’t wanna hear that. 😛

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

