T5W Aug. 24th – Books You Want to Read Before the End of the Year

T5W Aug 24

Hello everyone!

Time for another Top 5 Wednesday. Top 5 Wednesday was created by Lainey from gingerreadslainey and is now hosted by Sam from Thoughts on Tomes and if you would like to join, here is the link for the Goodreads group with all the information.

This week’s topic is Books You Want to Read Before the End of the Year and I’m really excited to share some of the books I desperately need to knock off my TBR. Most of these are also part of an old T5W whose topic was Series I Want to Start Next Year (next year being 2016) as well as some new releases that I haven’t had the time to get to yet.

SO let’s get started!

#5: The Rose and the Dagger
by Renee Ahdieh

The Rose and the Dagger Cover

I can’t believe I haven’t read this yet! I read The Wrath and the Dawn earlier this year before this book came out and I loved it so much! I was obsessed with everything about it and that ending just broke my heart but I just don’t know why I haven’t read the sequel. It came out in May people! I need to get on this ASAP.

#4: Return to the Dark House
by Laurie Faria Stolarz

Return to the Dark House

Another duology that really needs finishing but this one is a lot more dire. Laurie is one of my favorite authors and I loved the first installment of this duology even though I’m not a fan of horror. And this second book came out last year and yet I still have not read it! Part of it is because I’m terrified of what will happen but I will be brave!

#3: The Naturals
by Jennifer Lynn Barnes

The Naturals Cover

I’ve talked about how much of a fan I am of contemporary thrillers and after reading The Fixer books, I want to check out more of her books in this genre. I also saw on Twitter that both series have a bit of a connection somewhere and I’m dying to know what it is!

#2: Sea of Shadows
by Kelley Armstrong

Sea of Shadows Cover

I’ve always said that Kelley Armstrong is one of my favorite authors and yet I’ve only ever read two of her YA series which were companions. And I’ve been meaning to read more of her books for the longest time because she has a crap load of them you guys. So this year I really want to start this YA trilogy which is complete and I really hope I enjoy it.

#1: Shiver
by Maggie Stiefvater

Shiver Cover

I’ve been reading books by Maggie Stiefvater since June and I’ve completely fallen in love with her writing style again. This is the first series that I ever read, I own the first two books but I really want to re-read and and finish this series. I’ve heard so many mixed reviews but I remember completely loving the writing and the story. So I hope to read this soon!

So that’s it for this post! What are some books you want to read before this year ends? I feel like this list could be endless but these are some of my top priorities. Let me know what  you think of my choices. Thanks so much for reading and I’ll see you on my next post!

Send off

12 thoughts on “T5W Aug. 24th – Books You Want to Read Before the End of the Year

  1. HAHA, I’m in the same boat with you about the Rose and the Dagger. I can’t believe I haven’t read it. I have NO explanation as to why it’s still just chilling on my shelf. 😄 Maybe we can do a buddy read? 🙂
    I wasn’t a huge fan of the Shiver series, but I did really enjoyed the characters and the writing. I haven’t read Sinner yet, though, since I thought Forever was a great ending to the series?

    ~ Aimal @ Bookshelves & Paperbacks

    Liked by 1 person

    • OMG THAT WOULD BE AWESOME *cough* excuse my excitement. I’m planning on reading it next month so if that’s cool with you, we can totally buddy read it!
      I haven’t read Forever or Sinner but the latter is more like a companion to it than the ending because it’s about the main side characters that popped up in the series. I forget their names though…

      Like

  2. I have become such a fan of Kelley Armstrong all because of the Sea of Shadows. Check out me Map Legend to see me review if ye like. I can’t wait to read what year thoughts on this triology are. Of course thanks for the reminder. I still need to read book three and it’s out already!
    x The Captain

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

