Series Review – Swoon Duology by Nina Malkin

Book Review - Swoon Duology

Swoon and Swear (Swoon #1 and #2)

Author: Nina Malkin

Publication: May 19th, 2009 and October 18th, 2011

Publisher: Simon Pulse

Format: Kindle Edition 433 pages and eBook 472 pages

Genre: Young Adult, Paranormal, Urban Fantasy

Read: May 2016

Nina MalkinGoodreads

Swoon Cover

Swoon

 3.5 Stars

Synopsis
Torn from her native New York City and dumped in the land of cookie-cutter preps, Candice is resigned to her posh, dull fate. Nothing ever happens in Swoon, Connecticut . . . until Dice’s perfect, privileged cousin Penelope nearly dies in a fall from an old tree and her spirit intertwines with that of a ghost. His name? Sinclair Youngblood Powers. His mission?Revenge. And while Pen is oblivious to the possession, Dice is all too aware of Sin. She’s intensely drawn to him— but not at all crazy about the havoc he’s wreaking. Determined to exorcise the demon, Dice accidentally sets Sin loose, gives him flesh, makes him formidable. Now she must destroy an even more potent—and irresistible— adversary before the whole town succumbs to Sin’s will. Only trouble is, she’s in love with him.

Critically

Plot – 3 out of 5 stars
really slow, kind of confusing, includes some unfortunate graphic content, insta love, it deals with ghosts, mythology, psychic abilities, it felt really flat and it was kind of boring the majority of the time

Writing Style – 3 out of 5 stars
really long and dragged out, kind of scattered with the thought process, simple, descriptive, kind of intense, dark, heavy, weird as hell

Characters – 2.5 out of 5 stars
This was probably the worst part of the book for me. The characters, pretty much all of them were annoying and kind of stupid. The main character Candice, nicknamed Dice, is just really naive and immature. She’s young and she tries too hard, to fit in, to be normal and it just makes me feel bad for her. Because she is sweet and she has a lot of good intentions but she’s easily manipulated and it got really annoying really quickly that she didn’t wake the hell up. Her cousin Penelope, or Pen who is the one who gets possessed also kind of annoyed me but in a different way. She’s privileged and spoiled and definitely thinks that the world owes her something. That she deserves everything. And then slowly but surely she got angry, and intense and really loose. It became really over the top and dramatic and even dangerous and I was not a fan. And then we have the ghost extraordinaire, Sin, who was an enigma the entire time. He’s charming and manipulative and intense. He’s dark and vengeful and I don’t really know where the main character’s attraction came from because they didn’t interact much in the entire story. I was just really disappointing with this second read about this book.

Swear Cover

Swear

2 Stars

Synopsis

A promise broken. A bond betrayed. It’s been six months since ghost-turned golem Sinclair Youngblood Powers confessed his love, stole Dice’s heart, and disappeared from Swoon, perhaps from existence. Despite the hurt, Dice has been moving steadily toward ordinary. Dreams of Sin still plague and pleasure her sleep, and the mark of Sin’s love remains on her skin, still sore. But Dice has been throwing herself into music, finding solace in song and sometimes even in the arms of her band mate, Tosh. Life seems almost…normal. The last thing Dice wants is to mess with anything remotely supernatural. But when her best friend’s boyfriend goes missing, Dice has no choice but to become very much involved. She knows that his disappearance was no accident, and it somehow has everything to do with Sin. Because Dice can feel it: Sin is back. And the promises and deceptions he left in his wake have returned to haunt him. What do you do when an oath of devotion threatens to destroy the one you love?

Critically

Plot – 2 out of 5 stars
I was so bored the entire time, it’s super drawn out, slow, just plain weird, uncomfortably graphic, flat, there’s a lot of plot holes, it deals with ghosts, goddesses and just inappropriate themes

Writing Style – 3 out of 5 stars
really long and dragged out, scattered and confusing, simple, descriptive, really strange and weird, lost the intensity, boring

Characters – 2 out of 5 stars
Yeah, this part of the book didn’t improve at all from the first book. Dice was still immature, still naive. Kind of meek and quiet. She’s trying to have a “normal” life after what happened in the first book which just puts her in a state of denial because her life isn’t normal and that’s just what she has to deal with. Her thought process was just annoying and I was bored. By her, by the story, and by the side characters. Sin was just bleh now. All the mystery and enigma of him is gone and he’s just another bland character. He’s rude and kind of sexist to be honest. He’s still manipulative but the mystery of it and the intriguing aspect is gone and I was bored out of my mind. The romance is completely unbelievable. I didn’t like it in the first book, it felt super unfounded and insta love like. So since the basis of this book is to reunite them, I wasn’t at all interested. And the new side characters introduced were bland and unnecessary and it dragged the plot on too long for no real reason.

Emotionally

I was extremely and completely disappointed by this duology. I was excited to reread the first book but it wasn’t what I remembered and the second book didn’t help matters.

The first book was disappointing because I didn’t enjoy it as much the second time around. The plot is heavy. We follow Candice (Dice) who has recently moved to a small town of Swoon, Connecticut and one day has an encounter with a ghost who takes possession of her cousin’s body. Sounds awesome, right? It was awesome in the beginning, the plot hooks you in and the writing style is quirky but everything just keeps going and going and going. It felt so long and dragged out and things just kept getting more complicated and nothing was resolved and I was just done with it, I wanted it to be over. I lost the interest that I had when I first started reading and that was not fun. If it had been shorter and more concise, I would’ve enjoyed it a lot more. There were some interesting twists and turns but I was so disinterested that they didn’t really make much of an impact on my reading experience. It was really disappointing. Dice was a strange character. She has these like psychic kind of powers and she gets apparitions of her dead best friend which I didn’t understand why they were a part of the plot. I didn’t connect with or understand her well. I didn’t believe in her thoughts and actions, I felt like she had a hidden agenda and some of her motives were actually quite shady. Sin is supposed to be this mysterious man, that no one understands, that is scary and intimidating but in reality he was just lackluster. There were some things that were intriguing about him but the general aspect of him didn’t come across as well as it could’ve. The romance was pure insta love. They barely spent any time together, they shared even less and Dice was convinced that she was in love with him, just from listening to his life. It was unbelievable and boring and didn’t make me feel anything. There were too many side characters that brought nothing new to the story and my general feeling was blah.

I didn’t realize that this series could get worse or that I could be more disappointed, I was wrong. The first book has nothing on the clusterfuck that this one is. The plot is boring, just plain boring. We follow Dice, six months after losing her virginity to Sin followed by his disappearance from her life. She’s trying her best to have a normal life, ignoring her abilities but that doesn’t really work out for her.  The whole point of this book was to give the two main characters a happily ever after. Since I didn’t really care for the romance at all in the first book because it was awfully developed, that made this book long, boring and completely pointless. There’s so many crazy things that happen that I don’t really understand what the whole point of it is. A new ghost was introduced to create problems and tension. She kidnaps people and tears apart the romance and I just didn’t understand why it was necessary. Then she comes back to life to cause my problems. And then the main character has like a dream or a vision or something really freaking weird where she encounters a bunch of goddesses where they like grant her powers or help her accept her creepy powers. I still don’t even know what the hell that meant or what the point of it was. And then there was this part about a band. A group of the characters got together and made a band and played some gigs and I just don’t know. All these things mixed together and nothing really connected. And the worst part is that after all the trouble they went through did nothing to the ending! They ended up doing nothing at all to fix the situation in the end! Dice was just plain boring. There’s nothing wrong with her, she actually kind of manages to get some of her shit together but only becomes she wants to be with Sin and I don’t think that’ s a good motivation to do anything.  Just to be with a guy? Who died a bunch of years ago and possessed your cousin and killed some people? Like, come on. The new side characters were just convenient to have, so no one was left alone and things ended with a bow wrapped around it and I was not a fan.

Overall, I didn’t enjoy this series as much as I wanted to or as much as I expected to. The first book was okay, even if a little far fetched. The characters were bland and the romance wasn’t believable but the story was interesting. The second book was a waste. There was no need for it in the series, or to make it as long as it was. It was boring and pointless. I wouldn’t recommend this series.

So that’s it for this review! Let me know if you’ve read these books and what you thought of them. I would feel like the only person who has read these if I hadn’t seen the reviews on Goodreads because that’s how unpopular they are. Thanks so much for reading and I’ll see you on my next post!

Send off

5 thoughts on “Series Review – Swoon Duology by Nina Malkin

  1. Love these reviews! A used copy of Swoon has been on my bookshelf for years–I don’t even remember when I bought it–and I’ve been debating selling it back to the used book store. I feel much better about doing so now. Thanks for helping me clear off some shelf space! 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

