Potter Challenge: Preparing for a Magical Job

Potter Challenge Preparing for a Magical Job

Hello everyone!

I am here today to share another very special post!

My friend Aldii @ PerfectioninBooks and I have been buddy reading the Harry Potter series the last few months to accomplish my Potter Challenge this year. Last month we read Harry Potter and the Order of the Phoenix, book five of the series. We are having so much fun buddy reading as well as sharing our thoughts with you guys.

In this post, I’ll be sharing a mini review with my thoughts on the book and what kind of job I would love to have after graduating as a complete wizard from Hogwarts.

SO let’s get started!

MINI REVIEW

Harry Potter and the Order of the Phoenix Cover

5 Stars

Critically

Plot – 4.75 out of 5 stars

Writing Style – 4 out of 5 stars

Characters – 4 out of 5 stars

Emotionally

Considering how disappointed I was in the Goblet of Fire, I was so surprised with how much I loved this book. The plot is intense. Harry is back at Hogwarts for another year. Things get heavy really quickly: everyone believes Harry is a liar, Hogwarts’ staff is flipped upside down and he’s getting nightmares about a strange door and about Voldermort. I knew this book was going to be heavier and darker than the previous ones but I didn’t realize actually how much. This one took me a lot longer to read than I wanted to but I wasn’t bored at any point whatsoever. I loved getting to know so much more about the world and all the revelations and discoveries about the history that we get. I always feel like there’s more to learn than we’re given and I’m glad we got a bigger glimpse of the outside wizarding world in this book. It’s so much vaster than at first glance. Despite how much I loved this book, I’m actually petrified to continue to read the rest of the series. I just know things are going to go downhill fast and that it will hit me very hard and I don’t know if I’m prepared. Harry really frustrated me in this book and it’s because of something in his characterization that just plain bothers me every time he does it. I understand the position he’s in during this book, but he’s just moody and angry and he takes it out of the people that don’t need it. He resents that people care about him and are trying to protect him even when they’re in the right because he’s just plain reckless! He wasn’t thinking, wasn’t being smart and ended up making things a whole lot worse than was actually necessary. It has bigger consequences than he realizes and yet when he figures it out, it’s already too late. I don’t know how I feel about Ron. Sometimes I like him and I feel for him, he’s funny but overshadowed and he has a confidence problem which I can totally relate to. But other times, he just gets on my last nerve! He can be just as reckless and stupid as Harry and together sometimes they don’t make the greatest combination. On the other hand, I’m a huge fan of Hermoine and she’s becoming one of my favorite characters of all time. She’s fierce and takes no shit from the two male characters in their trio. She’s smarter than they are and braver a lot of the times. A part of me almost wants to re imagine this series with her as the protagonist because I would’ve loved to have seen inside her head. Sometimes she gets on my nerves when she mothers to the point of smothering but I also tend to do that with my friends so I can’t really fault her for that. I wanted  to mention quickly that I absolutely love Hagrid and I hate Umbridge with a giant passion.

THE WIZARD JOB OF MY DREAMS AND HOW TO GET THERE

It took Aldii and I an embarrassingly long time to figure out what we wanted to talk about for this post. This book talks about the Order of Phoenix and Dumblerdore’s Army and how they’re learning Defense Against the Dark Arts, where they learned defensive spells and their Patronus. But we already talked about for Prisoner of Azkaban.

So we debated for a while and decided to talk about wizarding jobs and O.W.Ls (Ordinary Wizarding Levels) because that’s also the biggest thing that is mentioned in this book. The young wizards have to take these tests and they will determine the kind of subjects they will take in their final two years at Hogwarts and they’ll propel them into their future jobs in the wizarding world.

So I spent some time looking over the types of jobs there are and I was a little torn over two: Auror and Magizoologist.

Auror sounds really cool and Harry is interested in that. But it’s a little bit too dangerous for my tastes so I decided to go with Magizoologist because I am in love with Magical Creatures and animals in general!

To make that happen I’d have to pass various O.W.Ls which are evaluated like this:

Passing grades

Outstanding [O] (always continues to N.E.W.T.-level)

Exceeds Expectations [E] (usually continues to N.E.W.T.-level)

Acceptable [A] (rarely continues to N.E.W.T.-level)

Failing grades

Poor [P] (may repeat)

Dreadful [D]

Troll [T]

I believe that I’ll have to make sure to pass the subjects of Care of Magical Creatures, Herbology, Potions and Charms. This isn’t exact considering that this particular job doesn’t have as much information as some other ones but these seem like the most obvious.

Care of Magical Creatures is specially important which would probably drive me crazy because although I love Hagrid, he has a very crazy idea on what good lessons are. I’d fear for my life but I think this kind of job would be incredibly entertaining and interesting.

Bonus: My Ilvermorny House

I’m pretty sure you have all heard of the American version of Hogwarts, Ilvermorny and the history behind it’s creation. Recently Pottermore releases it’s own sorting quiz which like a lot of book lovers, bloggers and booktubers, I decided to take and see where I would be! So Aldii and I decided to share that in this post and without further ado, my Ilvermorny house isssss……

*drum roll pleasee*

HORNED SERPENT!

Ilvermorny_House_Crest_Horned_Serpent

I don’t really know how to feel about this since it appears that this is the equivalent to Slytherin but I’m a Gryffindor so…. I don’t know! I hope we’ll be able to learn more about this school because what we’ve seen so far is freaking awesome.

So that’s it for this post! Let me know your thoughts on my review and my would be wizrding job! Have you ever given any thought to our questions this month? Let me know in the comments! Thanks so much for reading and I’ll see you on my next post.

Send off

9 thoughts on “Potter Challenge: Preparing for a Magical Job

  1. I love a Potter post! I was at Kings Cross yesterday, and went for walk to platform 9 and 3/4, and the queue for a photo was massive. And this was at 9pm!

    Ooh I might have to take the sorting quiz for the American houses now. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

