Potter Challenge: Which Wizarding School Do You Belong To?

Potter Challenge Which Wizarding School Do You Belong To

Hello everyone!

I am here today to share another very special post!

My friend Aldii @ PerfectioninBooks joined me in accomplishing my Potter Challenge this year and last month we read Harry Potter and the Goblet of Fire, book four of the series. We are having so much fun buddy reading as well as sharing our thoughts with you guys.

In this post, I’ll be sharing a mini review with my thoughts on the book and what wizarding school we would study at considering neither of us are from the UK and might not get into Hogwarts.

SO let’s get started!

Mini Review

Harry Potter and the Goblet of Fire Cover

4.5 Stars

Critically

Plot – 4 out of 5 stars

Writing Style – 4 out of 5 stars

Characters – 4 out of 5 stars

Emotionally
This book kind of brought down my excitement for the series a bit. It was just so long! The plot is dark. We’re back at Hogwarts with Harry at a new year. The Twiwizard Tournament is a highlighted plot point with what seems to be sinister plots being mentioned. I don’t want to say this book was boring because it wasn’t, but there were definitely sections that were less interesting than the rest of the books and then the rest of the series. The sections between the tasks of the Tournament dragged though I know now that they set up a lot for the last few chapters. Those were completely insane! Everything just got so real and intense and just plain heavy. Voldemort is back and no one but a few people actually believe Harry when he tells everyone. Honestly, I feel like those last few chapters made the overall slow book worth it. I don’t know how I feel about Harry in this book. It felt like there was no real character development with him, I felt him to be the same as in the previous book. All that happened was that he got to suffer and be in pain more which does affect him but really late in the book and you don’t see the repercussions until later. I found Ron to be super shallow in this book. I understood where he’s coming from, it must be hard to be best friends with someone who always has the attention, who always saves the day but that’s not a reason to turn your back on him and be distrustful of his intentions. There’s no way Harry would purposely cheat to get into a tournament where he could die. And it bothered me that Ron would act like a little brat and make it about him, it was annoying. Hermoine is just a plain freaking badass. I love her more and more in every book.  She tried to keep the peace, she tried  to be honest and true to herself and then she just made sure that everyone knew that she was boss and she wasn’t going to take degradation of her character lying down. I love her so much. She’s officially my favorite character in this series. Dobby was super duper cute. I love his personality. And now that he’s not ruining Harry’s chances of going back to Hogwarts, I can connect with him a lot more. I’m super looking forward to continuing the series even though things will only get heavier from here.

WIZARDING SCHOOLS FROM AROUND THE WORLD AND WHERE I BELONG

If you didn’t know, the site Pottermore has some new writings by J.K Rowling and they include quite a few different wizarding schools besides Hogwarts that exist around the world. I definitely recommend  you check it out and see some of the awesome schools the Wizarding World has to offer.

Considering this book is all about the Twiwiard Tournament and international wizard relations, Aldii and I thought it’d be a good idea to talk about the school where we would go to study magic.

Now I know we already got accepted to Hogwarts, and have our houses and everything but considering that we don’t really live in the UK, it could be kind of hard for us with the commute and all.

So I started doing my research right? And I have two options.

One is Castelobruxo which is the Wizarding School in Brazil. It takes students from all over South America which totally works for me because I currently live in Venezuela.

The school looks like this:

Castelobruxo is an imposing square edifice of golden rock, often compared to a temple. Both building and grounds are protected by the Caipora, small and furry spirit-beings who are extraordinarily mischievous and tricky, and who emerge under cover of night to watch over the students and the creatures who live in the forest.

I’m quite enamored with the fact that she named one of the mythical creatures after the coolest dance style/defense strategy/looks super cool tradition from Brazil. I didn’t share it above but the castle has the same kind of disguise as Hogwarts. It appears as a ruin to the Muggle eyes that may travel over it. I found that super cool also.

Castelobruxo students wear bright green robes and are especially advanced in both Herbology and Magizoology; the school offers very popular exchange programmes for European students* who wish to study the magical flora and fauna of South America.

I’m most excited about the Magizoology part of this description. You guys know how I love my magical creatures and since they’re most likely situated in the middle of the rainforest, there’s going to be lots of creatures to explore.

I’m leaning toward this school but there’s also the American school!

It’s called Ilvermorny and that’s pretty much all we know about it so far. We have no location, no details, nothing besides that it has roots with indigenous magic. Which sounds super interesting and I mean, I grew up in the US and I think it would be really cool to study there.

But as long as I don’t have more information, I feel like I gotta go with Castelobruxo. The name is cooler in my opinion, it’s close by and at least I know what I would be getting myself into.

So that’s it for this post! Let me know your thoughts on my review and my would be wizrding school! Have you ever given any thought to our questions this month? Let me know in the comments! Thanks so much for reading and I’ll see you on my next post.

Send off

One thought on “Potter Challenge: Which Wizarding School Do You Belong To?

Leave a Reply

