Throwback Thursday #5

throwback-thursday-5

Hello everyone!

I’ve been enjoying looking back down reading memory lane these last month or so I’m thinking of alternating between BTT and TBT for the foreseeable future. What do you guys think?

Throwback Thursday is a weekly meme all over the world in which people share old photos of amazing moments in their lives. So I adjusted it to share a book that I’ve read more than 2 years ago and talk a little bit my thoughts on it.

SO let’s get started!

Today I want to talk about Wake by Lisa McMann. I read this book for the second time in August of 2014. I first read it thanks to a friend’s recommendation back in middle school and I took advantage of my new Kindle app in 2014 to finish the series.

Wake Cover

For seventeen-year-old Janie, getting sucked into other people’s dreams is getting old. Especially the falling dreams, the naked-but-nobody-notices dreams, and the sex-crazed dreams. Janie’s seen enough fantasy booty to last her a lifetime.


She can’t tell anybody about what she does they’d never believe her, or worse, they’d think she’s a freak. So Janie lives on the fringe, cursed with an ability she doesn’t want and can’t control.


Then she falls into a gruesome nightmare, one that chills her to the bone. For the first time, Janie is more than a witness to someone else’s twisted psyche. She is a participant.

This book has one of the coolest and yet most unpleasant premises ever. Janie can slip into other people’s dreams, even when she doesn’t want to. Any kind of dreams pull her in, sweet dreams, sex dreams, nightmares. While that may not be the most pleasant, I loved the unexpected turn the books take and how the trilogy ends up developing as whole. One of my favorites.

So that’s it for this post! Let me know what you think of this quirky meme:). Let me know of a really old book that you enjoyed and haven’t talked about in awhile. Thanks so much for reading and I’ll see you on my next post!

Send off

Leave a Reply

