T5W Aug. 3rd – Books That You Feel Differently About

T5W Aug 3

Hello everyone!

Time for another Top 5 Wednesday. Top 5 Wednesday was created by Lainey from gingerreadslainey and is now hosted by Sam from Thoughts on Tomes and if you would like to join, here is the link for the Goodreads group with all the information.

This week’s topis is Top 5 Books You Feel Differently About. Books where you have rated them something after finishing them but after awhile have changed your mind. Whether you like them more now or less, both count for this topic. Most of my choices, I like a lot less after some time apart from the story, but I’ll get to that.

SO let’s get started!

#5: An Abundance of Katherines
by John Green

An Abundance of Katherines Cover

This is one of the first books I ever read when I first got my iPod and started using my Kindle app. I totally loved it when I first read it but I think, looking back, it was just the exilaration of finally reading a book that made me love it as much as I did. However, I think that if I read it again, it’d be just an average book.

#4: Before I Fall
by Lauren Oliver

Before I Fall Cover

I read this back in November, while I still had my Booktube channel and I wasn’t impressed. I rated this book 3 stars but looking back on it, it’s more of a 2 stars. I didn’t like the plot, I didn’t connect with any of the characters and the writing style wasn’t remarkable at all.

#3: Finding Paris
by Joy Preble

Finding Paris Cover

This is another 3 stars that needs to turn into a 2 stars. I didn’t really understand the message this book was trying to send, the plot was really confusing in general and the ending made no sense at all.

#2: Ice Massacre
by Tiana Warner

Ice Massacre Cover

This is the only case where I actually think I should make my rating higher than what it is. This was a free ebook that I read last year and while I wasn’t expecting much from it, it still blew away all of my expectations. It’s dark and violent and gritty and one of the most vicious representations of Mermaids in YA that I’ve ever seen. It’s such a good book and every time I think about it I want to talk about how great it is and I definitely should’ve given it five stars.

#1: A Court of Thorns and Roses
by Sarah J. Maas

A Court of Thorns and Roses Cover

I read this book last year for a readathon and I loved it, 5 out of 5. And then I thought about it… and I realized I had a lot more problems with the characterization and plot development than I thought I did originally. So I brought it down to a four and even then I’m not really satisfied with it. I feel like I’ll have to read it again at some point to really pin down how I feel about this book.

So that’s it for this post! What are some of the books you feel differently about after tune apart? Let me know what you think of my choices and whether or not you’ve read them yet. Thanks so much for reading and I’ll see you on my next post!

Send off

17 thoughts on “T5W Aug. 3rd – Books That You Feel Differently About

  1. OMG I don’t know how I feel about that cover for An Abundance of Katherines… I’ve read that book already but this cover reminds me of like, clones or creepy robots or something. D:

    I’ve also read Before The Fall and gave it a high-ish score (I think) but the only thing that I could remember was the plot, which I thought was very interesting. Lauren Oliver seems to have great ideas.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I definitely see what you mean with Abundance of Katherines. With the exception of possibly, The Fault in our Stars, I just don’t think John Green is as great a writer as I once thought he was. I just can’t get into the rest of his books.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

