Looks on Books #5

LOB #5

Hello everyone!

I am back with one of my original features inspired by Lila @ The Bookkeeper’s Secret and Reg @ She Latitude to put together outfits inspired by book covers.Usually I pick the cover based on my favorite books (old and new), underhyped books that I want to feature a bit more on my blog or just regular beautiful covers.

SO let’s get started!

On Display: The Girl at Midnight

Looks on Books #5 - The Girl at Midnight by Melissa Grey

 

I feel like I haven’t talked about this book on my blog. This is one of the first ever books  that I received an advance copy of through NetGalley and I was completely blown away by it. The story was something I’d never read before and the writing style was vivid and intense and emotional and unique to every perspective that showed up in the book. I loved the main character and she’s the inspiration to the outfit above. She’s a little bit of tomboy, a little bit of tough girl and a little bit of femininity and a whole lot of independence. She’s one of my favorite characters of all time and I need to share my feelings about this book a lot more. I’m so incredibly excited for the second book in this series which comes out on my birthday!

Fun fact: This book features two different types of hybrid societies: bird people and dragon people.

Synopsis:

Beneath the streets of New York City live the Avicen, an ancient race of people with feathers for hair and magic running through their veins. Age-old enchantments keep them hidden from humans. All but one. Echo is a runaway pickpocket who survives by selling stolen treasures on the black market, and the Avicen are the only family she’s ever known.

Echo is clever and daring, and at times she can be brash, but above all else she’s fiercely loyal. So when a centuries-old war crests on the borders of her home, she decides it’s time to act.

Legend has it that there is a way to end the conflict once and for all: find the Firebird, a mythical entity believed to possess power the likes of which the world has never seen. It will be no easy task, but if life as a thief has taught Echo anything, it’s how to hunt down what she wants . . . and how to take it.

But some jobs aren’t as straightforward as they seem. And this one might just set the world on fire.

So that’s it for this post! Let me know what you think of the look and if you’ve read this book. If you haven’t, I hope you’ll give it a chance and when you do, make sure to let me know all your thoughts on it! Thanks so much for reading and I’ll see you on my next post!
Send off
10 thoughts on “Looks on Books #5

Leave a Reply

