Potter Challenge: The End

potter-challenge-the-end

Hello everyone!

I am here today to share the last Potter Challenge post!

My friend Aldii @ PerfectioninBooks and I have buddy read the Harry Potter series the last few months to accomplish my Potter Challenge I set up this year. Last month, we read Harry Potter and the Deathly Hallows, book seven of the series. We had so much fun reading and chatting about our thoughts and it’s also been fun to set up these posts. We’re done and it’s super bittersweet. I’ll definitely miss doing these and immersing myself into this fandom.

In this post, I’ll be sharing a mini review with my thoughts on the book, my favorite Potter Challenge post, how I feel about my experience overall, some of my favorite quotes and my Patronus!

SO let’s get started!

MINI REVIEW

Harry Potter and the Deathly Hallows Cover

5 Stars

Critically

Plot – 5 out of 5 stars

Writing Style – 4 out of 5 stars

Characters – 4.5 out of 5 stars

Emotionally
I cannot believe I finally managed to finish this series! It was amazing! The plot was intense. Harry Potter has been left a task by Dumbledore to find and destroy the remaining Horcruxes to finally bring the end to Voldemort. Together with Ron and Hermoine, he journeys to various different places and unprepared for what’s in store. I honestly wasn’t sure about what to expect with this book besides the probable epic battle ending. This is the only book where I hadn’t watched the movies before reading and it definitely affected my reading experience. Everything felt brand new and it felt a lot more fresh to read it directly from the page without having the images from the movie plaguing my mind. My heart broke over all the deaths! I didn’t see a lot of them coming (yes, I avoided spoilers for that, I’m a master) and I almost burst into tears quite a few times honestly. There are so many different twists and turns in the plot, and the biggest of all being that Harry was also a Horcrux! Like once you think about it, that’s totally obvious. But it never even pops into your head as you read! One of my favorite parts about this book is when the golden trio salved Malfoy’s ass like a bagillion times. I think it was much needed, they finally showed him they were much better than him by taking the high road. And now he has to life with the fact that they saved his life forever. Sweet justice. And the way Voldemort finally met his demise was perfect! I loved Harry’s speech at the end and how he wasn’t really the one to kill him. I don’t think he could’ve lived with himself knowing he killed someone but I’m glad that it didn’t have to come to that. The epilogue was really sweet. I liked seeing them all grown up and now sending their own kids off to Hogwarts. However, the one thing I did not enjoy was the explanation for Snape’s actions. It’s not good enough for me and I don’t care what you say! If there’s one thing I can never condone is bullying, and if he really loved Lily as much as he supposedly did, he’d never treat her son that way, no matter what other part of his DNA is! It just felt like a flimsy excuse and I’m not a fan. Harry’s character development was extensive, intense and powerful. The boy he was when he started this journey is almost a completely different person to the man who ended it. I finally connected with Ron in this last book! Honestly, it took me a really long time and that’s not good. But I feel like I got to know his personality and his character in more than this book than I ever did in any of the other ones. Hermoine is and will always be an amazing character. She is definitely my favorite of the series. And I’ve never mentioned him before but I have to say that Neville kicked some serious ass! It was such a surprise because he’s the quietest in the cast, but he came into his own and shocked me completely. It was really sad to say goodbye to these character after such a fun ride.

FAVORITE POTTER CHALLENGE POST

This has been one of the most fun features that I’ve ever done. I don’t think I’ll ever be able to be as creative in the coming years as I feel like I was while coming up with topics to discuss and names of what to call these posts. And while it’s super hard to pick a favorite because I put a lot of work and thought into all of them along with Aldii, I have to pick:

Potter Challenge Getting Fly Like A Hyppogriff

Harry Potter and the Prisoner of Azkaban was always my favorite movie and the book became my favorite as well. And this post also became my favorite, I’m obviously super predictable. My favorite part of the book and the movie were getting to know and save Buckbeak. I fell completely in love with him and so it was super awesome to see all the different kinds of creatures in the world of Harry Potter.

And it was also kind of cool to speculate my possible animagus status to be honest haha.

MY HARRY POTTER READING EXPERIENCE

When I decided to start this challenge in 2016, I was honestly really nervous. It comes with the territory considering this is one of the most beloved series all over the world. Part of me was scared that how people had built it up and how I had built it up in my head would cause me to be disappointed. There’s so much love, so much merch, so much attention on this series still to this day, that’s it’s absolutely terrifying to think that you’ll be that odd person out after you read it. And I’m really glad that didn’t happen to me.

However, it wasn’t the most amazing experience I’ve ever had. I loved getting to share my thoughts with Aldii. I don’t think I would have had as much fun if I would’ve done this challenge alone so I’m eternally grateful that she jumped on board with me. But sometimes the books left me underwhelmed. Specially after watching the movies first and specially after reading the first two books, it just didn’t feel as amazing as everyone said it was. This is the kind of series that has to build. And that’s what my love for it did. It’s not until the later books where I really felt invested and enamored with the world and the characters.

I think part of that is my age. There’s no age restrictions on Harry Potter but I feel like this would’ve been a better experience had I been reading since they came out or a lot younger than now like in the middle school years. Because the first books give you a much younger feel than the rest of the books and that’s what they were a bit of a letdown for me.

I can’t say that I am a Potterhead because I think that wouldn’t be accurate, but I am a fan and I’m looking forward to learning more about this world.

FAVORITE QUOTES

“It is our choices, Harry, that show what we truly are, far more than our abilities.”
― J.K. Rowling, Harry Potter and the Chamber of Secrets

“I solemnly swear that I am up to no good.”
― J.K. Rowling, Harry Potter and the Prisoner of Azkaban

“To the well-organized mind, death is but the next great adventure.”
― J.K. Rowling, Harry Potter and the Sorcerer’s Stone

“Do not pity the dead, Harry. Pity the living, and, above all those who live without love.”
― J.K. Rowling, Harry Potter and the Deathly Hallows

“Just because you have the emotional range of a teaspoon doesn’t mean we all have.”
― J.K. Rowling, Harry Potter and the Order of the Phoenix

“You’re a prefect? Oh Ronnie! That’s everyone in the family!”
“What are Fred and I? Next door neighbors?”
― J.K. Rowling, Harry Potter and the Order of the Phoenix

MY PATRONUS

If you’ve been on twitter you might have heard that Pottermore officially released a Patronus test, which you can take to find out what your Patronus would be.

Aldii and I thought about sharing what we wanted our Patronus to be but we ended up picking our potential animagus instead. And I was really excited to take the test and see what kind of animal I would get.

Without further ado, my patronus is:

patronus

A dolphin! I was so happy when I saw this little mammal swimming around in my screen. Honestly, a part of me was really hoping for a kind of horse. But horses and dolphins are compared a lot because of their work with disabilities and things like that so it’s kind of close. Every time I take one of these quizzes, it just makes me feel more and more like an actual witch.

So that’s it for this post! I’m really sad to see these ones go but maybe I’ll come up with something else soon. Thanks to Aldii for all her support! Thanks to everyone who has read this and enjoyed them as much as I did. I hope you like this one as well. Let me know what your Patronus is in the comments! Thanks so much for reading and I’ll see you on my next post!

Send off

9 thoughts on “Potter Challenge: The End

  1. Such an awesome post! I absolutely adore the Harry Potter series and I have loved it for years! My patronus was a mastiff.. which I was really disappointed about because I really don’t like Mastiffs and I wish the test could be retaken.. but oh well!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

