July ’16 Wrap Up

Wrap Up July Logo

Hello everyone!

I am here today to wrap up all the things I read, posted and accomplished in July. I’m honestly surprised with what I accomplished this month. I started a full time job on the first and when I used to spend only afternoons working, I now spend the entire day working so I have less time to read. And then I thought it was a good idea to join the Booktubeathon with all that going on and I had a lot of fun but it wasn’t as successful as I wanted. And yet I still managed to read over ten books which is my goal this year. However, I read some great books this month.

SO let’s get started!

Books I Read

Read Books July

  1. The Scorpio Races by Maggie Stiefvater – 4.5 Stars  I finished off this buddy read with Reg and Estefani in the beginning of the month. We all had different thoughts on the ending of the book and it was really interesting to see how our perceptions are differ even though we read the same book. Maggie is slowly becoming one of my favorite authors.
  2. The Loose Ends List by Carrie Firestone – 2 Stars  This book was so disappointing. I was really looking forward to reading it specially because it was a buddy read with Regina but neither of us were fans. She actually DNFed the book but I kept going and it did not get better. The characters were annoying, the plot was far fetched and the writing style wasn’t for me.
  3. Smash & Grab by Amy Christine Parker – 4 Stars  This is an e-ARC that I tried to read in June but didn’t get around to it but managed to finish it before my review and its publication. It’s a really fun entertaining contemporary thriller centered around a huge bank heist. If you don’t look too deep into it, it’s really fun and I love the Latino representation some of the characters offered. My review will be linked farther down this post!
  4. Blue Lily, Lily Blue (The Raven Cycle #3) by Maggie Stiefvater – 4.5 Stars  Here I go, continuing with reading more of Maggie’s work and trying to finish the Raven Cycle. I’ve become slowly but surely obsessed with this series. It’s so magical and twisted and whimsical and creepy and all these other polar opposites but it’s done so well! The plot of these books always surprise me but the real hook are the characters. I love them all, they’re precious little baby cinnamon roles and I am petrified to read the last book!
  5. Ghostly Echoes (Jackaby #3) by William Ritter – 5 Stars  I was so completely shocked and grateful when the publisher granted my wish on NetGalley and not only did I get to read the sneak peek but got to read the complete ARC this month! I swear, with every new book in this series, I fall in love more and more. This is the best one yet! At first it felt like it was just going to be a fun paranormal spin on Sherlock Holmes types of mysteries, but this book blew that theory out of the water. Things are getting so much darker and much more intense and I am so anxious to know what will happen next, and there’s not even an announcement for the next book yet!
  6. More Happy Than Not by Adam Silvera – 4.5 Stars  This was the first book that I read for Booktube-A-Thon. I talked about my thoughts on this book in that Wrap Up which you will find further down this point if you’d like to know more of the details but suffice it to say that I really enjoyed it and I was surprised with how deep of a book it really is.
  7. The Hidden Oracle (The Trials of Apollo #1) by Rick Riordan – 4 Stars  Second book for the Booktube-A-Thon and it was so good! It’s so wonderful to be back in this world and to see some of my favorite characters again! My OTP is alive and my cinnamon roll is back! Apollo isn’t as entertaining as Percy but his monologues are interesting and I can’t wait to see what happens to him next hahaha.
  8. Dark Tide (Waterfire Saga #3) by Jennifer Donnelly – 4 Stars  I’m so happy that I managed to finish this book right before Booktubeathon ended. I’ve been wanting to continue with this series for awhile and I’m glad that I did! While this book wasn’t as exciting as the second one, it had it’s scary and intense moments. There’s a lot of great themes in this series like friendship and feminism and accepting diversity which I love. This book felt more like a filler and it only pushed the plot forward a little bit but I’m excited to see how it ends!
  9. Harry Potter and the Half-Blood Prince (Harry Potter #6) by J.K. Rowling – 5 Stars  I am just… blown away and heartbroken. I knew things were going to get bad and become so much darker and heavier than the rest of the series but… I didn’t expect this. I don’t really know what to do with myself at the moment and this is the second to last book! How is the last one going to end?! Obviously, I loved this book. I’ll talk about it more on my Potter Challenge post because I don’t think I can do that right now…
  10. This Savage Song (Monsters of Verity #1) by Victoria Schwab – 5 Stars  I feel like she can’t do no wrong. I’m serious. Anything this woman comes up with is just mind blowing and extraordinary. There’s so much detail and thought behind every single step in this story. And it doesn’t unfold like I expect it to. I love August with a giant passion, he’s my little cinnamon roll and I need him. I’m so happy that I read this book with two of my best friends and I can’t wait for the sequel!
  11. Gathering Darkness (Falling Kingdoms #3) by Morgan Rhodes – 4.5 Stars  I’m so conflicted over this series. I have a hard time connecting to the characters and the plot always takes so long to develop in each of the books. Some things are predictable but then there comes a point in the story, usually towards the last few chapters, where everything gets turned on its head and I don’t know how I feel anymore. I don’t know if this is good writing, or if I should be even more wary but I have to really marinate on how I feel about this book.
  12. The Shadow Hour (The Girl at Midnight #2) by Melissa Grey – Currently reading this book tonight, I wanted to finish it before it became August but that didn’t happen. However I’m really enjoying it though it’s not as good as the first book right now.
  13. Nice Girls Endure by Chris Struyk-Bonn – ARC that I started reading really late and I’m still not far enough into the book considering when I have to have the review ready. I’m not the biggest fan of the writing so far but I hope it gets better.
  14. The Summer That Melted Everything by Tiffany McDaniel – Another ARC but the author contacted me a bit later in the month. I’m still hoping to have a review up next week but I’m also not that far into this book and I’m finding it a bit hard to read, because it’s slow progress.

Posts I Shared

Reviews

Tags And Awards

Memes

Top 5 Wednesday

Book Traveling Thursdays

Throwback Thursday

Features

Challenges Update

  • Goodreads Reading Challenge – 79/120 Books (66%)

I’m really surprised with how much I managed to read this month, specially since it started off really slowly. Toward the last two weeks though I managed to pick up my pace and I’m still ahead of this challenge!

  • Read It While It’s Hot Challenge – 22/12 Books

Obviously, still kicking ass in this challenge! Over ten books past my goal! It’s been all those ARCs as well as pushing myself to read the releases I’m excited for when they come out. I hope next month is just as successful.

  • Potter Challenge – 6/7 Books

OMG, I loved this last book! And yet I’m still absolutely petrified to finish. It’s also sad that Aldii and I’s buddy reading is coming to an end because it’s been so fun sharing this with her!

  • 2016 Debut Author Challenge – 5/x Books

One book added to this list, no new ones to speak off. It’s a bit disappointing but I’ve been focusing on the other challenges and I’m sure this one will pick up soon.

  • Finishing the Series Challenge – 8/x Series

Nothing new for this challenge this month but next month is going to be full of finished series and I’m not worried about getting behind.

So that’s it for this wrap up! Let me know if you’re read any of the books I mentioned above and what you thought of them! Thanks so much for reading and I’ll see you on my next post!

Send off

10 thoughts on “July ’16 Wrap Up

  1. WOAH girl. Your wrap-up is so impressive – you’ve done so much work (reading AND posting)! You’re like, my blog goals. ❤ I can never post more than 8 a month (any more and I feel overwhelmed which is noooot a good idea). Great job!! I can't wait to see what you accomplish in August!

    Also, I'm so glad you enjoyed More Happy Than Not – it's one of my favourite books. 😀

    Liked by 1 person

    • Thanks so much! haha I was pretty surprised with it myself. I have an obsessive and overachieving personality so I spend every weekend scheduling 6-7 posts per week. I’m also super organized so I have my whole month planned out ahead of time too. It’s overwhelming but it makes me feel like I’m making a mark on something I love, even if I don’t get as many comments as I’d like.
      I’m sharing my review for it very soon! It was a really great debut and standalone novel.

      Liked by 1 person

    • Thanks so much! I try to manage my time as best as I can and it seems to be paying off.
      I actually haven’t finished the series yet, I still have to read the Deathly Hallows. As soon as I finish that I’ll let you know which one is my favorite haha

      Like

  2. Wow you had a way better month than me with my work, and looks like you read some really good books. I started This Savage Song but I don’t think it was the right time for me to read it but I’m hoping to jump back into it soon. Nice post 😀

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

