Sara 101: My Journey to University

Sara 101 My Journey to University

Hello everyone!

I am back today with my personal feature, Sara 101, where I talk about me and myself and I and anything and everything that I could want to share about my personal life.

This feature is supposed to be my outlet to kind of share some of my personal life or at least some bits of it but the past few months I’ve still been only focusing on blogging and bookish things. That’s about to change right now. I’m going to talk about something really personal that I’m living through right now in the hopes that I’ll find some like minded people and people who can help me get to where I hope to be.

SO let’s get started!

I’m sure that sounded pretty freaking creepy up there but I swear to you it’s nothing bad! But it is something that is currently happening in my life and to be quite honest with all of you, which I always am, I’m absolutely terrified while writing this post right now.

I want to talk about college and my journey to getting to university and how big of a struggle it’s been and is and my goals and dreams and how I hope to get there.

So please, bear with me and hang around.

I’ve mentioned briefly a few times that I grew up in San Diego, California but my story is a little more complicated than that and I kind of want to go more in depth into because it has a lot to do with my situation right now. So I was born in Venezuela and spent the first nine years of my life there. After my parents divorced, my mom struggled to make ends meet so we decided to take a chance at a better life and moved all the way to another country and went to the United States, It was a huge struggle the first few years. I won’t give all the gritty details but my mom had to work various jobs to be able to keep us afloat. I really love and admire her for all the work she put into to keep my brother and I safe and happy.

It took me about a year to learn English well enough to be part of regular instead of bilingual classes and since that time, I became obsessed with reading. I had always been a reader before but it was something a lot more casual. Now I read anything that I could find in my classroom library and kept that up in the upcoming years. My favorite subject in school was English and I was always that one student that read all the assigned reading, even the summer ones. And in 7th grade, my Science teacher (weird I know) would read the Twilight Saga out loud to us while we did worksheets and got a head start on homework and that started my love for YA.

We started doing really well. My mom got remarried, I got to horseback ride, I became a part of the choirs at my schools and things were good. I had a college fund that my mom had set up for me but because of an accident my mom had, we had to begin using that money to cover living and other expenses.

She worked at a Special Education school and one of the more aggressive students pushed her against concrete blacktop and she received a skull fracture and a concussion because of it. That affected her short term memory as well as verbal understanding skills. Because of her injuries and the affects they had, she couldn’t find jobs that paid well enough for her to provide for my brother and I. By 2012, it got to a very dire point so we moved back to Venezuela to help her continue to recover as well as to try to cut back the amount of the funds we were using.

That first year here in Venezuela were really hard, for me specially. I’d just left my entire life back in SD, nine whole years of growth, friends and comfort that I could never get back. And I became depressed. I spent pretty much everyday at my grandmother’s house where we lived, laying down and watching tv. Never went outside the neighborhood unless it was to visit with my mom’s mom and to the grocery store and things like that. I had no friends except my older cousins who all lived in different places. I had a really hard time with the language because I stopped learning Spanish in second grade and there was a lot of slang and idioms and sayings that I didn’t understand. We didn’t have a car and I had no idea how to move around the city and I just wasn’t happy. I also wasn’t reading that entire year, the only thing I read was Twilight fanfiction. No books, no new releases, no finishing old series, nothing. That obviously did not help.

The second year my dad convinced to go back to high school and get my equivalency to finally get my high school diploma. I moved right before my senior year and so I only had a few credits needed to get it done. I managed to finish in a year and a half and I learned a lot. I got my first job and met new friends and learned how to use the bus and things got better.

Once I graduated, I got another job which is the one I’m at now and I also got an iPod touch which enabled me to get the Kindle app and start reading real books again.

And with that, I decided that I wanted to go to college. And surprisingly, this is kind of a new dream. When I was younger, I never really gave a thought to college but mostly because I didn’t know what my passion was. Actually, I didn’t recognize it as my passion until two years ago. For those first two years it was like I had forgotten what I was really passionate about, what made me feel right in the world, what I thought I was best at which is books, anything and everything to do with books.

And because of my love of reading, and books and talking about books, I made it my mission to get into college for a degree in English.

And I did it!

I am so happy and blessed to have been admitted to Simon Fraser University in Canada for a Bachelor’s degree in their Faculty of Arts and Social Sciences. I feel like it is the right place for me.  I fell in love with the programs they have and with how well I’ve been treated by everyone on the staff.

I pursued universities in Canada because English isn’t something that I can pursue in Venezuela where I’m currently living, since English is not the main language. But what really pulled me into that school was the minor in Publishing. That’s the kind of direction I want to go in my career. If it wasn’t obvious by now, I take my blogging very seriously because of this. I want to get a job in a publishing company one day, so for me blogging is more  than just a hobby, it’s a stepping stone to getting to accomplish my dreams.

To be able to accomplish my goals and dreams, I need financial help. So a few days ago, I started a GoFundMe campaign with the encouragement of my mom and my visa advisor. I need to be able to pay for college to be able to go to that college. But because of my mom’s accident, our remaining funds don’t cover the amount that I need. And to top it all off, my country isn’t doing well. Our economy is in shambles because of a lot of different reasons and unfortunately, they have stopped giving students financial aid to study abroad. If you don’t know anything about the current crisis in Venezuela, I’m linking a video from Flama that explains it all in plain English.

I hope to be able to have the money to start this Fall 2016 Term and I’m really appreciate of anyone who gives from their hearts to help my accomplish my dreams. I’m going to share my link here and I would really appreciate if you guys helped me share on social media and beyond because I really really want this and I don’t really have any other way to get there.

So that’s it for this post! I’m sorry it’s so long and if it bothers you that I’ve shared so much about my life, I’m sorry about that too. I feel like I’ve made a lot of genuine friends since starting my blogging journey and I feel like it’s the right thing to share about my life and my struggles. To those who got this far, thanks so much for reading and I’ll see you on my next post!

Send off

13 thoughts on “Sara 101: My Journey to University

  1. This is an amazing (and very inspired) post! It’s so wonderful that you were able to try your best and achieved your dream! I’m so glad you shared this, because I know it would’ve been quite scary sharing this kind of personal story, but I really enjoyed reading it, especially when it gave me the feeling of getting to know you better 😉 I’m

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Thanks for sharing, Sara, and congratulations on being admitted to SFU! I hope everything works out well for you — I’m glad that you found your passion, and that you’re working towards it. I don’t think anyone would be bothered by this post so there’s definitely no need to apologise. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  3. You’ve been through some tough times, I really do hope everything turns out great for you and that you accomplish your goals. I’ll share your story through Twitter because that’s the least I can do, and I hope people read it and help with donations.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

