Book Review – Even If the Sky Falls by Mia Garcia

Book Review - Even If the Sky Falls

Even If the Sky Falls Cover

Even If the Sky Falls

Author: Mia Garcia

Publication: May 10th, 2016

Publisher: Katherine Tegen Books

Format: Kindle Edition, 304 pages

Genre: Young Adult, Contemporary

Read: May 2016

Mia Garcia — Goodreads

 

 

4 Stars

Synopsis
One midsummer night. Two strangers. Three rules: No real names. No baggage. No phones. A whirlwind twenty-four-hour romance about discovering what it means to feel alive in the face of one of life’s greatest dangers: love. Who would you be if you had one night to be anyone you want? Volunteering in New Orleans was supposed to be a change, an escape from the total mess Julie left at home and from her brother’s losing battle with PTSD. But building houses surrounded by her super-clingy team leader and her way-too-chipper companions has Julie feeling more trapped than ever. And she’s had enough. In a moment of daring, Julie runs away, straight into the glitter, costumes, and chaos of the Mid-Summer Mardi Gras parade—and instantly connects with Miles, an utterly irresistible musician with a captivating smile and a complicated story of his own. And for once, Julie isn’t looking back. Together Julie and Miles decide to forget their problems and live this one night in the here and now. Wandering the night, they dance on roofs, indulge in beignets, share secrets and ghost stories under the stars, and fall in love. But when a Category Two hurricane changes course and heads straight for NOLA, their adventure takes an unexpected turn. And, suddenly, pretending everything is fine is no longer an option. Richly evocative to the heart-racing end, Even If the Sky Falls is a swoon-worthy debut to indulge in to the very last note.

Critically

Plot – 3 out of 5 stars
This story was quite cute, and interesting as well. It was fast paced and easy to read. It dealt with themes of family, PTSD, adventure, violence and guilt. There was a mystery involved and unfortunately, the romance moved a bit too fast in my opinion. I like my contemporary to be light but real and this book didn’t have the depth I wanted. It took the time to mention real life heartache yet not follow it through.

Writing Style – 4 out of 5 stars
This was my favorite part about this book. The writing style is very atmospheric and detailed and the descriptions of the beautiful setting of New Orleans are breathtaking. It’s descriptive and simple and engaging. It had a very good balance between the past and the present of the main character’s life.

Characters – 3.5 out of 5 stars
I struggle a little bit with these characters. Julie is likeable, I guess. There wasn’t anything about her that bothered me but I didn’t love her either. She’s overwhelmed and stressed and has a lot of feelings and thoughts bottled up within her. However, she’s really sweet and has an adventurous spirit. She just wants to forget for awhile and let her hair down and let go of her worries. Then we obviously have the male love interest, name Miles, who was okay. I found him to be a little flat. It’s like on paper he’s a great guy, but there was nothing really special about him that made me want to relationship to work. He was sweet and charming. He wanted to share his life with her and talk to her and get to know her and that was all fine and great but there was no spark for me. Or even between them in my opinion. So that put a damper on the romance too. I found both of their backgrounds and back stories to be intriguing and interesting, but there wasn’t enough about them. I needed more to see them as well rounded, believable characters.

Emotionally

 I didn’t know what to expect from this book going in, but overall I really enjoyed reading it.

The plot is vivid. We follow Julie, who in a moment of being completely overwhelmed runs away from her Habitat for Humanities group and gets swept away by a boy and into a Mid-Summer celebration in the heart of New Orleans. My absolutely favorite thing about this book is the imagery and the way the writing style portrays New Orleans. The author paints the city so well, from the atmosphere, to the sights, to the people and even to the weather. Everything feels tangible. I could picture it perfectly and it was almost like I was there with them myself. Especially since it’s during a festival, there’s such a spirit to New Orleans and to the people that are celebrating and it leaps off the page (well off the Kindle but you know what I mean). On the other hand, the romance felt rushed  to me. I believed the connection between the characters in the beginning. Their flirtation and banter were all on point and felt just as genuine as the city around them. But once we got deeper and deeper into the story, and their feelings were getting stronger, it didn’t feel as real to me and it got too serious and intimate too quickly and that’s when it turned me off. It started off so well but it could’ve been so much better towards the end. I really liked learning about the character’s life before their encounter, their “baggage” as the story refers to it, but it just felt like surface information. It was just something to share with each other and to make them more interesting characters but nothing came from it. Everything was left unresolved and the ending was very loose. Too loose in my opinion for such an intense story and that was disappointing.

Julie was okay. I connected with her feeling of stress and inner guilt, but she let it go on too long. She ran from her problems for too much of the book and since we don’t get everything from her past all at once, it just felt long and drawn out. I would’ve liked to see more character development from her but she held on to her pain too closely and for so long that once she got herself together it was the end of the book and not much changed with her. It was a little disappointing but not the worst of characters that I could see.

Miles was a sweet guy and an okay love interest, but he wasn’t developed enough as a character. Even his background didn’t feel as deep as it was meant to. He was nice and a good guy but that was it. Nothing about it him made me fall in love or swoon with his words. It was just nice. I actually felt like his friends had a lot more spark and personality than he did. They were funny and interesting and entertaining. They packed more diversity and ingenuity than he did. There was also another character named Tavis that I had to mention because he has a pretty important part in the story. He really creeped me out, and I didn’t understand what his purpose was besides just being a freaking weirdo. He pushed himself onto the main character with supposed noble intentions but things were never really settled with him. It’s still something that bothers me.

Overall, I liked the book. The story was interesting but the characters felt a little flat and needed more development. There could’ve been more resolution not only within the main story but with the character’s backgrounds as well as with their relationship. Yet I really loved the writing style and the way it painted the setting so I’m looking forward to see what she comes up with next.

So that’s it for this review! I really liked this book. Let me know what you think of my thoughts and if you’re planning on reading this book as well. I’m looking forward to seeing what more this author has to offer. Thanks so much for reading and I’ll see you on my next post!

Send off

5 thoughts on “Book Review – Even If the Sky Falls by Mia Garcia

Leave a Reply

