Book Traveling Thursdays Oct. 20th – Because Mental Health Matters!

btt-oct-20

Hello everyone!

It’s BTT time! This is a weekly meme created by Danielle at Danielle’s Book Blog and Catia at TheGirlWhoReadTooMuch. You can find all of the information you’ll need to participate on the Goodreads page.

This week’s topic is Because Mental Health matters! Choose a book that deals with mental health. I really shocked myself because I swore that I’ve read a whole bunch of books surronding Mental Health but when I actually went and looked at my Goodreads shelf, I realized that I haven’t read as many as I thought. That’s something that I’m really going to focus on next year and make it a priority in my reading because I feel Mental Health books are really important and informative as well.

SO let’s get started!

My choice for this week is Falling Into Place by Amy Zhang. I read this book last year for Anti-Bullying week as part of a readathon I believe and I loved it. The narration is very interesting and the plot is set up with flashbacks from the past as well as the present moment. The story is very emotional and it hit me quite hard to be honest. It deals with a main character struggling with depression and kind of takes a look at how she got to the point of wanting to kill herself. Definitely recommend this book.

Original Cover & My Country Cover & My Favorite Cover

Falling Into Place Cover

This cover isn’t the greatest thing in the world when you look at it alone. But when compared to the story that’s inside, it’s so incredibly accurate. Do yourselves a favor and go read the synopsis and then tell me that this cover isn’t exactly the way it’s supposed to be. I love the cover and the equations and the little car with that pop of color. And I’m super glad most editions have kept this cover.

My Least Favorite Cover

falling-into-place-russian-cover

And then the one cover that decided to deviate and totally ruined everything. Russia, why? This is not a romance, not that there isn’t hints of it because it’s YA, but that is not what this is about at all. This just gives the wrong kind of message about this amazing book and that really angers me not only for the readers who will be disappointed but for the book because it doesn’t deserve that.

So that’s it for my choices! Let me know if you’ve read this book and if not, please read it! It’s amazing and you won’t be disappointed. Let me know what you think of the covers and if you agree with my favorites. Thanks for reading. See you on my next post!

Send off

12 thoughts on “Book Traveling Thursdays Oct. 20th – Because Mental Health Matters!

  1. OMG that Russian cover. I haven’t read this book yet but I really don’t understand why people would put… er, people on covers. Sometimes they look fine, but on this particular instance it’s just a bit weird. I love that original cover though. 💓

    Liked by 1 person

    • I still don’t understand why publishers think it’s a good idea. Very rarely is it a good idea (like with the UK And I Darken cover), most of the time it just looks uncomfortable. You should read it! I heard from another blogger today that she didn’t enjoy the book because she didn’t connect with the main character, and I didn’t really either, I was more interested in the journey as a whole because there’s quite a few POVs, but that’s something to keep in mind.

      Like

  2. I’ve read this book, and sadly I didn’t like it as much as I was hoping to. I think my biggest problems is that I couldn’t sympathize with the main girl. She was horrible…I’m not saying I wanted her to die, but the way she treated people…I just didn’t feel all that sorry for her. :\\

    P.S. That Russian cover is HORRIBLE!!!!!

    My BTT! 😀

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

