Potter Challenge: If We Were Voldemort

Potter Challenge If We Were Voldemort

Hello everyone!

I am here today to share another very special post!

My friend Aldii @ PerfectioninBooks and I have been buddy reading the Harry Potter series the last few months to accomplish my Potter Challenge this year. Last month, we read Harry Potter and the Half-Blood Prince, book six of the series. We are having so much fun buddy reading as well as sharing our thoughts with you guys and we definitely can’t believe that we’re almost done!

In this post, I’ll be sharing a mini review with my thoughts on the book and what objects I would use as Horcruxes if I ever think it’s a good idea.

SO let’s get started!

MINI REVIEW

Harry Potter and the Half-Blood Prince Cover

5 Stars

Critically

Plot – 5 out of 5 stars

Writing Style – 4 out of 5 stars

Characters – 4 out of 5 stars

Emotionally

I still can’t wrap y head around everything that happened in this book and it’s not even the end yet! The plot is dark. Harry is back at Hogwarts and things are supposed to be back to normal but sinister plans are brewing at Hogwarts. Worst summary ever to be honest but shit gets really dark you guys. Everyone knows Voldemort is actually back and people are disappearing left and right or dying or going to jail for things they didn’t do. It slowly but surely starts to affect the students at Hogwarts and everyone is choosing sides. My favorite part about this book was finally figuring out some things about Voldemort and to get some answers about his actions and why he became the way he did. Especially after all the instances where you think he’s finally dead and gone, but he just keeps kicking! It’s nice to finally have some answers even though it wasn’t the most pleasant of discoveries. Honestly, I just want him gone for good. Those last few chapters though completely broke my heart. I was totally devastated over what happened! I knew something bad was gonna happen, I knew things were going to collide in a way that would mean pain and heartache but I did not think that that was going to happen! It’s still insane to me. I haven’t wrapped my head around it completely. Harry has grown up. Like a lot. There’s such a huge contrast between the boy he started out as the man he is becoming now. He’s sad and vulnerable but as determined as always. I love him, I really do and I think he has the biggest heart and the best intentions considering how much pain he’s been through. But he started developing these obsessive tendencies that were annoying. I understand why he acted that way and he was completely right but god, it was just so annoying and frustrating. I just wanted to shake him! I feel really bad saying this but I don’t know what Ron is for. I feel like I don’t know him enough and it’s been six books! He just feels like such a shallow character. I like him; I just don’t feel like I understand who he is or his motivations. Hermoine is my boo but she got a bit annoying for me as well. However, she’s so powerful and smart. Those boys would be lost without her, I promise you. I don’t usually mention this character but I have to say that I felt really bad for Draco in this book. He’s always been a huge pain in the ass and an arrogant little shit head but he’s placed in such a horrible position. He has such high expectations placed on his shoulders and he’s trying so hard to be brave but he’s not ready at all. It broke my heart a little bit. But he’s still an ass.

HORCRUXES: WHAT IT IS AND POSSIBLE OBJECTS I’D USE TO CREATE ONE

Of the Horcrux, wickedest of magical inventions, we shall not speak nor give direction —

Magick Moste Evile

A Horcrux is a powerful object in which a Dark wizard or witch has hidden a fragment of his or her soul for the purpose of attaining immortality. Creating one Horcrux gave one the ability to anchor one’s own soul to earth if the body was destroyed. The more Horcruxes one created, the closer one was to true immortality. Creating multiple Horcruxes was suggested to be costly to the creator, by both diminishing their humanity and even physically disfiguring them.

A Horcrux is created by killing a person. That way the soul breaks into pieces and you can contain in different parts and essentially if someone tries to kill your physical body, you can still be alive because your soul is incompletely dead.

While totally creepy and horrific, it’s still an interesting idea. And Aldii and I thought it’d be a cool idea to talk about what objects we would use to create Horcruxes.

*No people were killed in the making of this post.*

I think I’d only create three because one is too risky and seven is just overkill *hee hee* but three is kind of a sacred number.

The first has to be a book obviously. At first I didn’t know which book I’d pick but I think that I would choose either my original Twilight copy or my Hunger Games hardcover. These are the two books that started my love for the Young Adult genre and which have shaped my life and blogging passion since then.

The second would have to be my iPod touch. That device goes with me everywhere (within reason because I live in one of the most dangerous countries in the world) and its where I read the most! So it always has a lot of bookish sentimental value for me.

This last one is actually the toughest one for me to choose I think but it would be my cat. I still don’t know if something like this is possible *don’t spoil me please* but she is my world. That is my baby, my old, crippled little baby who I love and wish to protect from everything in the world. If I could be connected to her in an even bigger way and be able to understand her mentally, that’d be pretty cool.

So that’s it for this post! I know this is thinking that is definitely creepy, but I’d love to know your thoughts on this topic! If you had the kind of mindset that Voldemort has, what kind of Horcruxes and how many would you create? I’m so excited to finish reading this series! Thanks so much for reading and I’ll see you on my next post.

Send off

3 thoughts on “Potter Challenge: If We Were Voldemort

  1. I like the idea of this post, Sara! I wouldn’t EVERRR have Horcruxes – ripping myself into a million pieces doesn’t sound nice – I mean, books do that to me already?? 😂
    But if I had three horcruxes, I think it’d be one of my favourite books (not sure which though), my pink alpaca plush, and maybe my pillow. (I love my pillow.) :’)

    Liked by 1 person

    • Thank you! We definitely wouldn’t either but it was interesting to imagine it for a minute haha I definitely agree, books have the power to tear us to pieces.
      Picking a book to place a part of your soul in is really hard, even though I think it’s something we do subconsciously at least with our favorites. I totally should’ve picked my pillow! I have a little one that I’ve had since I was a baby that would’ve been great

      Like

Leave a Reply

