Book Traveling Thursdays Oct. 13th – We All Have to Start Somewhere

btt-oct-13

Hello everyone!

It’s BTT time! This is a weekly meme created by Danielle at Danielle’s Book Blog and Catia at TheGirlWhoReadTooMuch. You can find all of the information you’ll need to participate on the Goodreads page.

This week’s topic is We all have to start somewhere. Choose a book that got you into reading. This one is super easy for me. I’ve mentioned this book a few times in my blog and the way it shaped my reading journey but I’ll go into more detail now.

SO let’s get started!

My choice for this week is Twilight by Stephanie Meyer. I’ve always been a reader but this is the book that started my love for Young Adult books. In seventh grade, my science teacher at the time would read this book aloud to us while we had free time before the end of the period. She ended up reading the whole book then switched to something else but I was still super interested in it so I went and got the first and second. Slowly but surely, I finished  the collection and the series and that not only sparked my love for YA but also for fanfiction which I still read and I’m just really grateful for this book.

Original Cover & My Country Cover

Twilight Cover

This cover is almost iconic by this point. Which I think is one of the reasons why there’s not a lot of cover changes in other countries because this one is so recognizable. I don’t feel any type of way about it, it definitely could’ve been worse but I really liked the explanation the author gave to the reason behind this one and the rest of the covers.

My Favorite Cover

twilight-movie-cover

The movies have a special place in my heart. I’ve watched them a billion times since I own them all on DVD and for a long time there were my comfort films, what I watched when I was feeling down. So while this is technically not a cover, it’s the movie poster tie in, it’s the cover that automatically transports me back to my fangirl obsessed days and I love it.

My Least Favorite Cover

twilight-thai-cover twilight-russian-cover twilight-indonesian-cover

twilight-german-cover twilight-czech-cover

Honestly, it really doesn’t get more disastrously ugly than with these covers. Most publishers kept the iconic cover above when publishing this book in other countries (Thank God) but I don’t know what it is in South Asian and North European countries where they think changing covers is a good idea. This list in order is: Thai, Russian, Indonesian, German and Czech covers. I can’t tell you which one apalls me more because it’s a really close race, but can I just say, Indonesia, Bella isn’t even blonde?! What the heck??

So that’s it for my choices! Let me know what you think of the covers and if you agree with my favorites. Thanks for reading. See you on my next post!

Send off

18 thoughts on “Book Traveling Thursdays Oct. 13th – We All Have to Start Somewhere

  1. ‘Yikes’ is all I can say about the other covers (Reg’s one freaks me out a little too, HAHA)! I loved Twilight when I first read it, but this book got me started on something else – being more socially aware? I really enjoyed it when I read it, but then by chance I found an analytical piece that critiqued Twilight for romanticizing abusive behaviour. When I first read it when it came out, I had no idea what abusive behaviour was or what ‘romanticizing’ meant. So I read and read and I learned so much about emotional abuse, etc. So suffice it to say, I ‘hated’ Twilight with a burning passion.

    But now that I’m older and can look back on it, I don’t hate it anymore and I don’t judge anyone for liking them, but I’m curious to see what I would think of it now, now that I’m an adult? I feel like doing a re-read??

    Liked by 1 person

    • Isn’t it so creepy?! I didn’t even see it on Goodreads when I searched through and it doesn’t even seem like the same series.
      I had a similar experience but without all the article reading haha. As I got older and learned about life in general, I started to call Edward and Bella’s relationship Teen Abuse 101. I championed passionately over how toxic they were together and complained a lot about some of the decisions the author made in the later books. I can honestly say I’m a Bella hater but it hasn’t taken away from my love of the series and the movies as a whole. Not because they’re the greatest thing ever written, but because of the world it opened me up to.
      I’ve re-read the books quite a few times (an embarrassing amount honestly haha) but I don’t take it seriously. It’s more of like a looking back to my favorite funny moments or rolling my eyes at the absurdity. I just can’t look at it with a critical eye anymore as I read, not only have I spent too long complaining, but also a long time agreeing with people who complain. I’m prejudice to it

      Like

      • Me too! Tbh, before you posted this, I hadn’t thought about the series in a long time. I do agree that their relationship is super toxic though!

        Yes, I can completely understand that! I think it’s very human and valid to like things that mean something to us, even if they aren’t good for other resaons, and that’s completely okay. At least you are aware and acknowledge it! ❤

        Liked by 1 person

  2. I’ve never seen those other covers for Twilight before and omg, they’re nearly unrecognisable! Especially that second one, haha. I’d have thought it’s a mystery about a girl getting lost in the woods.

    Twilight was likely one of my first YA books as well, although this is the cover I had. 😛

    Liked by 1 person

    • Are you serious?!? That was your cover?! That’s so awful, i’d never seen that before! I can’t believe you didn’t have the iconic original.
      Honestly, I thought there’d be more different editions of this book since it’s so popular but I found that it was mostly the same original. Though when I found those last ones, I regretted asking for them haha

      Like

      • It looks like a horror book haha I have a huge mix of covers and editions which to be honest drives me crazy and I kind of want to get the hardcover box set but I don’t want to get rid of my originals no matter how battered they are (Breaking Dawn has no front cover, it’s ripped off)

        Like

      • I’ve read them all a few times over the years since I don’t have that many physical books here in VZLA. I am the queen of arguing about Twilight, whether in favor or abasing depending on the topic haha

        Like

Leave a Reply

