T5W Jul. 6th – Favorite Books Outside of Your Comfort Zone

T5W Jul 6

Hello everyone!

Time for another Top 5 Wednesday. Top 5 Wednesday was created by Lainey from gingerreadslainey and is now hosted by Sam from Thoughts on Tomes and if you would like to join, here is the link for the Goodreads group with all the information.

This week’s topis is Top 5 Favorite Books Outside of Your Comfort Zone. These are books that you enjoyed that aren’t something you typically read. For example, nonfiction if you usually read fiction, contemporary if you usually read fantasy, etc. etc. They do not all have to be from the same genre, just an assortment of books outside your usual genre of choice. So I decided to show a variety of books I enjoyed that I didn’t really expect to.

SO let’s get started!

#5: Public Display of Everything
by Cara Dee

Public Display of Everything Cover

This book was my first venture into M/M Adult Contemporary and I really enjoyed it. This is one of my favorite fanfiction writers ever and as soon as she started publishing original fiction, I was on it like white on rice. And now I’m quite a fan of this genre.

#4: Rumble
by Ellen Hopkins

Rumble Cover

I’ve always been interested in Ellen Hopkins’ books but I never tried it out until I read this one. Books in verse are actually quite amazing and interesting. I haven’t read many that are in this kind of format but I’m really intrigued by the writing style and want to explore more.

#3: Welcome to the Dark House
by Laurie Faria Stolarz

Welcome to the Dark House Cover

I am a huge scaredy cat. Like honestly, I am that person that doesn’t go into Haunted Houses, or that girl that doesn’t watch scary movies and when she is forced into one, she has her eyes closed the entire time! So horror is something that I generally try to avoid but this book I really enjoyed. It scared the hell out of me but I’m a huge fan of the author and I enjoyed what I read.

#2: How to Fall In Love
by Cecelia Ahern

How To Fall In Love Cover

This was the first ever Adult Contemporary book that I ever read and I loved it. I was a little apprehensive at first because I didn’t know how I would feel about a romance between you know adults, but it’s so perfectly different.

#1: A Work in Progress
by Connor Franta

A Work in Progress Cover

I’m not a fan of nonfiction, it’s actually the kinds of books that I tend to avoid because I don’t really become interested in the topics that are discussed. But this is the first one I ever read and I really enjoyed it. It’s just a bunch of stories, told to the reader in an effort to share advice but there are also some really cool photos in it and I thought that was interesting.

So that’s it for this post! Let me know what you think of my choices. What are some books that you enjoyed, even though they were out of your comfort zone? Thanks so much for reading and I’ll see you on my next post!

Send off

5 thoughts on “T5W Jul. 6th – Favorite Books Outside of Your Comfort Zone

  1. A Work in Progress looks cool – I really like the cover! And I’ve read some Ellen Hopkins before and I’m just about convinced she’s the only person who can write a novel in verse REALLY WELL and actually use the medium evocatively, instead of just having poetic sentences in poetry form. My favourite of hers is Crank, though. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    • It was actually quite cool! My favorite part was the pictures it included though which I don’t know what that says about the book haha
      I need to read more of her books but since I know they’re so heavy with material, I’ve never actually felt like sitting down and reading them. Rumble was a lot lighter than the rest of her books

      Like

      • No, photographs, polariod style that Connor took himself. They were pretty cool 🙂
        I’m not a mood reader but I need a certain state of mind to read her books which is why I put them off for so many years because I was so interested in them for a longgg time.

        Like

Leave a Reply

