T5W Aug. 31st – Books You’ll Never Read

T5W Aug 31

Hello everyone!

Time for another Top 5 Wednesday. Top 5 Wednesday was created by Lainey from gingerreadslainey and is now hosted by Sam from Thoughts on Tomes and if you would like to join, here is the link for the Goodreads group with all the information.

This week’s topic is Books You’ll Never Read and to be honest, this list is always quite small. It takes a lot for me to write off a book completely. Even if I’m not enjoying a series, I tend to finish them. If an author I don’t really enjoy has another book, I just don’t add them to my TBR. So there’s very few books that are on my black list. And these are the same ones I shared the first time this topic was on Top 5 Wednesday.

SO let’s get started!

#5: Lolita
by Vladimir Nabokov

Lolita Cover

I know this is a classic and I know that a lot of people have had this book as required reading in college and if I ever encounter that hurdle, I will just have to jump it. But I cannot deal with the subject matter in this book. It’s about pedophilia and I cannot stomach it, whether in this book or any other because it’s something that makes me incredibly uncomfortable.

#4: No One Else Can Have You
by Kathleen Hale

No One Else Can Have You Cover

I usually try to separate a creator from their work and not judge a book by the author but in this instance, it’s impossible. If you were not around in the book community in May of last year, you might not have heard the story of this author who stalked a blogger/reviewer who worked under an alias after giving her a book a negative review and the author wrote a blog post about her experience calling it “getting catfished”. Needless to say, stalking is never okay, no matter the reason and I’m not the type of person who will condone that kind of behavior.

#3: Forbidden
by Tabitha Suzuma

Forbidden Cover

This book has a lot of praise and I’m sure that it’s well deserved. I’ve heard people mention the writing is beautiful and intense and that the story is impactful and emotional. But just like with Lolita, I just can’t bring myself to read this because of the subject matter. This book deals with incest and while a few people have mentioned that it doesn’t seem that way while you read, I will be extremely conscious of it and it makes me uncomfortable.

#2: After
by Anna Todd

After Cover

This is a “reworked” One Direction fanfiction first shared on Wattpad and the reason why I’m never touching this book, not even with a ten foot pole is because it makes me incredibly angry that this is the kind of content that is translated and brought to my country which has barely any YA or NA books available instead of something with a little more worth like Aristotle and Dante Discover the Secrets of the Universe or even Percy Jackson!

#1: Fifty Shades of Grey
by E.L. James

Fifty Shades of Grey Cover

I’m pretty sure most of you know that this was originally a Twilight fanfiction and while I’m generally a avid supporter of fanfiction, this one is one of the worst examples of it in my opinion. I read the original story when it was still all about Edward and Bella and the book is just a name changer, only the name of the characters was adjusted. And there are a lot more fanfiction authors with a lot more vivid stories that deserve to be published over this book.

So that’s it for this post! What are some books that you have blacklisted completely? I usually give every book a chance and every author two chances, so this is how big my list is ever. Let me know what  you think of my choices. Thanks so much for reading and I’ll see you on my next post!

Send off

25 thoughts on “T5W Aug. 31st – Books You’ll Never Read

  1. I’ve actually hear about the whole Kathleen Hale controversy! I’ve forgotten most of the details now but I remember feeling very creeped out and disturbed, haha. I don’t think I’ll pick up that book as well.

    And I actually have read 50 Shades of Grey. Would not recommend, though I’ll say that it is pretty hilarious and wacky if you DON’T take it seriously. 😛

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I hadn’t heard of the Kathleen Hale controversy, I looked it up and I’m shocked! :O It’s horrible what she did, I’ll be staying away from her book as well.
    I do want to read Lolita because, even though the topic is horrifying, it’s not romanticizing it (from what I’ve heard). But it is a tough one to pick up, so I’m not even sure how soon I’ll read it. As for Fifty Shades… lord, I don’t know why I did it to myself but I read the trilogy and suffered. That one did romanticized abusive behavior, the writing wasn’t good, and it had so many cringey moments. I wanted to read them to be able to critize them as properly as possible, but I never even reviewed them because they weren’t worth it for me. I’m glad you are saving precious reading time avoiding them.

    Liked by 1 person

    • It was definitely incredibly shocking and appalling when it happened. It scared and pissed off a lot of people specially blogger’s and authors. It was a huge thing at the time.
      I understand that but I’m just not comfortable with that topic at all.
      I think a lot of people read them for that reason to be honest haha BDSM is a very close knit community and it’s a shame that there are people who make money off misrepresenting it. I’ve read other fanfictions that depict it the way it’s supposed to and it’s completely different; that’s why I didn’t even want to give 50 shades a try

      Liked by 1 person

  3. I saw Forbidden the other day at BAM! I was tempted to buy it for literally two seconds and then I put it back, I know I’ll read it eventually, I’ve heard that yes it might be super uncomfortable to read, and that it’s also super angsty and sad. And After is a book I haven’t even considered reading haha.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

