Throwback Thursday #3

throwback-thursday-3

Hello everyone!

This week’s Book Traveling Thursday is all about non-fiction and since I don’t really read non-fiction books, I decided to share some more of my throwback books in this meme of mine!

Throwback Thursday is a weekly meme all over the world in which people share old photos of amazing moments in their lives. So I adjusted it to share a book that I’ve read more than 2 years ago and talk a little bit my thoughts on it.

SO let’s get started!

Today I want to talk about A Beautiful Dark by Jocelyn Davies. I read this book in December 2014 while I still had my Booktube channel. It went along with my angel theme which was basically a month full of paranormal romance surrounding angels. This series really surprised me and is now one of my favorite trilogies.

A Beautiful Dark Cover

Skye never questioned the story of her life. Her Aunt Jo adopted her after the death of her parents when she was just a child, and together they flip through memories the way some people flip through photo albums.

She never questioned if the stories were true.

Until the night of her 17th birthday, when the arrival of two strangers intrudes on her cozy life. Polar opposites, like fire and ice, Asher is dark and wild, while Devin is fair, cold, and aloof. Skye has no idea what they want—only that their presence coincides with the beginning of some shockingly strange events. Events that Skye, if she dares to think it, might be responsible for causing.

High up in the mountains of Boulder, Colorado, Skye finds herself caught in the middle of an ancient battle, one that began untold millennia ago. Torn between unpredictable Asher, whom she loves, and the infuriating Devin, who she can’t stay away from, her fate is murky as a starless night. And as the secrets of her true identity are revealed, Skye realizes that her destiny may reside in the Heavens—or somewhere darker.

I was really surprised with how much I enjoyed the series. I wasn’t expecting much, it didn’t have the best ratings and it’s the kind of genre that is usually just addictive but not deep. And yet this series has a lot more going on than I originally thought, I loved the themes it messed around with. The plot itself isn’t that original, you’ve probably read it a million times before and maybe I picked up more than it was actually trying to see, but I think there were some deep human truths mixed in with the commonness of it all.

So that’s it for this post! Let me know what you think of this quirky meme:). Let me know of a really old book that you enjoyed and haven’t talked about in awhile. Thanks so much for reading and I’ll see you on my next post!

Send off

One thought on “Throwback Thursday #3

Leave a Reply

