T5W Oct. 5th – Books That Took You the Longest to Read

t5w-oct-5

Hello everyone!

Time for another Top 5 Wednesday. Top 5 Wednesday was created by Lainey from gingerreadslainey and is now hosted by Sam from Thoughts on Tomes and if you would like to join, here is the link for the Goodreads group with all the information.

This week’s topic is Books That Took You the Longest to Read. I’m a pretty fast reader in general. If I’m only reading one book the longest it can take me is usually two to three days. Because I read three books at a time most of the time, it usually takes me a week to read each one. But I’ve had books that have taken me longer and those are the ones that are either something that I’m not too interested in at the moment or books that I’m buddy reading. That’s pretty much what this whole list is made up of.

SO let’s get started!

#5: A Thousand Pieces of You
by Claudia Gray

A Thousand Pieces of You Cover

This book took me twenty days to read with the members of the Mom Book Club. I had such a fun time reading this book. I loved the world building because even though it changes constantly, the author always makes sure to get the reader as immersed as she possibly can and it made understanding a lot easier.

#4: Harry Potter and the Goblet of Fire
by J.K. Rowling

Harry Potter and the Goblet of Fire Cover

This book took me twenty days to read with my friend Aldii during the Potter Challenge. This one is actually more than just because it was a buddy read. This is probably my least favorite book in the series, it was really slow and it dragged for me. So while I usually read the sections pretty quickly, with this book I took time with it because I wasn’t feeling it as much.

#3: This Savage Song
by Victoria Schwab

This Savage Song Cover

This book took me twenty days to read with the members of the Mom Book Club. This is one of the most surprising because we all love Victoria’s books and we’d all been anticipating this one for a long time. I think life got in the way of reading a little bit because if not I’m pretty sure we could’ve read this in a week.

#2: Rebel Belle
by Rachel Hawkins

Rebel Belle Cover

It took me twenty-one days to read this book with the members of the Mom Book Club. I think this one was just a struggle for all of us. Particularly for me, I was expecting to be entertained a lot more. I’d heard such great things about this book but it was kind of underwhelming and not as fun as I was expecting.

#1: Tiny Pretty Things
by Sona Charaipotra and Dhonielle Clayton

Tiny Pretty Things Cover

It took me twenty-three days to read this book with the members of the Mom Book Club. This book took us almost an entire month to read and it’s really hard to explain why. While reading, it goes by very quickly and it doesn’t take long to start flying through chapters but once I put it down it was kind of a struggle to pick it back up even though I was really interested in the story line.

So that’s it for this post! I really thought this was going to be a lot more telling but apparently not. I’m really interested in finding out what are some of the books you guys had a hard time finishing and why. Thanks so much for reading and I’ll see you on my next post!

Send off

19 thoughts on “T5W Oct. 5th – Books That Took You the Longest to Read

  1. Oh goodness, I wish 20 days for me was considered long! You’re faster than me any day. ❀
    The book that took me the longest to read (and to be fair, it was a pretty big book) was Crime and Punishment. I read it consistently and I couldn't read it for too long at a time, and it took me three months to finish! πŸ˜‚

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Goblet of Fire is also my least favourite in the Harry Potter series although i still have the last 2 to read. I started reading them last year then I figured it got too long and should start again and I got up until the Order of the phoenix last month which was a re-read. I need to read those last two! Darn university getting in the way. Goblet of Fire does seem to drag for me, although I love Cedric in it.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Sara, have you ever written a post on your reading habits? I mean, like hoy do you find the time to read or how does reading several books at the same time works for you? Because I’m always amazed at how much you read and how fast you do it, and it would be interesting to know how you do it πŸ˜›

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

