August ’16 Wrap Up

Wrap Up August Logo

Hello everyone!

I am here today to wrap up all the things I read, posted and accomplished in August. I am absolutely and completely blown away with how much I managed to accomplish this month. I’m still getting used to my new job and I didn’t think I’d read as much but I managed a whopping 14 books! That’s absolutely crazy to me. I hope that with this rhythm I’ll be able to accomplish my reading goal for the year!

*I just wanted to have a little annotation here. In the last four days of the month, I managed to finish 6 books. Yep, I’m a badass. Or a nutjob. Your pick!

SO let’s get started!

Personal Thoughts

I’ve never had this section before and to be honest, I didn’t think about adding until yesterday, the day before posting. But I’ve always been the kind of person to share my thoughts and feelings and I’ve had a lot of things bottled up lately and I thought why not!

There’s been a lot of discussion on diversity lately and while I don’t usually actively comment on those discussions on Twitter, I show my support through retweets and things like that. But for the first time, I made a thread talking about my feelings. I’ll talk about this in a big discussion post later because I really need to but it was sparked by being presented to the term white passing. That term encompasses everything I’ve felt about myself when in relation to diversity. And it was intense and emotional and hard to swallow but I’m overall glad that I finally have a word to describe how I feel and what happens to me.

If you guys have been around a while, then you know that I’m working on finding funding to start college and it’s been such a struggle. My time is running out and I’m not getting closer  to my goal and I’ve been feeling super discouraged about that lately. I’m trying to keep positive and to look for as many options as I can to accomplish my goals and dreams, but life is hard ya’ll. If you’d like more detail about my story, check out this post where I talk more in depth.

And lastly, I’ve been thinking super hard on getting my first tattoo. It’s something I’ve wanted since I was 16 but I am a huge scaredy cat when it comes to needles and I don’t want anything on my body for the rest of my life that isn’t meaningful. It’s not until this year at 22 that I’ve found that something, I know how I want it, where I want it but now the hard part comes in. When and how to do it and with who. I am terrified of getting it done badly or for it to look awful so I might hold off on it a little more haha.

Books I Read

Read Books August

  1. The Shadow Hour (The Girl at Midnight #2) by Melissa Grey – 4.5 Stars  I was really excited to read this book because the first in this series is one of my favorite debuts of all time. But I was a little disappointed. It felt a bit like a filler book. There’s a lot of character development with the entire cast. But the plot was a bit slower than the first book but the ending made up for it. I really can’t wait to see what the end of the series has in store!
  2. Nice Girls Endure by Chris Struyk-Bonn – 3.5 Stars  This is an ARC that I was supposed to read last month but I managed to finish it just in time for the review. I feel like I’m not this book’s intended audience and that showed in the beginning because I wasn’t really feeling it. But the way the story progressed pulled me into the main character’s life and I loved reading about her journey.
  3. Heist Society (Heist Society #1) by Ally Carter – 4 Stars  I am a huge fan of Ally Carter and I always say that she’s one of my favorite writers even though I’d only read one of her series, so I took it upon myself to read some more this month. I really liked this book though it wasn’t as good as her Gallagher Girls series. It’s fun, entertaining and a light read though I wish it would’ve had more development in the characters’ backgrounds and lives before the start of the book.
  4. Etiquette & Espionage (Finishing School #1) by Gail Carriger – 4 Stars  Another instance where I want to read more books from an author who I consider a favorite. This series is set years before the Parasol Protectorate series and it was so much fun! It was great to go back into this world and meet new characters but also to see some of my old favorites in their younger years! It’s so entertaining and intriguing though it’s not as good as the first series.
  5. The Summer That Melted Everything by Tiffany McDaniel – 3 Stars  This book shook my entire self. It took me a really long freaking time to read it, it hurt me emotionally and mentally to read it and it was a struggle to get through each chapter. It wasn’t the right time for me to read this book and I understand that, and it has nothing to do with the book itself. I hope to one day be in a better state of mind to read it because it’s absolutely beautiful.
  6. The Raven King (The Raven Cycle #4) by Maggie Stiefvater – 5 Stars  I can’t believe I finally finished this series! I’ve been reading this series since June and while I really enjoyed all the books, there was still something missing for me to be completely in love. THIS BOOK WAS THE MISSING PIECE! This is one of the best finales I’ve ever read. It kept up with the general atmosphere of the series but it wrapped up everything that I was worried about. Obviously some things were left hanging but I was satisfied anyway! I can’t wait to read more of Maggie Stiefvater’s books!
  7. Stalking Jack the Ripper (Untitled #1) by Kerri Maniscalo – 3 Stars  I was so disappointed by this book. I was really looking forward to this release and I got so excited because this was my first ever Edelweiss ARC but oh goodness I was not a fan. Maybe it’s because one of my favorite books is also a historical fiction murder mystery thriller but this whole book fell flat for me. The characters were all over the place, the plot was predictable and sometimes even boring and the writing style was too modern and jumpy for me. I hope the rest of the series improves.
  8. Uncommon Criminals (Heist Society #2) by Ally Carter – 4.5 Stars  This book is a lot better than the first one. It’s still fun and entertaining but there’s so many more twists and turns in this book. The characters grow so much not only between the first two books and because of everything that happens in this book. I can’t wait to see what the (possible) last book has in store.
  9. Sea Spell (Waterfire Saga #4) by Jennifer Donnelly – 4.5 Stars  I am so happy I finally finished this series! I’ve been reading it since June of last year. To be honest, this isn’t the greatest of Jennifer’s books that I’ve read (that honor goes to These Shallow Graves) but these books are just super fun and entertaining and puny and focus on mermaid mythology. It’s on the younger side of YA and even though they have their darker moments, it’s really a story about character development and friendships. I’m thinking there might be a companion series which I’d love to read.
  10. Harry Potter and the Deathly Hallows (Harry Potter #7) by J.K. Rowling – 5 Stars  I honestly can’t believe I finished this series. I never really imagined that I would accomplish this since I was always so afraid of these last few books because of their giant size. But I’m so happy that I did do it and that I got to share this experience with Aldii! I was absolutely entranced with the plot of this book and it was so intense the entire time! Those last few chapters simultaneously broke my heart and made me scream in joy! I’m still blown away by this series and I am so ecstatic to say that I am officially a Harry Potter lover!
  11. Curtsies & Conspiracies (Finishing School #2) by Gail Carriger – 4.5 Stars  This series is so much fun! While the plot of this book in particular is slow in some points, but it was so much more exciting than the first! As the title suggests, this book is full of conspiracies and action and mystery. The writing style is hilarious while still keeping the historical fiction aspect of it. I’m such a fan of this author and of this world and I can’t wait to continue! There’s a bit more romance in this one and I just want to know what happens!!
  12. The Debt by Karina Halle – 3.5 Stars  I won a giveaway with Estefani @ Fiction Jungle on the author’s Instagram and we buddy read this together the last few days of the month. I read it in two sittings, on purpose but I also could’ve easily finished it in one. This is the first book that I’ve ever read by this author and I liked it. I have a few problems with it but there are also some really great things about it that I really appreciated. And now I want to read all the books that have leading men with the last name McGregor, which I’m considering a series.
  13. Perfect Scoundrels (Heist Society #3) by Ally Carter – 5 Stars  This was the perfect ending! Honestly, this series was super fun but it wasn’t as good as Gallagher Girls until this book! It had everything I wanted in the first ones. More character development, more of the background on the main character’s family and more crazy situations and impossible odds. These books are so entertaining and  always keep you on the edge of your seat. And I can now officially call Ally Carter one of my favorite authors.
  14. Tiny Pretty Things (Tiny Pretty Things #1) by Sona Charaipotra and Dhonielle Clayton – 3.5 Stars  This was the book for my Mom Book Club that I do every month with Abby and Gervan. To be honest, I didn’t know what to expect. I knew it was about ballet and that it had some mentions of mental health. This book ended up being a lot darker than I thought. It depicts every reason I’ve ever given for why I never wanted to take my ballet dancing seriously enough for it to be a career. It’s gritty, and honest and unashamed but there were still some things that didn’t convince me.
  15. The Lost and the Found by Cat Clarke – This is an ARC from NetGalley whose review I have to have ready by next Monday and that I was totally planning on finishing yesterday. But after cramming six books in four days, I was exhausted and quite honestly, I need to be able to focus on this book completely not rush through it. So I’m probably finishing it as we speak and it will be the first book I talk about in my wrap up post for September.

Posts I Shared

Reviews

Tags And Awards

Memes

Top 5 Wednesday

Waiting on Wednesday

Book Traveling Thursdays

Throwback Thursday

Features

Challenges Update

  • Goodreads Reading Challenge – 93/120 Books (78%)

I have 27 books left to read to complete my goal. I average about ten books per month if I set my mind to it and I have four months left in the year. So I’m pretty confident that I will be able to pull this one off. *knocks on wood just in case*

  • Read It While It’s Hot Challenge – 29/12 Books

I’ve read more than twice my goal! But at the same time, it’s only 29 books out of 239 that I have on my 2016. So it’s good that I’ve surpassed my goal but I want to keep it going as much as I can!

  • Potter Challenge – 7/7 Books

That’s right people! This challenge is completed! It’s been such a crazy journey, and I am so happy that I have finally read one of the greatest and most popular series of all time! NOW I CAN LOOK AT ALL THE ART AND NOT BE SPOILED! This is awesomeee.

  • 2016 Debut Author Challenge – 7/x Books

My calculations were a little wrong in this challenge so I have a little more books than I thought. But I’m not doing as well as I thought I would. It’s hard because the list of debut authors isn’t that big and I’m not interested in all the books. But I’m doing my best!

  • Finishing the Series Challenge – 12/5 Series

I AM KICKING ASS! Honestly, I’m so proud of myself for finishing all the series everywhere. I finished 4 series out of those 12 this month and I’ve set up myself to finish up more next month which you will see tomorrow!

So that’s it for this post! Let me know what you think of my Personal Thoughts section up above. How was your reading this month? Let me know in the comments! Thanks so much for reading and I’ll see you on my next post!

Send off

9 thoughts on “August ’16 Wrap Up

Leave a Reply

