Throwback Thursday #4

throwback-thursday-4

Hello everyone!

This week’s Book Traveling Thursday is all about Fall but I don’t really have any particular likes or thoughts on this season. So I decided to share some more of my old read books.

Throwback Thursday is a weekly meme all over the world in which people share old photos of amazing moments in their lives. So I adjusted it to share a book that I’ve read more than 2 years ago and talk a little bit my thoughts on it.

SO let’s get started!

Today I want to talk about The Earth, My Butt and Other Big Round Things by Carolyn Mackler. I read this book in May of 2014 soon after getting my first iPod touch and finding the glory that is the Kindle App.

The Earth, My Butt and Other Big Round Things Cover

An overweight teen is sure that she’s the weakest link in her high-powered family – until her handsome, athletic, star-student brother has a shocking fall from grace.

Fifteen-year-old Virginia Shreves has a larger-than-average body and a plus-size inferiority complex. She lives on the Web, snarfs junk food, and follows the Fat Girl Code of Conduct.” Her stuttering best friend has just moved to Walla Walla (of all places). Her new companion, Froggy Welsh the Fourth (real name), has just succeeded in getting his hand up her shirt, and she lives in fear that he’ll look underneath. Then there are the other Shreves; Mom, the successful psychologist and exercise fiend; Dad, a top executive who ogles thin women on TV; and older siblings Ana’s and rugby god Byron, both of them slim and brilliant. Delete Virginia, and the Shreves would be a picture-perfect family. Or so she’s convinced. And then a shocking phone call changes everything.

With irreverent humor, insight, and surprising gravity, Carolyn Mackler creates an endearingly blunt heroine whose story will speak to every teen who struggles with family expectations – and serve as a welcome reminder that the most impressive achievement is to be true to yourself.

On paper, this is probably a book that wouldn’t appeal to me that much since the main character’s development is something I can’t really connect to. But I loved it! It was funny, entertaining, family oriented and had some great character development. And even after two years of having read it, I can still remember the awesome ending. If you like coming of age stories, I’d definitely recommend trying out this book! I need to read more books from this author.

So that’s it for this post! Let me know what you think of this quirky meme:). Let me know of a really old book that you enjoyed and haven’t talked about in awhile. Thanks so much for reading and I’ll see you on my next post!

Send off

7 thoughts on “Throwback Thursday #4

  1. I recently re-read a favorite from my childhood, Alanna: The First Adventure. It’s a middle grade fantasy novel featuring a strong female protagonist written in 1983. I LOVED re-reading it.
    I wonder if my reflections on books I loved in the past would be different than reflections upon re-reading?

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

