T5W Jul. 27th – Most Unlikable Characters

T5W Jul 27

Hello everyone!

Time for another Top 5 Wednesday. Top 5 Wednesday was created by Lainey from gingerreadslainey and is now hosted by Sam from Thoughts on Tomes and if you would like to join, here is the link for the Goodreads group with all the information.

This week’s topis is Top 5 Most Unlikable Characters and to be quite honest with you, I am damn excited to talk some serious character trash. I don’t like to be a negative Nancy but gosh, some of the characters that come out nowadays just drive me up a wall! Is it a surprise to anyone that my list is made up of female characters only?

SO let’s get started!

#5: Maddie
from The Loose Ends List
by Carrie Firestone

The Loose Ends List Cover

I was looking forward to reading this book but I was so disappointed with how disconnected I felt with the writing style, the plot and specially the main character. She was really selfish and self-centered on a cruise with people who are dying, I mean come on! I didn’t hate her which is why it’s number 5 but this story would’ve been better told by her freaking grandma.

#4: Sophie
from Strands of Bronze and Gold
by Jane Nickerson

Strands of Bronze and Gold Cover

Never have I encountered a more helpless character, not even months after reading this book. I’m not the kind of reader that needs all my female characters to be badass, variety is good, but at least do something!! She was the narrator and all she did was describe the huge house she was living in. This is a retelling of Bluebeard ya’ll, if you don’t know the story look it up. I would’ve fallen asleep reading from her perspective if I wasn’t a multiple book reader.

#3: Blaire
from Broken Symmetry
by Dan Rix

Broken Symmetry Cover

This is one of the ones that pisses me off the most but because the cover is beautiful, the premise is freaking awesome but the execution just screwed everything up! This main character is the kind to show up at a MARRIED MAN’S house in whore wear while THE WIFE IS HOME to try and persuade him to give her details of a police investigation. ARE YOU KIDDING ME?! I feel like I was supposed to hate her on purpose because she just kept getting worse and worse. Two years and I’m still raging mad.

#2: Nora
from Hush, Hush
by Becca Fitzpatrick

Hush, Hush Cover

This one sucks because in the beginning I thought she had potential to be an awesome leading lady but as the series went one, she was almost as helpless as Sophie. No matter how much of the story revolved around her, the dude kept making all the decisions and the ones she made always ended up being the wrong ones or completely screwed up a lot of things for a lot of people. It was just overkill.

#1: Nikki
from Everneath
by Brodi Ashton

Everneath Cover

I hate her. I hate her with a giant passion. Such a self-centered, selfish, only thinks about what I want kind of attitude that just pisses me off to no end. Spoilers but I don’t care: this girl causes a mass genocide because she just doesn’t want what she CHOSE TO DO! Argghhhhh. If she were real, I’d beat her ass. No joke.

So that’s it for this post! It’s been quite nice to let out some of my frustrations for these characters. What do you think of my choices? What are your top 5 most unlikable characters? I would love to know! Thanks so much for reading and I’ll see you on my next post.

Send off

 

3 thoughts on “T5W Jul. 27th – Most Unlikable Characters

Leave a Reply

