Mid-Year Book Freak Out Tag

Mid-Year Book Freak Out Tag

Hello everyone!

Yep it’s time for another tag. My fellow bloggers Jesse @ Books at Dawn and Aimal @ Bookshelves & Paperbacks tagged me to do the Mid-Year Book Freak Out tagged which was created by Chami from Read Like Wild Fire on YouTube and her co-blogger in 2014. Here’s her 2015 video.

This tag is set up to share during the middle of the year but technically July isn’t that far gone so it still counts!

SO let’s get started!

Best Book You’ve Read So Far in 2016

A Gathering of Shadows Cover

I read  this book back in February and yet it’s still the best one I’ve read this year. It doesn’t mean that I haven’t read five star books since then but there’s not a day that goes by that I don’t think about this book, the ending of this book or the sequel to this book. I need it in my life and I am almost tempted to re-read this series again.

Best sequel you’ve read so far in 2016

Ghostly Echoes Cover

Honestly AGOS could also be here but I just wanted to talk about this book some more! This is the third book in the Jackaby series which is one that I’ve become obsessed with this year. It’s like a paranormal Sherlock Holmes following the style of the show Elementary, meaning the Watson type character is a woman. There are so many different facets to this series and each book just gets better and better.

New Release You Haven’t Read Yet but Want to

The Rose and the Dagger Cover

I talked about this in my T5W of this week but I still haven’t read this book. I don’t know why. Part of it I think is because this series is so hyped that I like to wait for the hype of the new release to die down before diving in but it’s been way too long with this book. And considering how many unfinished series I have, reading this one book could help me out with that. I’m probably going to try and read it next month.

Most anticipated release for the second half of the year

Blood For Blood Cover

I thought about sharing a lot more of my most anticipated reads but I do giant posts for that so I decided to pick only one book. I am so excited for this sequel! Reg and I talked about buddy reading it because we both loved Wolf by Wolf so not only am I excited about its release but reading it with one of my favorite people!

Biggest Disappointment

The Loose Ends List Cover

I didn’t really have a lot of disappointments this year but this is the biggest one. I was really looking forward to reading this book. The plot sounded interesting and the cover is beautiful but the book left a lot to be desired. I didn’t like it at all because the writing style was jarring, the characters were bland and it was just a let down overall.

Biggest Surprise

Ruined Cover

I wasn’t originally even going to be reading this book. I wasn’t interested even though it was fantasy and yet it was recommended by one of my favorite booktubers so I had to give it a shot. I was so pleasantly surprised! The plot was exciting and entertaining, the characters felt real and distinct and I really love the way the story developed. I can’t wait to see what the rest of the series has in store.

Favorite New Author

William Ritter

I’ve already talked about my love for this series, so it’s not a surprise that I picked William Ritter as one of my new favorite authors. His writing is hilarious and entertaining. I am such a fan of his series and though it’s not over, I’m really interested to see what kind of things he’ll come up with next.

Favorite New Crush

Love on the Ledge Cover

I only have one real crush and one real book boyfriend and that is Hayden from this book. I love him more than the whole world. Honestly, if he was real, I’d be on him like white on rice. He’s perfect but yet he’s fictional! *crying my eyes out*

Favorite New Characters

The Raven Boys Cover

This year this series became one of my favorite ones of all time and that’s all because of the characters. Each one is so complex and unique and endearing in their own way. They all managed to worm their way into my heart, even the ones that seemed  to appear only to disappear again. They all had a role to play and I MISS THEM SO MUCH ALREADY! *sobbing now*

Book that Made You Cry

Surprisingly, I have not cried over a book this year. That’s incredibly weird for me considering I cry at the drop of a hat. But well, I still have six months left, we’ll see how it goes!

book that made you happy

Etiquette and Espionage Cover

Honestly, it was such a joy to read this book. Last year I read the entire Parasol Protectorate series and I loved it. It’s such an amazing experience to go back into that world! There are new characters, and we’re in a new place but we get so many connections between both series and there are backstories from characters  that are in both series and IT’S JUST SO GOOD!

Favorite Book to Movie Adaptation I Saw This Year

Harry Potter Series

I haven’t watched any new movie adaptations this year but Aldii and I have watched almost all the Harry Potter movies after reading the books to go along with the Potter Challenge I created. It’s been really awesome to see the movies in a new light now that I have the original books fresh in my mind. I can’t wait to finish the last book and watch the last two movies!

Favorite Post You’ve Written This Year

Freadom Speaks about Original Content

I’m sure you can tell by the header that this is an old post but it’s one of my favorites. I’m not good at discussion posts, I’ve said it before and I’ll probably say it again. It’s always been a struggle to come up with things to talk about but not with this. It’s also a struggle for me to come up with original and creative content to share on my blog to set me apart from everyone else and this is a post where I just rant and complain and just express all my feelings on that topic.

Most Beautiful Book You’ve Bought So Far this Year

A Thousand Pieces of You Cover   Ten Thousand Skies Above You Cover

I will never get over how beautiful these series is. The third book is also completely gorgeous and I can’t wait to read it. These were two separate buddy reads that I was a part of this year and they’re so entertaining and fun and intense! I’m so glad that I gave them a chance.

What book do you need to read before the end of the year?

Shiver Cover

I wrote a whole post about this question thanks to T5W this weeks so I’ll link it here. But I thought I would share my number one choice anyway! I’m on a mission to read all of Maggie Stiefvater’s books and I’m starting with this series because I need to re-read and finally finish it!

So that’s it for this post! I was going to tag some people but I’m pretty sure everyone has done it. If you haven’t and would like to, please feel free to say that I tagged you! Either way, comment down below and tell me what some of your answers would be for this tag. Thanks so much for reading and I’ll see you on my next post!

Send off

13 thoughts on “Mid-Year Book Freak Out Tag

  1. This was so fun to read. I haven’t read that book by Zoraida Cordova, but she has a new one coming out next week that I got to read through Netgalley that I enjoyed immensely (Labyrinth Lost). It was really good!!

    Also, I have heard so much about The Raven Boys. I must get to that this year! Thanks for sharing!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Yessssss love the Raven Cycle! And I need to read V.E. Schwab’s books, I don’t know why I keep procrastinating on those… or on any other books… perhaps because I’m so tired out from school already? I already miss all that free time I had this summer and now I’m wishing I had spent more of it reading! :O

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Ohh, I hope you’ll enjoy The Rose & the Dagger once you’ll eventually get to it (:
    For me, it wasn’t as good as the first book (which I loved), but was a very enjoyable conclusion. I flew through it in no time.

    Ruined was one of my most anticipated books of 2016.
    But for some reason I still haven’t read it yet. I really want to, but I’m also scared I won’t like it (I had some bad expiriences with books I really wanted to read that didn’t turn out to be very good lately).
    I hope I’ll manage to get to it before the end of the year, though (:

    I hope you’ll love Shiver just as much as you loved The Raven Boys! (:

    Great tag! I also did it a few months ago and it was so much fun to do 😀

    My blog: http://magiverse.blogspot.co.il/

    Liked by 1 person

    • I hope so too! I’m a little scared that it won’t be as good as the first book or that I won’t like the way the story goes but I’m willing to give it a fair chance either way.
      You should try it! Though maybe give it a few more weeks, or after reading good books so you have a more hopeful attitude towards it cause believe it or not, that affects our reading too
      Thank you! So do I 🙂

      Like

Leave a Reply

