ARC Review – Love Shack by Roxy Mews

Book Review - Love Shack

Love Shack Cover

Love Shack (Tiny Houses, Big Hearts #1)

Author: Roxy Mews

Expected Publication: July 12th, 2016

Publisher: Samhain Publishing

Format: e-ARC, 218 pages

Genre: Adult, Contemporary, Romance

Read: June 2016

Roxy MewsGoodreads

I received an e-ARC of this book from Samhain Publishing via NetGalley in exchange for an honest review. Thank you!

4 Stars

Synopsis
Felicity Newhouse left a life of excess for a tiny house—and she’s never felt richer. She’d like to give back to the artisanal community who gave her wounded spirit a place to land, but she wants to do it on her own terms. Except she’s been turned down for a loan four times. And the fifth bank on her list isn’t looking too promising, either.
The woman sitting across Brandon Halston’s desk must be out of her mind. Who’d want to live in a house the size of his walk-in closet, much less create an entire community of them? He’s drawn to her soft beauty and her ideals, but business is business.
When her story hits the news, Brandon’s boss solves the PR nightmare by ordering him to spend a month in her house—while cameras roll. The heat between them boils over like the water for their morning coffee. But when one person is hiding who they really are, passion may not be enough to clean up the dirt someone is digging up behind the scenes.
Product Warnings
This book contains copious amounts of coffee and sex in confined spaces. If the tiny house is rockin’ don’t come a-knockin’.

Critically

Plot – 3 out of 5 stars
This book is just a really sweet and simple adult contemporary romance. The premise is really interesting, I love the concept of tiny houses though I wouldn’t live in one, but it was actually quite predictable. And there came a point where all of a sudden it became an erotica. I have no problem with sex in books but it totally clashed with how the rest of the story was going. The ending was rushed and I felt like the resolution was way too easy. And yet I enjoyed it overall.

Writing Style – 4 out of 5 stars
I quite liked the writing style. It’s really easy to read since it was short and to the point. I found it entertaining and funny specially with the character’s banter. But I don’t feel like it added much depth to the story. There wasn’t sufficient description for my taste but it wasn’t bad.

Characters – 3 out of 5 stars
This was also just an okay part of the book. I liked the characters but they felt very stereotyped or just plain weird or just not developed enough. The main character, Felicity started off as a really sweet girl with an idea to help people. I liked that she was quiet but determined. She had a very good head on her shoulders and a specific goal in mind and I like that she did everything in her power to make it happen. However, toward the course of the book she randomly gets fiesty and kind of in your face. I’m all for main characters standing up for themselves but it just felt out of character. Brandon, our male main character, in the beginning is very uptight, close minded and rude and judgemental. He’s not a team player and not really into the concept of tiny houses. But his character development is extensive and I really loved how he opened his mind up to different possibilities of life. But even with that, I feel like the side characters were really underdeveloped. They just seemed to be there to show up and to push the characters forward. Not as if this is life and these are the people you meet, more like these are the people I’m placing in the plot to make the story move. I’m not a fan of that.

Emotionally

I wasn’t expecting much from this book at the beginning but it was actually a very light and entertaining read.

The plot was cute. We follow Felicity, a girl with hidden secret who is trying to spread her love for tiny houses by creating a charity. After being turned down for loans by various banks, a reporter ropes her and a stuffy manager into sharing her tiny house for a month in an effort to create buzz for her story. I really liked the premise of this book, it’s an interesting setting and backdrop for a romance. I’ve heard a lot about tiny houses but it’s kind of a quiet community. I like reading books that use unique ideas and this one definitely is one. However, it was a bit predictable. I mean yeah we all know going in that the two main characters were going to fall in love, that all the angst and the banter and the animosity was going to evolve into passion and sexual tension. It’s kind of what happens in a contemporary romance right? And to be quite honest with you, it kind of read like a fanfiction. Run of the mill, full of tropes and yet completely and totally entertaining. It was a super fast  read and the romance was quite adorable. There was a point when things got heated and went into the erotica variety and my only problem with that was that it wasn’t a smooth transition. It felt stunted and pushed instead of a natural romantic development between the two characters. I also wish that the side characters would’ve been more fleshed out. I felt like they were just there to help move to main characters toward each other.

Felicity was very contradictory. One minute she’s shy and sweet and quiet. And then various chapters later, she’s fierce and loud and fiesty. There’s nothing wrong with either of those personality traits but it didn’t feel genuine coming from her. It seemed like she was just that way because of what was going on and because  the author thought it would be a good idea. It was really weird. However, I still liked her narration and how the story developed with her as the main character.

Brandon I actually liked a lot more. His character development felt a lot more genuine. He started off really harsh and rude. Shaped by what he always thought he wanted in life, he easily rejected Felicity’s tiny house idea and everything that had to do with it. But as he experiences her life and learns more about her, he changes. He realizes what little value material things actually have in life and I loved how he behaved in those last few chapters. It was the cutest thing ever!

Overall, I enjoyed myself while reading this book. It didn’t blow me away or make my favorites list, but it’s a really fun and funny contemporary with a cute and interesting premise. I feel like the main characters could’ve been developed more and the side characters should’ve had more background than just be there for the sake of the story, but I would definitely check out more books from this author.

So that’s it for this post! Let me know if you’ve heard of this book and if you’re interested in checking it out now. Thanks so much for reading and I’ll see you on my next post!

Send off

One thought on “ARC Review – Love Shack by Roxy Mews

Leave a Reply

