T5W Sep. 14th – Books You’d Want to See as TV Shows

t5w-sep-14

Hello everyone!

Time for another Top 5 Wednesday. Top 5 Wednesday was created by Lainey from gingerreadslainey and is now hosted by Sam from Thoughts on Tomes and if you would like to join, here is the link for the Goodreads group with all the information.

This week’s topic is Top 5 Books You Want to See as TV Shows. I can’t seem to picture a single book as a TV show so I picked my top 5 series. Since the idea of a TV Show is for it to stretch across seasons, I picked a lot of series that I feel would have a lot of space to develop beyond what’s already written and that I would love to see come to life on the screen.

SO let’s get started!

#5: The Lunar Chronicles

Cinder Cover

This is one of my unfinished series. I’ve only read the first two books and some of the novellas but I definitely think it’d be an amazing tv show. The world is similar enough to our own to make it relatable but different enough to be interesting and it’s extremely vast as well. There’s a huge cast of characters which creates separate but connected plot lines and I’d love to see the visual creations they could do with this world.

#4: Rick Riordan’s Greek World

The Lightning Thief Cover  The Lost Hero Cover  The Hidden Oracle Cover

The Percy Jackson movies while I enjoyed them are actually a huge disappointment because I think this particular world is vast enough to make a tv show. And I picked  there series mostly because I’ve only read the Greek part of his huge universe and I’d love to see my favorite characters on screen. I actually think it’d be a good Disney or Nickelodeon show that shifts into like Freeform if that’s something that could exist so that way the characters can keep their real ages.

#3: Gallagher Girls

I'd Tell You I Love You But Then I'd Have To Kill You Cover

I absolutely love this series and I think it’d be really entertaining as a tv show. There are a lot of characters, main and side, so again there’s a lot of different plot lines that could be worked with. AND this is all about an all girls’ espionage school! ISN’T THAT AWESOME? I’d love to see that on tv, I’d be completely entertained.

#2: Parasol Protectorate World

Soulless Cover  Etiquette and Espionage Cover  Prudence Cover

This is one of the most entertaining and expansive worlds ever. I’ve only read the first series and the first two books in the second but it’d be really interesting to see both past, present and future story lines from this world combine into one tv show. It’d be a challenge but I think the end result could be amazing!

#1: The Raven Cycle

The Raven Boys Cover

This is probably super obvious but I would love to see the imagery from within this series brought to life to the tv screen. Everything is so intense and powerful and imaginative. And the characters are so beautiful and complex and intriguing. I would love to see what kind of actors would be asked to play such a group of intricate characters.

So that’s it for this post! I would love to know what kind of books you’d love to see as tv shows! Let me know what  you think of my choices and if you’ve ever imagined this books as shows too. Thanks so much for reading and I’ll see you on my next post!

Send off

39 thoughts on “T5W Sep. 14th – Books You’d Want to See as TV Shows

  1. Such great choices, Sara! Whenever I think about this topic The Raven Cycle is always my number one choice as well. I just want more from this series and if it were done well I think it could be spectacular! Please someone make it happen! I also agree on the Percy Jackson series, I think it has the potential to be such an engaging TV show. I don’t really understand why they thought a movie was the best option. I only read Cinder and I wasn’t a big fan, however, I can totally see how it would make a great show. Who knows, maybe I’ll pick up Scarlet at some point 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    • Honestly, I don’t think there will ever be enough from TRC, that entire series and the cast is just so amazing.
      I don’t know why that happened the way it did, most of that fandom consider the movies a joke. I enjoyed them but not as a representation of the series. It’d be so much better on tv!
      I can tell you that I liked Scarlet a lot more than Cinder, still didn’t blow me away but I enjoyed it much more 😊

      Like

  2. Ohh I love your list. Cinder was on my list as well. It’d be interesting to see how they adjust the book into a TV show. I have heard a lot of good things on The Raven Cycle and Parasol Protectorate World.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. I completely agree with you on so many of these! A serial TV show would be so much better for these longer series than a film (or series of films). I keep hoping that some day Harry Potter will be transformed into an animated series. I imagine each chapter is a single episode. EACH CHAPTER.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

