1 YEAR BLOGIVERSARY! – Favorite Posts, What I’ve Learned and Q&A

1 Year Blogiversary

Hello everyone!

IT’S MY ONE YEAR BLOGIVERSARY!! Exactly one year ago today I shared my first post which was only a welcome post which I’m pretty sure no one has ever read haha. After that I shared some reviews for my recent reads and I haven’t stopped since.

I honestly can’t believe that I’ve managed to stick with this for an entire year. I have the tendency to become obsessed with something, do it for awhile and then get obsessed with something else and do that. But finding blogging has been a blessing in many ways. I truly feel like I’ve found a passion and something that helped me find my career path which I’ve always struggled to articulate. Books have become my whole life and I am so glad to be able to share my passion with you guys.

I’m so blessed and thankful to have met so many different people who love books just as much as I do! I now have friends all over the world who understand me and like to hear what I have to say. So thank you friends and followers! Thank you for liking my posts, thank you for commenting on them, thank you for interacting with me on social media but most of all, thank you for making this place the welcoming environment that it is! Freadom Library would not be turning one today if it wasn’t for you.

Unfortunately, I don’t have the funds to host a giveaway, though I hope I’ll be able to at some point, but I didn’t want this occasion to go by without a celebration (like what happened at my 6 month mark). And so I decided to share some of my favorite posts, what I’ve learned in this crazy blogging year and I’ll be answering some of the questions that I received in my announcement post a few days ago.

SO let’s get started!

Favorite Posts So Far

This is one of the things I’ve ever done because I don’t really notice when I do something particularly well. So picking my favorite posts is more about the ones that I loved to share the most, the ones that I enjoyed writing or the ones that were plain fun. I wanted to feature at least one from each of the features that I share but maybe not all of them. Let’s just see how they go!

Favorite Reviews:

ARC – These Shallow Graves by Jennifer Donnelly

I’m pretty sure most people haven’t seen this review because it was only the third ARC review that I ever posted on my blog. I love this book to complete pieces and it was one of the first 5 star books that I ever reviewed for publication. I’d love it if you guys checked out this book. It’s a historical fiction novel about a girl trying to solve what she believes is her father’s murder.

Book – Love On the Ledge by Zoraida Cordova

This was a pretty hard choice because I have written a shit ton of reviews of books that I’ve read since I started this blog. I could’ve easily picked any of the Study reviews, or any Victoria/V.E. Schwab review or even one that’s so old no one has even seen it like Rook by Sharon Cameron. But I chose this book because it means a lot to me. This is the first book where I connected to a contemporary character to the depths of my soul. This is the book I recommend when I talk about Latinx characters and families that are amazingly represented. This is the book that gave me my first book boyfriend. And I couldn’t not mention it today.

Series – Sekret Duology by Lindsay Smith

I haven’t shared as many series reviews as I’ve wanted to, though a lot are coming your way, but this is one of my favorites that I’ve done. I feel like this series is totally underrated and under read. It’s about a girl in Russia during the Cold War who gets taken in by KGB because of her paranormal abilities. It’s action packed, entertaining, intriguing and full of twists and turns. And it’s only two books so it’s super easy if you want to binge and fly through it. I definitely recommend it.

Favorite Features (yes I totally skipped Memes because I can):

Freadom Speaks – Reading Published Fanfiction: The Good, The Bad and The Ugly

This may seem like an unusual choice. Honestly, I think so too. But I have such a hard time coming up with discussions posts, something I talk about all the time and this is the only one where I felt confident in what I was talking about and I knew that it was something original and interesting. I’m still looking to read more published fanfictions, I constantly add more to my TBR everyday and maybe this can be my little corner of creativity in blogging.

Sara 101 – My Journey to University

Yeah I skipped a bunch of other features but these two are the most writing intensive. This is my favorite post from this feature because this is the most personal I’ve ever gotten here. I don’t regret it because it’s something that I really needed to share. If you could check it out again, I’d appreciate it. I’m still hopeful and passionate about what I talked about there and I hope to be able to accomplish what I’ve set out to do.

What I’ve Learned

I was going to share tips and tricks that I’ve learned this blogging year but honestly, the biggest things I’ve learned while blogging have to do with myself. I’ve learned that I have a slightly obsessive need for organization since I schedule all my posts in advance, I know everything I’m going to post next month and I have my 2017 monthly TBRs all picked out. I’ve learned that I get easily discouraged when I don’t see the results of my hard work like I want and that I get easily jealous of other bloggers who seem to have more success than me. I’ve learned that I love to take the time to comment on other people’s posts even if its 12 am and I’m exhausted. I’ve learned that the friends I need will come when I least expect them and that it doesn’t matter if they are thousands of miles away, I can still count on them. I’ve learned that no matter how small I think my little blogging universe is I can still get noticed by people who can make that universe a little bigger. I’ve learned that I need to be confident in myself and to know that what I share is important and valuable. But most of all, I’ve learned that the decision to create a blog was one of the best ones I’ve ever made.

Q&A

Thanks to everyone who asked me questions! I was really nervous that I wasn’t going to get any at all and that it would be a total fail but you guys came through! And you gave me some super hard questions! I’m trying not to make this post much more longer than it is so I might not do all the questions but I’m so appreciative of everyone who helped me!

What are your favorite pizza toppings?

Traditional Italian: plain old cheese and basil. American: Barbecue Chicken.

If I ever travel to your area of the world to visit you, where should we go?

Honestly it’s not a good idea to come to my country at the moment but if we were normal and not only the list of most dangerous countries in the world, I’d suggest Los Roques. I’ve never been but it’s one of our most famous and luxurious beaches and the beaches in general here rock so it must be good.

What’s your process of writing a review? Do you outline or just type everything on your mind in one go?

I talked about this in one of my Sara 101 posts on how I organize myself and my blog but every year I get a notebook where I write all my book reviews for the year. Every time I finish a book, I go to that notebook and create a small version of my review outline and jot down my immediate thoughts. When it’s time to share it on the blog, usually a month later, I use those thoughts to write the review and elaborate more on them.

Any advice for a new blogger?

Be confident in your opinions. No one else in the world experiences books the way that you do and that matters. If you want to share your thoughts, you should!

If you could only read and re-read one book for the rest of your life, what book would it be and why?

THIS IS THE HARDEST QUESTION EVER! I’m super torn between Vicious, Poison Study or Aristotle and Dante Discover the Secrets of the Universe. All of them mean so much to me and were the first to introduce me to some of my favorite authors. I think I’d pick Vicious though because V.E. Schwab is my number one and I’m pretty sure I could discover something new about that story every time I re-read it.

Favorite format to read in and why? (audiobook, kindle, paperback, etc.)

This is hard because I haven’t read anything besides a kindle book in a really long time but I think that I love to read from hardback books the most. I can’t explain why though haha.

What is the thing you are most scared of?

Failure. It scares the crap out of me to think that I’m not good at something or that even if I do my best, I’m not good enough anyway. It’s why I’m so organized and such a perfectionist about the things that I do.

Do you have unpopular opinions on books?

Honestly, I don’t tend to dislike a lot of hyped books. I’m a pretty easy to please reader and usually enjoy books that other people enjoy. But I refuse to read the Red Queen series out of principle because it holds too many similarities to my favorite books.

What Has Been The Most Pleasant Surprise About Blogging?

My biggest surprise has actually been that there are people that want to follow me and talk to me honestly haha. I never really thought that I would get anywhere with it,Β  I just wanted to share my thoughts and my booktube channel was pretty much a total failure, so it was a shock when I kept getting more and more followers.

Besides Blogging, do You Write? Do You Want To Write A Book Someday?

Surprisingly, no. I was a fanfiction writer for three years (that’s how long it took me to write the one fanfiction) and after that I realized that while I had a lot of good ideas, I liked it better when I could experienceΒ  them on the outside. I don’t have any desire to share stories, I don’t have characters talking in my head but I do hope to one day help the people that do get their stories published.

What Would Make Your Ideal Book? (Meaning Genre, Types of Characters, Favorite Tropes, Etc.)

You know, I have never thought of this. I think I would want either a Hispanic high fantasy with a Latinx protagonist who is the “chose one’s” assistant/sidekick but ends up saving the world herself by accident.OR a historical fiction novel set in set in California when it was still part of Mexico (don’t remember the year) in which a teenage girl somehow gets caught up in the war and ends up opposite her family on the Mexican side of the new border. Yes, I want more Latinx characters. Yes, high fantasy and historical fiction are my top 2 favorite genres.

What’s Your Favorite Type of Post on Your Blog?

I love my reviews. I really do. It was really hard to pick my favorites up there because I feel like I pour all my thoughts and feelings into every single one of them, even the ones of the books that I didn’t enjoy. It’s really sad to me that they’re not as popular because they’re the reason I started blogging.

How Are You Planning To Celebrate Your Blogiversary In Real Life?

I wish it could say it’s something super fancy but it’s not. I’m gonna go to work a little bit more dressed up and I hope I’ll be able to have an ice cream with my mom in the afternoon. Oh! And read. That’s pretty much it haha.

What Are Your Top Three Favorite Series/Books?

Okay so the series is (kind of) easy: The Chronicles of Ixia, Rick Riordan Greek Mythology Universe and Gallagher Girls. I didn’t count trilogies though! Books though… That’s really hard!! Aristotle and Dante the Secrets of the Universe, Vicious and These Shallow Graves. I only pick standalones cause I’m a cheater and I don’t care!

Which Author Would You Want To Have Dinner With?

VICTORIA SCHWAB! I mean really, is anyone surprised by this? I would love just to meet her honestly. Even if its only two seconds of her time at a future signing, I’d be happy.

What’s Your Spirit Animal?

This question has always confused me because people often call other people their spirit animals and that makes no sense to me whatsoever. So my spirit animal, an actual animal, would be the horse. That’s who I think would approach me if I was lucky enough to be Indigenous.

If You Could Only Listen To Three Albums For The Rest Of Your Life, What Would They Be?

WHY ALL THE HARD QUESTIONS?! Okay the first, Adele – 21. Classic. One of my favorites to sing and I’m in love with the majority of the songs. The second, Jojo – The High Road. She’s one of my favorite singers and artists of all time and I can’t wait for her new album!! And lastly, One Direction – Made in the A.M. If this is the last album they’ll ever put out, I need it in my life forever. HONORABLE MENTION CAUSE I NEED IT: Jonas Brothers – Lines, Vines and Trying Times. Their last album <3. They saved my life as an incredibly depressed middle-schooler and I can’t ever forget that.

So that’s it for this post! Thanks again to every who gave me questions!! I hope I answered yours and if there are any I skipped and you really wanted to know the answer, comment them below and I’ll give that to you! I’m so thankful and grateful to have had a year of blogging and here’s to many more years to come! Thanks so much for reading and I’ll see you on my next post.

Send off

32 thoughts on “1 YEAR BLOGIVERSARY! – Favorite Posts, What I’ve Learned and Q&A

  1. Congrats, Sara! This is such an amazing achievement! Apparently you and I started around the same time. (Mine 1-year is coming up in a few days 0.0!!!) But it really is so great having found the Blogosphere and all the wonderful people on it and being able to share interests with all of them. I’m happy you are in the Blogosphere and I look forward to your second year of blogging! I hope it’s better than the first! ^.^

    Liked by 1 person

  2. OMG girl!!!! Congratss!!! πŸŽ‰πŸŽ‰πŸŽ‰πŸŽ‰ This is hugee!!!!
    I’m so happy we found each others blog and now we are buddy reading HP! I know my experience of reading it’s much better as we talk and fangirl together XD
    Other things I want to say about this post:
    Loved what you said in ‘What I’ve Learned’ because I can see myself in many things you said though I still need to learn so much more.
    I must say that I’m really scared of failure too. It’s quite a pressure and I think this is the first time I express it out of my head. I don’t want my parent’s sacrifice to be wasted and I want to choose wisely but by myself and now that I have to choose a career it’s quite difficult.
    Happy one year again and I hope you stick around for much more!

    Liked by 1 person

    • Thank youuuu!
      I’m so happy you jumped into my Potter Challenge bandwagon. It would not have been the same reading it without youΒ°
      I’m glad you could connect with some of the things I mentioned. Life is about learning and every day there’s something new to discover about ourselves and our hobbies and loves.
      I totally understand not wanting to disappoint your parents but I think the best thing to do is to pick what makes you happy, because parents should be happy that you’re doing something that makes you happy.
      I will definitely stick around more and I can’t wait to see what’s in store!

      Liked by 1 person

  3. OMG you and me both. I’m semi-drafting my blogiversary post right now and a part of me is just like ??? The year has flown!

    I can relate with being scared of failure. That’s something that I struggle with on a pretty much daily basis, and tbh I’m quite bad at combatting it as well so sometimes I just end up not trying. It’s SO HARD to change it but heeey, baby steps.

    HAPPY BLOGIVERSARY AGAIN. Here’s to more fabulous years of blogging ahead – can’t wait to see what else is in store for you. ❀

    Liked by 1 person

    • Hasn’t it?! It seems like just yesterday I was trying to come up with cool features and get inspired by your Book Looks πŸ™‚
      Yeah! A little bit of progress at a time is better than nothing. But it’s a constant struggle to not just want to give up on everything, say fuck it and be a hermit haha
      THANK YOU! I can’t wait to see what’s in store either and I’m super excited to know that you’ll be around too πŸ˜€

      Like

  4. Ahhh, congrats! I haven’t been reading your blog for very long, but I already love it. ^_^ And isn’t it amazing how quickly time flies?! This October will be my sixth blogiversary… I can’t believe I’ve stuck with blogging that long, either…

    Liked by 1 person

  5. Congratulations Sara!! You’re a fantastic blogger who inspires me to keep going. When I saw you were from Venezuela I got so excited. I never would have thought that I would get to know other book lovers as myself from here and when I saw how passionate you were, it truly shocked me and made me more excited to join the community. I’m really happy I got to know you through this and I’ve learned a lot from how responsible and hard working you are.
    Thanks for answering my questions! I loved reading them. I used to think that of writing, that I preferred being on the other side of the book or as an editor/publisher, but as of lately I’ve been itching to write something. I don’t know if I’ll do it, but it’s interesting how blogging awoke that in me.
    Here’s for many more years of blogging! <3:D

    Liked by 1 person

    • AWWW! ESTHER! You’re gonna make me cry! That is so sweet! I’m so humbled that you feel like I made you feel welcomed in the community. That’s such a great honor and it makes me feel so awesome that I manage to portray that to people!
      Thanks for asking some! I hope you try it out if you feel like it’s something you need to do.
      Thank you! Here’s to more years for you too!

      Liked by 1 person

  6. HAPPY BLOGIVERSARY!!!
    Great post and I hope you had a good day, even if it wasn’t too fancy or anything. Ice cream is a nice treat as well after all. Oh, and could you take me along to your dinner with Victoria Schwab? Pretty please?

    Liked by 1 person

  7. I can’t believe you’ve been blogging for a year! That is a huge achievement and I am just genuinely happy for you. I’m also equally happy that blogging has allowed you to really discover more about yourself and that you decided to share your personal growth with us. I think it’s beautiful.

    Wishing you all the best! Congratulations!

    Like

  8. Thanks for sharing some of your favorite posts. I’ve definitely missed many of them. 😞

    Oh, you’re a huge Adele fan! πŸ™Œ Same here. I love every single album she has released. Took me a little white tonearm up to 25, but now I love it all.
    Keep writing your awesome reviews. They will never be the most popular types of posts, but they’re essential for any book blog, and as long as you’re happy and proud of them, that’s all that matters.

    Congratulations on making it for 1 year. πŸ˜ƒ
    You are now a blogger veteran!

    Liked by 1 person

    • I wanted to talk about them so I’m glad they’re at least a bit unknown. Maybe they’ll get some more viewing time haha
      She’s amazing! I’m still warming up to 25 and I didn’t really pay much attention to 19 but 21 is my all time favorite.
      Thanks πŸ™‚ I will continue to do so because they’re my favorite part and maybe someday they’ll get a bit more attention haha
      Thank you so much! I am honored to be deemed a veteran. Though I still feel like a super newb haha

      Like

Leave a Reply

