Booktube-A-Thon TBR

BooktubeAThon TBR

Hello everyone!

So I was really debating whether or not to participate in the Booktube-A-Thon this year which is from JULY 18TH – JULY 24TH. I wanted to do it last year while I was still an active booktuber but I was working at camp during that week. But even though I’m not a booktuber anymore, I’m a blogger, it still sounds super fun and a lot of people participate. It’s been a long time since I’ve done a readathon so I’m quite excited!

SO let’s get started!

It took me a few days to pick out my TBR but I decided to model it after all the awesome challenges as well as tried to pick books that I already had on my monthly TBR.

1/ Read a book with yellow on the cover

More Happy Than Not

This one was pretty easy since I was already planning on reading it. I’ve heard so many good things that I hope I enjoy it.

2/ Read a book only after sunset

Dark Tide Cover

This one was also already on my TBR. But it’s gonna be weird to only be able to read it when it’s dark out. However, it’s not supposed to be a very scary book so I have that going for me. But who knows how fast I’ll finish it.

3/ Read a book you discovered through booktube

 Just Visiting Cover

This was probably the hardest one to come up with because I’ve watched booktube for so long and have been on Goodreads for so long that now I just can’t remember where I got a recommendation and where I found a book. So I decided to pick this book but Sam @ Thoughts on Tomes really enjoyed it and I’ve been interested in Dahlia Adler’s books since I started following her on Twitter because she’s hilarious.

4/ Read a book by one of your favorite authors

The Hidden Oracle Cover

Surprisingly this was another hard one for me. I actually had to make a physical list of my favorite authors because I say it and write it on this blog but I didn’t remember when it counted! There’s quite a few on that list but honestly, I just want to read this book and I’ll find any excuse to do it. Though Rick Riordan is one of my favorite authors, he knows his niche and he does it well.

5/ Read a book that is older than you
6/ Read and watch a book-to-movie adaptation

The Giver Cover

I decided to combine these two challenges because I got quite lucky when picking this book. The Giver was originally published in 1993 and I was born in 1994, so check! And I haven’t watched the movie version yet, so check again! I don’t know if I’ll get to it but it’d be interesting to read then watch.

7/ Read seven books

The God Box Cover   Beauty Queens Cover

And the original BooktubeAThon challenge, I had to add two more books so I decided to put ones that I already have on my monthly TBR. The first is one of my favorite LGBTQ books of all time that I’ve wanted  to re-read for a long time. It’s a really cute story that deals with LGBTQ themes and religion. Eve my mom loved it and I hope I’ll get to it. And the second, I mean, I’ve just heard awesome things about this book and the author so cross your fingers!

So that’s it for my TBR! Let me know if you’ve read any of the books on my list. Let me know if you’re also going to be participating in the BooktubeAThon! I can’t wait to get started! Thanks so much for reading and I’ll see you on my next post!

Send off

13 thoughts on “Booktube-A-Thon TBR

  1. LOLOL sunsets here are at about 5.30pm and I think any book I read is going to be after sunset.

    Hope you like The Giver! I feel the book is waaay better than the movie – Taylor Swift’s appearance in it is so jarring, like I just can’t get over the fact that she’s Taylor Swift so I keep seeing her character as a pop star instead of, well, her character.

    Liked by 1 person

      • Ahh I know. It’s 40 hours of your week and it did throw me off too when I first started. :/

        I love her too, but I wouldn’t say she’s a great actress! I’m not sure if it’s because she’s SO established as a singer that I can’t think of her as anything else or if it was just bad acting in The Giver.

        Liked by 1 person

      • I’m so used to reading at least ten books a month that having only read five is tripping me up and who knows how I’ll do for this readathon haha
        Idk I’m hopeful to get to that book, the only time I’ve seen her as an actress is Valentines Day but yeah I don’t think that was supposed to be serious haha

        Like

      • Hopefully as you get used to working full-time you’ll get that reading momentum back, haha. 5 books is still quite a lot, I think, especially when you remember that you have other responsibilities. 😛

        Oooh yeah, I remember that one! That too was kinda cringey to me, especially remembering that she and Taylor Lautner were together. It’s just a bit weird, haha.

        Liked by 1 person

      • Honestly, when I look at it, I’ve done pretty well considering all I’ve been doing but I see my monthly TBR and I haven’t read any of the LGBT books that I wanted and its hard not to be a bit disappointed. And then I thought it’d be a good idea to participate in Booktubeathon haha
        That was weird haha

        Like

      • Yeah, I suppose if you generally stick to your TBR it’s a bit odd to… not. I’m used to having a VERY loose TBR so whether or not I get to a book ‘on time’ isn’t very important to me. Good luck, though! 😂

        Liked by 1 person

  2. Oooo I can’t wait to see what you think of The Giver, I saw the film and absolutely fell in love! You’ve also tempted me to join in with this, might have to take part too!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

