October ’17 TBR – Horror Theme

tbr-october-logo

Hello everyone!

October is the month of Halloween so I’m pretty sure none of you are surprised with my choice of theme. I’ve done this quite a few times before, in 2014 my theme for October was creepy and in 2015 it was zombies, so I tend to pick scary themed books during this month. Even though I am the biggest scaredy cat to ever live and Halloween creeps me the fuck out and somehow I end up regretting my theme choices but not the books I read.

This year my friend Lauren @ Wonderless Reviews created a Halloween Read-A-Thon which will run from October 10th to October 31st, you can check out her announcement post here, and I decided to participate but I’ll be using this TBR to share the books I hope to read in the read-a-thon as well because they kind of inter lap. I’ll be adding a small addition to explain which books I’m reading for each challenge.

SO let’s get started!

First Order of Business:
Dead Girls Society and The Sun is Also a Star
by Michelle Krys and Nicola Yoon

Dead Girls Society Cover  The Sun Is Also A Star Cover

This is an ARC from NetGalley. I haven’t read any books by Michelle Krys, I know she’s written a witch series and I’m really interested in that but I haven’t had the time to read it. The synopsis for this book really intrigued me and I can’t wait to read it! Towards the end of the month, I got accepted for a NetGalley ARC of The Sun is Also a Star! I’m so freaking excited because I also got a NetGalley ARC for Everything, Everything and I really enjoyed it. I can’t wait to see what it’s all about.

Goodreads Goodreads

TBR Jar Pick:
The Girl of Fire and Thorns
by Rae Carson
(Trick or Treat: Trick – scary book you’ve been putting off or treat: free choice of any genre)

The Girl of Fire and Thorns Cover

This is the second time this book has been in this particular spot but I just really want to read it! I’ve been neglecting this section of my TBRs for awhile, mostly because I’ve had other books to focus on and I always end up not having enough time to read my TBR picks but I am picking this up first thing this month!

Goodreads

The Mom Book Club:
I Am Not A Serial Killer (John Cleaver #1)
by Dan Wells

i-am-not-a-serial-killer-cover

My friends and I didn’t have the best of luck last month with our reading together. We decided to just skip the month and start off with something else in October, I gave out some suggestions and this is what we picked. I’m quite happy about that since this was already on my TBR and I’m really interested to see how it is.

Goodreads

Read It While It’s Hot Challenge:
Fear the Drowning Deep and Gemina
by Sarah Glenn Marsh and Amie Kaufman and Jay Kristoff

fear-the-drowning-deep-cover  Gemina Cover

I’m really looking forward to reading these two books! The first is one I’m hoping to count for my debut author challenge which I didn’t even add anything for last month. It’s a historical fiction/paranormal and I’ve heard great things from blogger friends so I hope it’ll be good. And the second, OF COURSE, is the second book in the Illuminae files which I’m just dying for! The only bad thing is that this series doesn’t translate well in ebook format and I never end up loving it as much as I want to.

Goodreads Goodreads

Continuing Series:
Manners & Mutiny, Cress, Fairest, All Fall Down and Killer Instinct
by Gail Carriger, Marissa Meyer, Ally Carter and Jennifer Lynn Barnes

Manners and Mutiny Cover  Cress Cover  Fairest Cover All Fall Down Cover  Killer Instinct Cover

So I obviously overestimated my reading prowess last month and I didn’t learn anything from that this month either. I really want to get these series done before the end of the year. Manners & Mutiny is the last book in the Finishing School series and I’m really sad to let this series go because it’s been so much fun! I tried to read Cress last month but didn’t have the chance so I’m adding it here and keeping my plan to read Fairest as well which I hope to be able to finish. And yes, I want to read All Fall Down! I need to catch up on this series before it ends in December. The last book has been added a few days before this goes live because I just finished the first book of that series, The Naturals, and it was so freaking damn good that I couldn’t not continue the series. So yeah, that happened. READ THE NATURALS!

Goodreads Goodreads Goodreads Goodreads

Return to the Dark House (Dark House #2)
by Laurie Faria Stolarz
(Urban Legends: Read a horror or thriller book)

Return to the Dark House

This is the last book in the Dark House duology. I read the first one in 2014 on Halloween which was definitely not a good idea but I really enjoyed it! And I want to finish this but I’m scared! It’s gonna be super creepy and I might shit my pants but who knows.

Goodreads

Please Remain Calm (This is Not a Test #1.5)
by Courtney Summers
(Witching Hour: Read a book after sunset)

Please Remain Calm Cover

I tried to read this last year after reading the first book in my zombie themed October but I just didn’t have the time to finish it, yes even though it’s a novella. So I want to get it done this year so I can finish this series and see what happens after the ending of the first book!

Goodreads

The Bargaining
by Carly Anne West

the-bargaining-cover

I don’t really know what this book is about but I added to my TBR a long time ago. It’s about a girl who gets stuck restoring an old house in the woods and honestly that sounds creepy enough for me. I hope it’s good though I’ve never heard anyone talk about this book before.

Goodreads

The Fall
by Bethany Griffin
(Costume Party: Read a book with a creepy cover)

the-fall-cover

This is a retelling of Edgar Allan Poe’s The Fall of the House of Usher which I have not read but the ones from him that I have read are really freaking creepy and I’m pretty sure this will be no exception. Again, haven’t really heard anyone talk about this book.

Goodreads

Age of Legends #1, #2 and #3
Sea of Shadows, Empire of Night and Forest of Ruin
by Kelley Armstrong

Sea of Shadows Cover  empire-of-night-cover  Forest of Ruin Cover

 I’ve been wanting to read more books from Kelley Armstrong since she’s one of my favorite authors but I’ve only read one of her companion series. She writes a lot of adult but this is the other YA trilogy that she has and I said that this is one of the series I wanted to start last year on a T5W post, I can’t wait to read it!

Goodreads

Anna #1 and #2
Anna Dressed in Blood and Girl of Nightmares
by Kendare Blake
(Haunted House: Read a supernatural or paranormal book)

anna-dressed-in-blood-cover  girl-of-nightmares-cover

I tried to read this duology last year but I didn’t get around to it. However, I really want to read something from Kendare specially since her new book is getting so much buzz. I think this will be an interesting read and it’s only two books so I should be able to finish it.

Goodreads

Slasher Boys and Monster Girls
Edited by April Genevieve Tucholke

slasher-girls-and-monster-boys

This is a horror short story collection that came out last year and I’ve been wanting to read it for awhile. There are quite a few authors I know contributing as well as some that I’ve never read from before. I think it’s a very easy and quick way to find new authors without committing to full books and I hope I get a chance to read it. I might even read one by day or every two days and make my way through it that way.

Goodreads

A Drop of Night
by Stefan Backmann

A Drop of Night Cover

This standalone is more of a thriller book but I’ve been super interested in it since I heard about it. I’m a sucker for contemporary thrillers (as you all should know) and this one has a certain horror edge to it that goes along with this theme.

Goodreads

So that’s it for this post! I’m both extremely terrified and super excited to start off this month. It’s nice sometimes to branch out and read some genres that are out of my comfort zones. What kind of books are you reading this month? Thanks so much for reading and I’ll see you on my next post!

Send off

25 thoughts on “October ’17 TBR – Horror Theme

  1. I love your idea of using a book jar! I’ve always wanted to do that and need to! I picked Anna Dressed in Blood for the Costume Party category; I’m really excited about it and did not realize that there’s already a sequel out! Slasher Girls and Monster Boys looks really good; it’s definitely on my endless TBR list! Happy haunted reading and good luck! 😀

    Liked by 1 person

    • To be honest, I haven’t done very well with my TBR jar, mostly because my actual TBRs are really long so I never have time to read the book I actually pick out haha But it’s worked for a lot of people and I’d recommend you try it if you like the idea 🙂
      Yes it has a sequel and its a duology so it’s really easy to finish the series.
      I haven’t even started the readathon officially yet but thanks 🙂 good luck to you!

      Like

  2. There are so many great books on here! Personally I loved “Anna Dressed in Blood” and have yet to get to the sequel. “A Drop of Night” is also a pretty good book although it gets a little weird, definitely a great Halloween read though! I also have to say that “Slasher Girls & Monsters Boys” is probably my all time favorite horror read, there are so many great short stories that scared the crap out of me! I hope you enjoy all of the books on your TBR and I can’t wait to see your reviews! 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    • I’m hoping to be able to read both books and knock off that series from my TBR. I’m glad to know someone who read and enjoyed A Drop of Night since I haven’t seen many people talk about it. I am already regretting this theme because I’ve only started one book and it’s already scaring me to death, I hope I survive haha Thank you!

      Liked by 1 person

  3. So many cool choices here! Please Remain Calm was a nice follow-up, but given that it was from a different POV, I didn’t love it as much as the first book. It was still pretty good and perfect for this time of year though 😀 I’m also reading Anna Dressed in Blood!
    The Bargaining sounds perfectly creepy :O I can’t wait to see what you think of it.

    Liked by 1 person

  4. This is such an amazing TBR, Sara 😍😍 So many of these are on my TBR too. I’m so so excited for Gemina. I just added The Bargainer to my TBR because anything involving the woods and old houses is my aesthetic 😅 I really hope you love Return to the Dark House and the Anna duology! I’m so excited that you’re participating in the readathon too!! Thanks so much ♥♥

    Liked by 1 person

    • Thank you! Ill let you know what I think of the Bargaining but I’m pretty much terrified about this entire month tbh haha I’m so excited to be participating, it’s such a great idea and i hope you have a great turnout ❤️

      Like

  5. Yaaas please read The Girl of Fire and Thorns! I read that book AGES AGO and according to Goodreads, really loved it (haha). I remember loving it too, though I’ll be honest I don’t actually remember all that much about it. But I hope you like it. 😛

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

