Olympics Book Tag

Olympics Book Tag

Hello everyone!

It’s Tuesday which means it’s time for a tag! Just like the majority of the world, I’ve been obsessed with the Olympics so I just had to do this tag when I saw Catia @ The Girl Who Read Too Much do it recently. This book tag was created by Valeria @ Little Dutch Bookshop and I can’t wait to show you guys my answers!

SO let’s get started!

Artistic Gymnastics

Artistic Gymnastics  The Raven Boys Cover

Artistic gymnastics are all about grace and beauty, especially on beam and floor, but if you only flex your toes for just a second on any other event, such as bars or vault, it can lead to a deduction that can cost you your golden medal. That’s why I want to know: What is a beautifully written book?

I love Maggie’s writing style! It’s so eerie, and haunting and completely beautiful. I love the Raven Cycle series.  I’m reading the last book right now and it blows my mind to see how she arranges her sentences and weaves her stories.

Athletics

Heist Society Cover  Athletics

Athletics is all about speed. In most events the fastest person wins, but in other events your speed is also an important part of your chance yo win that gold medal. So you can really say that speed is key. That is why I want to know: What is a fast paced book?

As it tends to happen with Ally Carter’s books, they’re all super fast paced, including this one. I read it in two days and it’s so easy to fly through because of it’s entertainment factor and the addictive writing. And the story itself, a heist, is tension filled and full of adrenaline.

Beach VolleyBall

Beach Volleyball  Summer of Supernovas Cover

Beach Volleyball reminds me so much of summer! I mean, you can only play it on the beach, it is fun to do with friends. It makes you forgive all of the sand for getting into places you don’t actually want sand. That’s why I want to know: What is a perfect book for summer?

I think the title speaks for why I picked this book but either way this one is a great book to read during the summer. It’s really fun and light and sweet, with it’s themes of identity and acceptance of life and the crazy way it moves. I would recommend it for contemporary lovers.

Diving

Tiny Pretty Things Cover  Diving

Divers is all about getting into that water without making a splash, but it is also about strength and, when performed by two divers, about synchronicity. But all in all the fact that they dive that far into the water, knowing that when they mess up, it hurts is very respectable. That’s why I want to know: What is a book you read without knowing anything about it before you started?

I am currently reading this book with my monthly book club friends and Gervan picked this one because it was a Kindle deal. I didn’t really know much about it before starting only that it was about ballet, and I’ve really enjoyed what I read so far though I have a feeling things are going to be worse before they get better.

Equestrian

Equestrian  Magic Study Cover

It’s all about the horses with this sport, they are as important as the athletes who ride them. It is amazing how much these animals can do! That’s why I want to know: Who is your favorite bookish animal? (it can be a fantasy animal like a dragon)

Yelena’s horse Kiki whom she gets in Magic Study is my favorite fictional animal ever. She even talks! Sort of, in a special way, with only Yelena but still! She’s super funny and awesome and smart! I wish I had the relationship they have with my old mare. It would’ve been super cool.

Rhythmic Gymnastics

Jennifer Donnelly  Rhythmic Gymnastics

Rhythmic Gymnastics is all about flexibility. Gymnasts perform all kinds of contortionists moves, and that all while keeping their eye on a prop. And they are also able to include this prop in their, often graceful routines. It hurts my back looking at it, but I want to know: Who do you find a very flexible writer?

I think Jennifer Donnelly is a very flexible writer. I’ve read various books from her, from historical fiction to fantasy and mythology. And I’ve really enjoyed all of them. I really want to read everything that she’s published because I’m becoming a huge fan of her.

P.S. I used to do rhythmic gymnastics when I was younger. I was part of an official state team and competed nationally all over Venezuela. The hoop was my favorite skill.

I Tag:

Regina @ The Bibliothèque

Ari @ The Daydreaming Bookworm

Monique @ That Wild Soul

So that’s it for this tag! What do you think of my answers? Have you been watching the Olympics and if so, what’s your favorite sport? Thanks so much for reading and I’ll see you on my next post!

Send off

11 thoughts on “Olympics Book Tag

  1. Thanks for doing my tag! I love Maggie’s writing style in the Raven Cycle! And it’s so cool that you used to compete nationally in rhythmic gymnastics! I have so much respect for the gymnasts because it looks so hard! (I try it every year at nationals here in Holland and I suck, lol)
    -xxx-

    Liked by 1 person

    • She has an amazing way with words 😊 it was really fun while I did it but also exhausting because the schedule was really grueling. It is really hard but not as hard as artistic. We got to dance a little more like ballet and the focus is more on flexibility haha

      Like

  2. I feel like I’ve been seeing Tiny Pretty Things around more and more these days! Glad to hear that you’re enjoying it so far and hope the rest of the book continues to be good. 😛

    It’s SO cool that you used to do rhythmic gymnastics and competed nationally! Did you enjoy the experience? Do you miss it?

    Liked by 1 person

    • I think it’s because the sequel is coming out soon I believe. I hope so too! 😄 haha
      When I was younger, I loved it. It was something I was really good at, I was naturally flexible and it was really fun for me. But we had a grueling schedule and I was like 6 and spent most of my days at the gym working out, doing ballet and practicing routines. By the time I moved to the US I was exhausted and I gave it up. There aren’t a lot of rhythmic gyms in the US so at the time it felt like the best decision but looking back I kind of regret it. Not because I wanted that to be my career but because now I’m a lazy bum who never exercises hahaha I’m not as flexible either and I can’t do most of the tricks and it’s a bit disappointing

      Like

      • Haha, I’m a lazy bum too but I was never ever sporty as a person. In fact, I’m actually probably the fittest and most flexible I’ve been my whole life right now, and trust me, that’s not saying much at all – I am still unfit and not that flexible! 😛

        Have you thought about doing more gymnastics again now?

        Liked by 1 person

      • Im really thin but I’m so out of shape it’s ridiculous haha I wish I was still fit and flexible hahaha
        Honestly, if I were to do a sport right now it’d be dance which is pretty similar but makes me happier haha

        Like

      • You can still be! Better to start now than tomorrow… at least that’s what I keep telling myself so that I’d get a better fitness routine. 😛

        Dance will be so good. My body-eye coordination is horrendous, though; I can only pretty much dance in a club. D:

        Liked by 1 person

      • I dance all the time just never in a professional or learning type of way. After gymnastics, I took dance my entired life but never anything concrete, I can pretty much dance anything haha. I want to get into some classes again but my schedule is just super packed 😦
        Dancing in a club is good too! hahaha

        Like

Leave a Reply

