T5W Oct. 12th – Inaccurate Book Covers

t5w-oct-12

Hello everyone!

Time for another Top 5 Wednesday. Top 5 Wednesday was created by Lainey from gingerreadslainey and is now hosted by Sam from Thoughts on Tomes and if you would like to join, here is the link for the Goodreads group with all the information.

This week’s topic is Inaccurate Book Covers. And this is actually one of the harder topics I’ve ever had to do for this meme. I don’t usually think about when covers are inaccurate. Usually I can definitely say when I like or dislike a cover for whatever reason, but most of the time, I don’t notice when covers don’t really say anything about the story they’re representing. So it was kind of cool to search through my books and see what I could find.

SO let’s get started!

#5: Keeping the Moon
by Sarah Dessen

Keeping the Moon Cover

Besides the fact that I still don’t understand what the title has to do with the plot of the book, I also don’t know what the cover has to do with it. This is probably my least favorite Dessen book (though I haven’t read all of them) and though it’s one of her usual summer contemporaries, the cover is too generic to really match the story inside.

#4: Shine
by Lauren Myracle

shine-cover

Another contemporary cover where I don’t understand why they picked this particular cover. I get the background, the dirt road which refers to the small town the characters live in but I really don’t get the need for the flower.

#3: Nice Girls Endure
by Chris Struyk-Bonn

Nice Girls Endure Cover

This is one of the editions of this book, there’s another one that is a lot more accurate than this one, but this one is the one that I read. I love this cover, I think it’s absolutely beautiful (I have a weak spot for roses) but it has nothing to do with the book which is a real shame.

#2: Ugly Love
by Colleen Hoover

 Ugly Love Cover

I kind of have a love hate relationship with Colleen’s books but usually her covers are on point with the way her stories develop. However, I still don’t really understand this cover. The story has pretty much nothing to do with water. Or drowning. At least not that I remember.

#1: Shatter Me
by Tahereh Mafi

Shatter Me Cover 1

Now, don’t get me wrong, these are some of my favorite covers of all time. But last time I checked Juliette was not a cyclops, and this world doesn’t really have a lot of nature involved. These covers are amazing but they don’t really say anything about what the books are about which makes them totally inaccurate.

So that’s it for this post! It took me awhile to come up with these five, thank god it wasn’t more than that. I’d love to know what kind of covers you think are inaccurate for their books and what you think of the ones I chose. Thanks so much for reading and I’ll see you on my next post!

Send off

19 thoughts on “T5W Oct. 12th – Inaccurate Book Covers

  1. What really irks me is when the characters on the front don’t AT ALL match the descriptions given of them in the book itself. I think the artists should have to read at LEAST those passages of the book. Geez. 😉

    Liked by 1 person

    • Or at least have a conversation with you know the author who can clearly see the characters in their head to make sure that they look like they’re supposed to. I find it so frustrating how little authors have a say in the packaging and marketing of their book, it’s counterproductive to me

      Like

  2. I haven’t read Ugly Love yet though I have it. I love the cover but sad to hear hat its not related to the story. However, your conversation with Anovelglimpse has gotten me so curious that I can’t wait to read the book now:-)

    Liked by 1 person

    • I still feel like it’s not 100% correct but I had a convo with Deanna @ A Novel Glimpse about it and she explained why it was picked and it makes sense. It’s definitely not the kind of book I enjoy and not my favorite of CoHo’s but you should definitely read it if you’re interested and I hope you enjoy it more than I did.

      Like

  3. I can help you with The Ugly Love cover. It makes sense when you think about Miles’ past and the major thing that happened in it to shape who he is today. There’s water involved, if that helps jog your mind. It took me a long time to figure it out. 😉

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

