Sara 101: Favorite Standalones

sara-101-favorite-standalones

Hello everyone!

I am back today with my personal feature, Sara 101, where I talk about me and myself and I and anything and everything that I could want to share about my personal life.

I thought about sharing something more personal this month but since I talked about my favorite series and trilogies, I figured I might as well go for the trifecta and talk about my favorite standalones. This was a lot harder than I thought because it’s harder for me to read standalones (I’m a series kind of girl) and I haven’t read that many. And those that I’ve read is hard to narrow down to ten. But I managed!

SO let’s get started!

#10: The Earth, My Butt and Other Big Round Things
by Carolyn Mackler

The Earth, My Butt and Other Big Round Things Cover

I recently talked about this in a Throwback Thursday post because I read this book a few years ago and I totally fell in love with it. It’s not usually the kind of book that would generally make me connect with it but I fell in love with the main character and her personality and I loved her growth and development.

#9: The Perks of Being a Wallflower
by Stephen Chbosky

The Perks of Being a Wallflower Cover

This is the first book I ever read when I had just gotten my Kindle app and it was amazing! I loved the way the author decided to tell the story. It made it much more powerful and emotional that way. The endingΒ  shocked me quite a bit and I’m sure I’ll re-read this book someday soon.

#8: Amy & Roger’s Epic Detour
by Morgan Matson

Amy and Roger's Epic Detour Cover

This is the first book I ever read by Morgan Matson and I loved it! The road trip was super fun and I loved the little pictures and playlists which are awesome. I really liked the way the romance developed though part of me really wants a sequel for this.

#7: None of the Above
by I.W. Gregorio

None of the Above Cover

I was super surprised with how much I loved this book. It’s about a topic that I’d never read before and I was really moved by the main character’s struggle. She is intersex and I don’t feel comfortable explaining what that really means so I definitely recommend checking out this book to learn more about it.

#6: Falling Into Place
by Amy Zhang

Falling Into Place Cover

I read this book last year and absolutely loved it. It’s very similar to the premise of Before I Fall but much better done in my opinion. There’s also various perspectives in this novel, besides the main character and some of them are really surprising. I loved the ending and I really need to read more of this author’s work.

#5: Just Listen
by Sarah Dessen

Just Listen Cover

I’ve read three Sarah Dessen books and two of those were 5 stars and I thought about sharing both of them in this list but I had to pick Just Listen. I absolutely loved this one. There’s a heavy influence of music and mental health and I loved the development of the character as well as the romance. It was beautiful.

#4: Rook
by Sharon Cameron

Rook Cover

This is one of the most underrated books on this list and one of my favorites (obviously). This is a retelling of The Scarlet Pimpernel but it can also sort of be read like a retelling of A Tale of Two Cities (which you all know I love). It’s super slow paced but honestly, I think the characters and the story make up for it. More people need to read this.

#3: Simon vs. the Homo Sapiens Agenda
by Becky Albertalli

Simon vs the Homo Sapiens Agenda Cover

This is one of my favorite books. It was the cutest romance I have ever read. And the mystery of it all is also really cool. I read this book last year and yet I kind of want to re-read it again soon. Specially since her new book is set in the same “world” as this one.

#2: Everything Leads to You
by Nina LaCour

Everything Leads to You Cover

This is one of my favorite contemporary books of all time! I absolute loved it when I read it. This is the kind of lgbtw+ book that does not involve coming out. It’s just another character living their life and finding romance where they least expect it. It’s awesome. Oh! And we get a behind the scenes look on how film sets are made, how cool is that?

#1: These Shallow Graves
by Jennifer Donnelly

These Shallow Graves Cover

THIS IS ONE OF MY FAVORITE BOOKS OF ALL TIME! It is so good! It’s a historical fiction murder mystery thriller filled with feminism, science and action. If that doesn’t sell it to you, I don’t know what will. I absolutely adore this book to pieces though part of me is super sad that it’s only one book because I WANT MORE.

So that’s it for this post! I honestly didn’t really how many contemporary books surrounding LGBTQ+ and mental health were on my favorites until now. That just tells me I need to read more of them so if you have any recs, leave them in the comments! Thanks so much for reading and I’ll see you on my next post.

Send off

12 thoughts on “Sara 101: Favorite Standalones

  1. Oooh so many good books on here – not that I’ve read them (YET!) but I’ve heard so many good things about them! e.g. None of the Above and Everything Leads to You!

    Also — AH, FALLING INTO PLACE! I think you’re the only person I know who has read this book, and I really enjoyed it too. It was sad but the ending was… kinda hopeful. 😊

    Liked by 1 person

    • You definitely should! All of these I highly recommend, that’s why they’re on this list.
      Yay! Someone else has read it! I think you’re the first person I know who has too. I loved the ending and I loved the strange narration. I definitely need to read more of her books soon.

      Liked by 1 person

  2. I love this list!
    Glad to see Simon Vs. The Homo Sapiens Agenda and The Perks of Being a Wallflower on here.
    I’ve never even heard of These Shallow Graves but since I like a lot of the books you have listed on here, then I’ll check it out! I mean, science fiction, feminism, and action are definitely up my alley. πŸ˜€

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Yeees for None of the Above! Such an underrated book, and I’m super glad that we both like this one. πŸ˜‚

    And Just Listen is honestly one of my favourite books ever. I also really enjoyed Everything Leads to You – the behind the scenes thing is so good and informative and entertaining.

    Liked by 1 person

    • I saw that you liked it and I was so excited! More people need to read that book.
      I need to read more Sarah Dessen honestly, I really loved that book. It’s one of my faves so I was nervous that you were reading it and I’m glad that you read it and enjoyed it :). Though you should definitely try These Shallow Graves

      Like

Leave a Reply

