Book Traveling Thursdays Jul. 14th – Because Some Sequels are Better than the First Book

BTT Jul 14

Hello everyone!

It’s BTT time! This is a weekly meme created by Danielle at Danielle’s Book Blog and Catia at TheGirlWhoReadTooMuch. You can find all of the information you’ll need to participate on the Goodreads page.

This week’s topic is Because some sequels are better than the first book. Choose your favorite sequel. And I used this topic to do it again! That’s right people, I am mentioning my favorite companion series again, I have absolutely no shame. But in my defense, this second book is much better than the first one!

SO let’s get started!

My choice for this week is Sea Glass by Maria V. Snyder. This is the second book in the second series of the Chronicles of Ixia, the first being the Study series. You all know how much I love this author and this series. Yet, I had a hard time falling in love with the main character of this series. She got on my nerves a lot in the first book and I wasn’t a fan of her but in this second one she definitely improved!

Original Cover & My Country Cover

Sea Glass Cover

I love these covers! I think they are just so beautiful. I love the detail and how the glass is shining and it really represents the basis of the book. I’m not really sure of the title, it’s a bit blurry. I know it’s on purpose but it’s still a bit disorienting. But you’ll see the rest of them and agree that this is awesome.

My Favorite Cover

Sea Glass Cover   Sea Glass UK Reprint Cover

I’ve already talk about the first cover and you know how I feel about them. But this second series of covers I  think are just as good! I think what appeals to me the most is that all the series of the Chronicles have the same theme, and it’s the only one where that happens. The rest of these are all very different and these covers, which can be found in the UK and Australia I believe, are all cohesive with the entire work. I love that!

My Least Favorite Cover

Sea Glass UK YA Cover  Sea Glass US Mira Cover  Sea Glass Italian CoverSea Glass Australian Cover

Aren’t you guys tired of people on covers too? I mean come on, how many times do bookworms have to complain about something like this before publishers start to listen? Here we have a UK cover, another US cover, the Italian cover and another Australian cover. Like why if you have the great choices I showed up there, would you rather have those ugly ones here? I just don’t understand.

So that’s it for my choices! Let me know what you think of the covers and if you agree with my favorites. Thanks for reading. See you on my next post!

Send off

10 thoughts on “Book Traveling Thursdays Jul. 14th – Because Some Sequels are Better than the First Book

  1. I used to love Maria V. Snyder! I always mean to get back into her books! I’ve read the first Study book and I remember LOVING IT so if this is a spin off series I’m sure it’s just as great. You’re totally right that is an awesome cover so prettyyyyy!!!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

