September ’16 TBR – Thriller Theme

TBR September Logo

Hello everyone!

You might be thinking to yourselves, “Hey Sara, isn’t this theme pretty similar to the one from last month?” And to that I will say, HELL YES! And I have no regrets about it. I’ve been wanting to binge contemporary thrillers for the longest time now and I just want to keep going and going to be honest. I loved the books I read last month and these are a little different. More scary thriller than espionage thriller but thrillers all the same. I’M SO EXCITED!

SO let’s get started!

First Order of Business:
Glitter and Ice Crypt
by Aprilynne Pike and Tiana Warner

Glitter Cover  Pageflex Persona [document: PRS0000037_00039]

Two ARCs again this month though the only one I’m reading before publication is Glitter. I’m really excited about that one too! It’s supposed to be sort of like a French Revolution historical fiction with a drug like substance called Glitter, so the girl on the cover is supposed to be Marie Antoinette I think. And Ice Crypt is the long awaited sequel to one of my favorite books, Ice Massacre. It’s a very graphic and violent mermaid mythology book which totally blew me away after I read it as a free ebook. OH! And it’s LGBTQ+. Can’t wait to see what happens!

Goodreads Goodreads

TBR Jar Pick:
Shadow and Bone (The Grisha #1)
by Leigh Bardugo

Shadow and Bone Cover

I haven’t had the best of luck with reading the books I pick from my TBR jar these last few months, mostly because I’m trying to finish as many series as I can and this negates that effort. But I have been really interested in this series for awhile, I’ve heard a lot of great things and I’m much more interested in Six of Crows but I can’t bring myself to read that until I read this series. So let’s hope I can do it!

Goodreads

The Mom Book Club:
A Night Divided
by Jennifer A. Nielsen

A Night Divided Cover

I got to pick the book for this month’s read and I suggested A Night Divided because I’ve been super interested in it since I heard about it. It’s a historical fiction standalone and I’m actually pretty excited though I think it’s might be painful to read.

Goodreads

Read It While It’s Hot Challenge:
Labyrinth Lost and The Goal
by Zoraida Cordova and Elle Kennedy

Labyrinth Lost Cover  The Goal Cover

Neither of these go towards my Debut Author challenge which is part of why I have this section but I don’t really care. I really want to dive into Labyrinth Lost as soon as it comes out. I’ve read Zoraida’s New Adult series and really enjoyed it but I’ve never read any of her YA so I can’t wait to see what it’s all about! Here here for Latinx representation! And of course, there’s The Goal! The fourth book in the Off-Campus series, one of my favorite NA series of all time. I’ve been highly anticipating this release since the beginning of the year and it’s almost here! I can’t wait to read it!

Goodreads Goodreads

Continuing Series:
Frozen Tides, Waistcoats & Weaponry, The Rose and the Dagger, Cress and All Fall Down
by Morgan Rhodes, Gail Carriger, Renee Ahdieh, Marissa Meyer and Ally Carter

Frozen Tides Cover  Waistcoasts and Weaponry Cover  The Rose and the Dagger Cover

Cress Cover  All Fall Down Cover

 Yes that is a lot I know. I have issues I know it. I wanted to read Frozen Tides last month but I was surprised with some unexpected ARCs and I didn’t have enough time to read it. I read the first two books in the Finishing School series last month and I wanted to finish it then but I didn’t have enough time. So I decided to continue this month and the next so the series doesn’t get away from me. I’ve been putting off reading The Rose and the Dagger for awhile but I decided it was time to finally read it so I added it to this list. I’ve been planning on finishing the Lunar Chronicles starting this month for awhile. I read the first two books last December and since the series is complete I want to read it all this year. And lastly I really wanted to read All Fall Down last month but didn’t get a chance to so I’m adding here. Wish me luck. I’ll need it.

Goodreads Goodreads Goodreads Goodreads Goodreads

Pretty Little Liars #2, #3 and #4
Flawless, Perfect and Unbelievable
by Sara Shepard

Flawless Cover  Perfect Cover  Unbelievable Cover

Yes, this was my first choice for the month. I read the first book in this series in July of last year and to be honest, I was disappointed. Having seen the first few episodes of the TV show I think is a hindrance to this series but I am at some point going to read it all and finish it because that’s how I am. I only picked the next three books to give myself some reading wiggle room. I’m not sure if I’ll get to all of them so we’ll see.

Goodreads

Nikki Heat #1 and #2
Heat Wave and Naked Heat
by Richard Castle

Heat Wave Cover  Naked Heat Cover

I am huge super fan of the Castle tv show. And I’ve always been interested to see what the books that are promoted in the show are all about. This is the series that is inspired after the two main characters meet and I’m so excited to read it! A ghostwriter takes care of this series but the actor that plays Richard Castle does the promo I believe. It just sounds really cool.

Goodreads

Killing Sarai (In the Company of Killers #1)
by J.A. Redmerski

Killing Sarai Cover

I’ve heard countless great things about this thriller from Lainey @ gingerreadslainey on YouTube. She’s a huge fan of this series and all it’s installments. I’m interested in the series but I want to give this book a try. I’m hopeful but I don’t know if it will be kind of graphic. So let’s see what happens!

Goodreads

Dear Killer
by Katherine Ewell

Dear Killer Cover

The plot of this book is really interesting. A young girl hired to kill people by being given letters. The reviews aren’t the best but I’m gonna give it a try and see how it goes.

Goodreads

Trust Me #1 and #2
Trust Me, I’m Lying and Trust Me, I’m Trouble
by Mary Elizabeth Summer

Trust Me, I'm Lying Cover  Trust Me, I'm Trouble Cover

The titles of these books took me in and I just can’t not give them a chance. I’ve heard a lot of great things about the first book on Twitter by the author Dahlia Adler and I’ve been dying to read them every time she mentions it. Hopefully these are good!

Goodreads

The Naturals #1, #2 and #3
The Naturals, Killer Instinct and All In
by Jennifer Lynn Barnes

The Naturals Cover  Killer Instinct Cover  All In Cover

I’ve slowly but surely become a fan of Jennifer Lynn Barnes and the way she writes contemporary thrillers. I love her books The Fixer and the sequel The Long Game and there’s apparently a connection between that series and this one so I really want to dive into this and see if I can connect the dots.

Goodreads

So that’s it for this post! I’m falling in love with this genre a book at a time, they’re just so much fun and so intriguing. I can’t wait to see if I discover new favorites this month. Let me know if you’ve read any of these books and what you thought of them! Thanks so much for reading and I’ll see you on my next post!

Send off

13 thoughts on “September ’16 TBR – Thriller Theme

  1. OMG did I tell you I binged The Off-Campus series very recently? And I actually really liked it too (though the first book is my favourite). Can’t wait for The Goal – it seems to have a different premise altogether and it’ll be fun to see how Elle Kennedy writes Tuck, the most mysterious guy out of all four. 😛

    ALSO. Are we reading Yellow sometime soon?

    Liked by 1 person

    • NO YOU DIDN’T, HOW DARE YOU NOT INFORM ME? The third is my all time favorite because Dean is freaking hilarious and The Goal is going to make my day! I’m so excited for it to come out!
      Whenever you want 🙂 It is officially in my possession, well in my app haha

      Like

      • SORRY SORRY. I didn’t know you’ve read it until I saw Estefani mention The Goal and how you’d like it and I’m like SARA HAS READ IT, I HAVE TO TELL HER. But then I forgot. 😂

        But yeah. I looooved it. So funny and witty and addictive! Have you read Paper Princess yet? That book’s actually why I went to pick up The Off-Campus series.

        Liked by 1 person

      • I forgive you even though I was sort of basically the one that spread the series around the blogosphere (I’m pretty sure I did but let’s pretend it’s totally all because of me okay?)
        I haven’t yet! I really want to though! I’ve heard such great things but it makes me a bit weary since I haven’t read anything by the co-author before

        Like

      • It’s aaaall because of you. 😘

        I think the co-author isn’t an NA writer, so it’s not likely that we’ve read anything she’s written. I actually really liked it though – it is SUPER DRAMATIC and reminds me of Hana Yori Dango, if you’re familiar at all with manga/Asian dramas.

        Liked by 1 person

      • Just kidding, I do know the co-author. She’s also an NA author and I’ve read one of her sports romance books but it wasn’t as good as Elle’s series. It had too much insta love tbh. Which was sad.
        I am not familiar with manga whatsoever but I understand the word dramatic haha

        Like

  2. Ooh, great TBR!! I love thrillers so much. I’m with on The Grisha Trilogy/Six of Crows thing. I really want to read Six of Crows more, but I feel like I need to read The Grisha Trilogy first, haha. I used to be obsessed with the PLL books like way before the show came out, but then they just bought out way too many so I decided to stop reading them haha. I really want to read Labyrinth Lost, Trust Me I’m Lying, Dear Killer and The Naturals too.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Thanks! Thrillers are super fun.
      Yeah I thought about skipping the Grisha trilogy but I figured it’d be a good way to see how the author has improved in writing as well so hopefully I’ll get to it.
      I’ve only watched a little bit of the show but you’re right, it’s a lot of freaking books haha I kind of just want to read them to be able to say that I can

      Like

Leave a Reply

