July ’16 TBR – LGBTQIAP+ Theme

TBR July Logo

Hello everyone!

I am here to talk about the books I am hoping to read this month. I’m kind of dumb because when I made my monthly TBRs I didn’t realize that June was Pride Month, so I have a list of LGBT+ books for this month. I’m sorry to say that I’m a bit lost and if there’s anyone that can explain to me what the I, A and P stand for, I would really appreciate it. Anyway, I picked a few books that I really want to read this month!

SO let’s get started!

First Order of Business:
Ghostly Echoes, Nice Girls Endure and The Rise and Fall of a Theater Geek
by William Ritter, Christ Struyk-Bonn and Seth Rudetsky

Ghostly Echoes Cover   Nice Girls Endure Cover   The Rise and Fall of a Theater Geek Cover

Three books from NetGalley this month! Much more manageable for me. The first is the third book in the Jackaby trilogy by William Ritter and I got it because the published fulfilled my ARC wish and I’M SO EXCITED!!! The second book to be quite honest I’m not even sure what it’s about. I just really liked that cover and I’m hopeful that it’ll be good. The last one is another ARC but I got this one a reallyyy long time ago but I never really got around  to reading it. Since it fits in my month and I want to improve my NetGalley ratio I’m hoping to read it this month.

Goodreads Goodreads Goodreads

TBR Jar Pick:
Trial by Fire (The Worldwalker Trilogy #1)
by Josephine Angelini

 Trial by Fire Cover

I kind of failed with my TBR Jar pick last month and I thought about keeping the same book but I’m not as excited to read it right now. Kat @ Life and Other Disasters is a fan of this series and I’ve had my eye on the first book since it came out. I’ve never read any books from this author so I hope this will be good.

Goodreads

Monthly Book Club:
This Savage Song (Monsters of Verity #1)
by Victoria Schwab

This Savage Song Cover

I’M SO EXCITED TO READ THIS BOOK WITH MY FRIENDS! The first book we ever read for our book club was The Archived, YA Victoria and it feels so good to be able to go back to that this month. We’re all really pumped because we all love her writing style and I can’t wait to see what we all think.

Goodreads

Read It While It’s Hot Challenge:
The Shadow Hour (The Girl at Midnight #2)
by Melissa Grey

The Shadow Hour Cover

This book comes out on my birthday (which is July 12th btw, I’ll be 22) and it’s one of my most anticipated releases of the year! I read the first book as an ARC and completely fell in love with the story, the characters, the writing style, everything! I’m so pumped to see how the journey continues.

Goodreads

Potter Challenge:
Harry Potter and the Half-Blood Prince
by J.K. Rowling

Harry Potter and the Half-Blood Prince Cover

Ahhh! The second to last book! I’m terrified but also super excited to finish this series. These last two books are completely new territory for me, I haven’t watched either of the movies so I’m going in blind and it’s scary and exhilarating and I can’t wait to see what happens.

Goodreads

Continuing Series:
Gathering Darkness (Falling Kingdoms #3), Blue Lily, Lily Blue (The Raven Cycle #3) and Dark Tide (Waterfire Saga #3)
by Morgan Rhodes, Maggie Stiefvater and Jennifer Donnelly

 Gathering Darkness Cover   Blue Lily, Lily Blue Cover  Dark Tide Cover

I’ve been making my way through these series and I must say that right now, I’m enjoying the Raven Cycle a lot more. Maggie’s writing is superb and I’m slowly falling in love with all the characters. But the Falling Kingdoms is improving and I hope that I’ll enjoy the third book more. I wanted to start Dark Tide and finish that series last month, but I didn’t get around to it so I want to try and do it now.

Goodreads Goodreads Goodreads

Binge
by Tyler Oakley

Binge Cover

I’ve been a fan of Tyler’s and his channel for a really long time. I love his personality and his humor and the way he interacts with his audiences. I’m usually not a fan of non fiction but I really liked A Work in Progress by Connor Franta who is also a YouTuber so I kind of want to see the differences between his and Tyler’s story and hopefully have a few good laughs.

Goodreads

More Happy Than Not
by Adam Silvera

More Happy Than Not

My friend Gervan has been hounding me to read this book since he read it. So I decided to finally take the plunge and I hope to read it this month. I’m kind of scared though because this might be sad.

Goodreads

Skyscraping
by Cordelia Jensen

Skyscraping Cover

I wanted to branch out and read some unknown books. This one is written in verse and it deals with a young girl who finds out her father is gay. I haven’t heard much about this book from readers I know but it has a lot of great reviews on Goodreads. I’m hopeful that I’ll enjoy it.

Goodreads

Unspeakable
by Abbie Rushton

Unspeakable Cover

I saw this book on NetGalley last year and fell in love with the cover and concept. But it’s by an Australian author so though I requested it, I got denied since I’m not from Australia. But God bless the internet and retailers and I’m super duper pumped to finally be able to read it.

Goodreads

Promposal
by Rhonda Helms

Promposal Cover

This just seems like a really cute contemporary about prom and while I went to one, it wasn’t really what I had in mind and I had no cute promposal whatsoever. So maybe I want to live vicariously through this book okay? I hope it’s good.

Goodreads

Love Lessons (Love Lessons #1)
by Heidi Cullinan

Love Lessons Cover

 I’ve only read one of Heidi’s book’s before but I really enjoyed it. It incorporated diversity and mental health really well. So I’m hopeful that this book is also good.

Goodreads

The Miseducation of Cameron Post
by Emily M. Danforth

The Miseducation of Cameron Post Cover

I got the majority of these books from an LGBTQ+ list made by Epic Reads and this is one of the ones that got most of my attention. I’m hopeful that I’ll be able to read up to this point.

Goodreads

Beauty Queens
by Libba Bray

Beauty Queens Cover

I’ve heard a lot of great things about this book and about this author. I really really want to read it because it has so much hype! I also have quite a few extra books that I have on my list just in case.

So that’s it for this post! Let me know if you’ve read any of these books and what you thought of them! July is my birthday month, so I’m going to make the most of it and hope to read as many books from my list as I can. Thanks so much for reading and I’ll see you on my next post!

Send off

15 thoughts on “July ’16 TBR – LGBTQIAP+ Theme

  1. SO. MANY. BOOKS! I have The Archived in my TBR and actually have an unread copy of it that I need to return soon to the library because I don’t have any time at the moment. Hoping you like This Savage Song! 😀

    I’ve read Skyscraping and while I appreciate the theme, I ended up giving it I think 2 stars because I don’t think it needed to be written in verse. Like, the writing doesn’t actually complement the story? But I’ll let you make your own decision about it.

    100% yes to More Happy Than Not. Just an all around good book, though I did think the beginning was a bit slow.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

