The Diverse Books Tag

The Diverse Books Tag

Hello everyone!

It’s a nice day for a tag don’t you think? Three of my lovely blogger friends tagged me to do the Diverse Books Tag: Reg @ She Latitude, Cristina @ My Tiny Obsessions and Anette @ Anette Reads. Thank you gals so much!

I’m going to say this right now: I’m deeply ashamed with how little material I had for these questions. I definitely need to open up my horizons and start reading more diversely and making the time to pick up those books. If you have some recs to share for me that fill these categories, please do!

SO let’s get started!

A Book Starring a Lesbian Character

Everything Leads to You Cover

Absolutely, positively love this book! Obviously it has a lesbian main character but it’s one of the few exceptions in LGBTQ+ fiction where the main character already knows her sexual orientation, is out and proud and just living her life with acceptance. Beautiful!

A Book with a Muslim Protagonist

And I Darken Cover

This is the first and only book that I’ve read that’s talked about the Muslim religion and there are two characters who practice, one from how he was raised, the other who converted. It was so interesting to see how that religion is and it’s customs and I would love to read more books about it.

A Book Set in Latin America

City of Beasts Cover

Honestly, this is probably the answer I’m most ashamed of. I have not read any books set in Latin America… And I live here. And this is the only book on my TBR, and it’s set in Chile. Not even in Venezuela where I’m from. I know, I know. I gotta get myself together.

A Book About a Person With a Disability

Dark Tide Cover

I was going to use another book but I decided to go with this one while writing up this post. This series is about a group of six mermaids chosen to save their world from an evil underwater monster. One of them is blind and while we haven’t gotten a lot of her point of view, she gets more attention in this third installment. I hope to see more of her thoughts in the last book.

A Science-Fiction or Fantasy Book With a POC Protagonist

The Wrath and the Dawn Cover

One of my favorite books! I loved Shazi and her fierce spirit. It was super interesting to see this culture, although in a kind of made up place it has a lot of background from real places and cultures. I still haven’t read the sequel but I’m definitely doing that before the year ends.

A Book Written by an Indigenous or Native Author

I have no answer for this prompt. I am an awful human being. Please hit me with recs! Help me fix this awful misstep.

A Book Set in South Asia

The Star-Touched Queen Cover

I thought I had a read book for this prompt but it turns out the places that I was thinking of aren’t actually in South Asia. So I spent an embarrassingly long time looking for an answer and I think this one fits. Please correct me if I’m wrong because I still haven’t read this book yet. I have a problem, I know.

A Book with a Biracial Protagonist

Everything, Everything Cover

The main character in this book is half-African American and half-Japanese. Thanks to Cristina for sharing this tidbit because I totally would’ve spent hours trying to remember if I’d read a book with a biracial character. This is also the only one I’ve read, so hit me with recs!

A Book Starring a Transgender Character or Transgender Issues

The Art of Being Normal Cover

This book actually has various transgender main characters and is one of my faves. It’s the only transgender book I’ve read and I feel it’s also super unique because it’s written by a UK author, so the slang and language is a little different from what I use which made it fun. Definitely recommend!

I Tag:

Mariana @ Book Is Glee

Jonas @ Other Things

Estefani @ Fiction Jungle

So that’s it for this tag! Please don’t chastise me in the comments, I know I’ve failed deeply. I beg of you diverse lovers, give me all your recommendations and suggestions. I really want and need to make more of an effort to read diversely, specially since technically, I’m part of that diversity. Thanks so much for reading and I’ll see you on my next post!

Send off

15 thoughts on “The Diverse Books Tag

  1. Ooh, so many good choices! I really need to get around to reading And I Darken and The Star Touched Queen! I remember when the latter released and it blew up everywhere. I’m so behind. ;_;

    Some people have told me about The Art of Being Normal, and I really want to read that! I’ve read only one book on trans* issues, and that was For Today I am a Boy (which is very very good, btw)!

    Oh, and I hope you enjoy The Rose and the Dagger! I liked TWAD better, but it was still a satisfying sequel. ❀

    Liked by 1 person

    • I really liked And I Darken though it wasn’t what I really thought it was going to be. I’m really excited to see what the rest of the series has in store.
      I think the Art of Being Normal is pretty unique, not only because it’s subject matter but the way it addresses it. And the British slang is pretty cool too haha
      I think I’ll be reading it next month and I really hope I enjoy it. I’ve been feeling anxious about it since its release, tbh.

      Liked by 1 person

  2. It’s OK if you hadn’t read books for some of these categories. That’s normal for a lot of people!

    I really want to read And I Darken, btw! It looks really good. πŸ˜€
    Also, The Star-Touched Queen and Everything, Everything are both STILL on my TBR. I need to make the time to finally read them.
    Anyway, thanks for doing the tag!

    I’ve added your blog post to the master list of all the Diverse Books Tag posts:
    http://readdiversebooks.com/the-ultimate-diverse-reading-list/

    Liked by 1 person

    • Thanks for commenting πŸ™‚
      I would recommend And I Darken but I have a feeling that the rest of the series will be much better than I thought the first book was.
      I really loved Everything, Everything, it was one of the first books I ever reviewed for publication on my blog!
      Great tag, though its one more that I can’t think of haha

      Like

  3. Great answers, Sara. I have Everything Leads to You on my TBR but keep on putting it off, but I’m glad to see it here! It does seem quite different in that the protagonist already knows and is out and proud. πŸ˜›

    And yay for The Art of Being Normal!

    Liked by 1 person

    • Thanks friend, I wish I would’ve done a little better to be honest, it’s kind of embarrasing haha.
      READ IT! But don’t tell me when you do because it’s one of my favorites haha I seem to tell you that a lot don’t I? haha
      Yay! I really liked that book but I should definitely read more books with Transgender characters

      Like

      • I get it! I had to do a little bit of hunt too, and for that “native authors” thing I only managed with a book on my TBR rather than a book I’ve actually read. I’ve never realised that it was so rare until I did the tag!

        You do, but fair enough, honestly. It can be hard recommending our favourite books, and I totally understand. Thank you for keeping your faith in me. ❀

        Liked by 1 person

      • It was really hard to hunt things down, specially since I’m not gonna lie, I’m a huge “popular” person, I tend to read the books that are constantly talked about so I had no native writers on my TBR. That was a hard awakening.
        I love you friend ❀️

        Like

  4. I need to read Everything leads to you – haven’t read a LGBT book that is not exploring the troubles if coming to terms with ones sexuality so this book will be much needed something different.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

