Freadom Speaks About Blogging Pressures

freadom-speaks-about-blogging-pressures

Hello everyone!

Welcome back to my discussion feature, Freadom Speaks!

I’ve been struggling with this topic for the last month of so. I’ve already mentioned that September was a really hard month for me and October hasn’t been the best either. And for some reason, blogging has started to become a struggle as well which sucks because I love doing this so much. And I thought what better way to work through this than to talk to my fellow bloggers and friends and see if someone can relate to what I’m going through.

SO let’s get started!

Most people consider blogging to be a hobby (I am not one of them) but it’s still something that requires a lot of time and effort to do. There’s a lot of different things that come into it like design, advertisement and actually writing posts. I’m a perfectionist so when I find something that I enjoy doing, I tend to focus my energy on making sure that I do the best I can at it. It becomes really important for me to excel at whatever that is that I enjoy, whether it’s horseback riding, dancing, singing, work and blogging. It’s not the healthiest part of my personality though I’m learning how to manage it better so it doesn’t begin to cripple me.

However, this causes me to place a lot of pressure on mysel and that’s what’s happened with blogging. I haven’t stopped enjoying it by any means, every day I find something more about it that I like, but sometimes these particular pressures that I’m going to talk about now make me feel discouraged because I start to think that I’m not pulling them off as well as everybody else.

Here are some of the things I feel pressured to do when it comes to blogging:

1. Not pay attention to stats/follower count

Most bloggers when giving advice suggest that you don’t pay much attention to your stats and follower count unless it’s a big number or WordPress notifies you of a new milestone. And this is really hard for me. I know those two things aren’t everything, and that having a big follower count don’t make me a better blogger than having a smaller count but it’s really hard. They’re the first thing you see when you go on WordPress and most of the time, it’s encouraging to see those numbers go up every day. Lately, they’ve been going down and the reasons why are pretty endless but it’s still something that made me feel a bit down myself. It’s hard not to beat myself up or to think that I’m doing something wrong and that’s why I’m getting less views. I look at other bloggers’ posts and they always seem to be doing so much better than my own and I wonder what it is that makes me less noticeable. I know it’s not something that I should do, and that these kinds of things can’t be measured and that there’s no “code” or “limit” to what success is like as a blogger. But I put so much love and effort into my blog and sometimes it sucks to feel like my content isn’t as great as everyone else’s.

2. Keep up with commenting (responding to others’ comments and commenting on others’ posts)

I’ve always tried to keep up with responding to comments on my own posts. I use the WordPress app and I tend to check it every morning before work and throughout the day just so I know what readers think of my posts and to see what discussions I can have with followers. But commenting of others’ posts has become a bit hard lately. It’s not that I don’t enjoy them, but I’m having less time to read them and even less time to comment on my thoughts. But then I feel bad because I consider a lot of the bloggers I follow to be friends and I want them to feel like what they have to say matters because that’s what I want for myself. But sometimes days will pass and I haven’t checked my feed or I look through it but don’t really read anything. I feel like commenting is one of the fastest ways to make friends and connections in blogging so I don’t want this non-commenting thing to get away from me. Interacting with fellow bloggers is really fun and some people have the most amazing ideas and you can never really have too many book friends to talk to.

3. Be active on various social media

Instagram and Twitter are really popular social media for the book community. There’s a lot of blogger to blogger, author to author, and blogger to author interaction that creates connection and love within the comminity. But I suck at both these things. I started a bookstagram along with my Booktube channel and still have it now to go along with my blog but I don’t take book pictures. I have the unfornate pleasure of living in a third world country where batteries are nonexistent or really expensive so my camera has been unused for a really long time. And since I don’t have a big physical library and I read mostly on Kindle (which is on my phone so I can’t even use that camera), I don’t really take pictures of books. I want to so bad though! I feel like I’m missing out on getting to know awesome book people by not being involved as much as everyone else. And then there’s Twitter. I am on there all day every day. I retweet constantly and am always liking a lot of people’s statuses and stuff. But I totally suck at sharing my own. I don’t know why completely. I feel like my life is pretty boring (I read, blog and work almost exclusively) so I don’t really have much to share in that regard. And I also feel like the things I want to say are so much better said by other people. Some of my friends are completely hilarious or just really insightful and I have serious stage fright with sharing my thoughts on Twitter, not only because they don’t seem that necessary or because I also feel like if I say anything controversial on purpose or by accident I’ll get eaten alive haha. But really, these places are crawling with amazing, charismatic and nice book people but I just can’t seem to put myself out there.

4. Post consistently

I’m pretty sure I’m one of the only bloggers that take this topic as seriously as I do. I know that most people post 3 to 4 times a week, I post 6 to 7 times a week. But the amount doesn’t matter I think (most of the time) as long as you do it consistently. Being consistent is something I believe is attractive to readers. I know that when I look for blogs to follow one of the things that is important to me is that it’s someone who has shared something recently and that makes the time to blog if it’s something that they really want to do. But sometimes it’s so hard! Sometimes, I just don’t really know what to say or what to talk about. Sometimes, I just don’t have the energy to write and schedule all the posts that I’ve set up for the week. Sometimes I want to take a break just for a little while, to read more maybe, but I get instantly petrified that everyone will forget about me and my little corner of the book community if they don’t see something from me every day.

5. Share creative content

This is probably the one that is the hardest for me to get over. It’s something I pretty much obsess and agonize over all the time, how to come up with creative things to share on my blog. A lot of the times I feel like I share the same things every week, every month and I do. There’s always tags and memes and reviews and a feature or two which makes it easy to schedule but maybe not so appealing to read all the time. But I just don’t have any creative ideas! I see all these bloggers coming up with unique and interesting things to get the book community involed. From thought-provoking discussions to month long featurettes and interactive readathons, so many people have innovative ideas to share. And I don’t. And it sucks. I want to move away from my accustomed posts but I don’t really know where to start.

I know what most people would say to these pressures and worries. Not to focus so much, things happen, people are busy, there’s no need to worry, post what you want to share, etc. And they’d be right but I know that how I feel about these things makes me human. That these things can be stressful but all I really want to hear sometimes is that I’m not the only perso who feels pressure, or who worries, or who cares about their stats haha. I just want to know that I’m not alone.

So that’s it for this post! I would love to know if any of you feel pressure when blogging and in what kind of things they come up. Maybe you have some that I haven’t even thought of, let me know in the comments. Thanks so much for reading and I’ll see you on my next post!

Send off

44 thoughts on “Freadom Speaks About Blogging Pressures

  1. Oh man! I feel this post, especially when a few months after I got started. I realized that writing fiction wasn’t getting the reader count that I wanted. So, I branched out into other things: popular blog posts and memes and tags. However, after a while, it became stressful keeping up with them and I was spending more time on those posts than I was on my fiction posts. I had fallen away from why I had started my blog in the first place. It took a lot to close myself off to blog awards and memes and tags, but it was worth it. I’ve reached a point in my blog where I’m happy with what I post. That’s not to say I won’t consistently make improvements, but I am much happier with my blog than I was a few months ago.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I adore your blog so keep doing what you’re doing!
    I can really relate to a lot of what you mentioned in this post – this past week I’ve been so busy that I haven’t had much time to read others blogs or keep up with people on Twitter and I’ve just sat down this afternoon to catch up with the blogs I’ve missed and I think I had to click “page down” over 10 times – that’s a lot of posts!

    Liked by 1 person

  3. This was such a relatable post, Sara. I loved it soo much. Thank you for writing it.
    All the comments agree with me. πŸ˜€

    About stats/followers. I actually don’t know what good stats are??? Most bloggers don’t really like to talk about it, so I don’t know if mine are average or high, lol. I’ll just pretend that they’re high so I feel good about myself! I’m sure yours are fine too, even if they are lower now than they used to be. We all go through lows and highs.

    I think I am most successful in social media. My Instagram isn’t all that popular, but I have a nice little following there. I’m so sorry you can’t take pictures of books easily. It’s so fun and it pains me to know that you’re missing out. 😦 Twitter is my main platform. I think it just comes naturally to me? idk. Sometimes I don’t have anything to say and othertimes I say I lot! But yeah, Twitter is huge for my blog. Without it, my views would be much smaller.

    Being active in the blogging community is also crucial. I always respond to comments on my blog within a day or two. And also blog hop about 3 times week! I do it because I enjoy it and because I understand that other bloggers appreciate thoughtful comments on their posts. I know I do! So I like to spread the love when I can. But sometimes I don’t have the time and then I feel terrible about not being able to visit their blogs. The pressures can be pretty crippling, to be honest.

    Your blog is wonderful, Sara Your writing is excellent and your ideas are great and personal! We’re so hard on ourselves sometimes. I know I am. I don’t know what I can say to make you feel a bit better, but I hope you find a good balance for blogging, social, media, and life. And that you’re happy doing them all. πŸ™‚

    Liked by 1 person

    • Thanks so much for commenting!
      I know most bloggers don’t talk about it but I tend to notice, usually not purpose, how many likes and comments a post gets. However, most of the time I just compare to myself. There’s a number which I feel is a good day if I reach it and not so good if I don’t haha but that depends on everyday and I definitely should focus on other things.
      It sucks not to be able to take pictures but I’m hopeful I’ll be able to do it some day. I see you posting on Twitter constantly haha I just never really know what to talk about. And sometimes there’s a lot of heated discussions going on and I don’t find it healthy for me purposely by being actively involved so I just retweet a lot haha.
      I don’t usually blog hop, I just make an effort to comment on the posts that I find are interesting and that are already on my feed. But usually restricts me to WordPress only blogger’s. I always forget to look for self hosting blogs or from blogger and I need to make more time for that.
      Thank you so much ❀️ I’m sure I’ll be able to find a good balance soon

      Like

      • I also have set a number as the standard I want to reach every day, but it’s difficult to meet it if I don’t post 3 times a week or more. Especially now that I’m considering going to 2 times a week again as a regular schedule because doing more than that can get really time consuming and stressful for me. Most days I don’t care about stats, but in the back of my mind, I kind of do just a bit. πŸ˜… That little worry keeps me posting and motivated at least.

        Liked by 1 person

      • I get you πŸ™‚ Right now I’m posting 6 to 7 times a week, but I’m considering lowering that down to 4 next year since I’m hoping I’ll be back at school then. I just don’t know which kinds of posts I’ll be getting rid of haha

        Like

  4. As everyone else is saying 100% yes! I completely relate to this post, and I am trying to figure out what I want out of the blog world. Thank you so much for sharing the struggles and letting us all say “yes! us too and we support you!”

    Liked by 1 person

    • Thanks so much for commenting! It’s been really great to have so many people share their own worries and struggles and it definitely makes me relieved to know that I’m not alone. I hope you figure out what you want out of blogging, I think it’s something important to do πŸ™‚

      Liked by 1 person

  5. *sends virtual hugs* I feel you on so many of these. My ultimate thing is this though: blogging (for me, at least) is supposed to be fun. It’s an outlet and a way to connect with other people. I love books, I love words, and I love sharing them with other people. I love introducing people to new authors and books, I love cheering on my favorite writers, and I love discussing/fangirling over ALL the bookish things. When it stops being fun, that’s probably when I’ll stop blogging. Reading and writing are my happy places…not my job (which I also love, but on a different level).

    Liked by 1 person

    • Thank you!
      I think that’s how a lot of bloggers feel but not me. I want to work in the publishing industry someday, and I kind of use blogging as a sort of stepping stone into the publishing companies that could potentially hire me someday haha. So I take it pretty seriously and try to put my all into it as much as I can. That doesn’t mean it isn’t fun or that it isn’t something that I love because it is, and I also love to do all the things you mentioned but it also means that my perfectionist side sometimes bites my butt and makes it feel a little more like work and it stressed me out a bit.

      Liked by 1 person

  6. This post was SOOO relatable! I seriously feel everything that you are feeling. Commenting on other people’s blogs takes a ton of effort for me. I think the introvert in me just can’t handle randomly reaching out to bloggers every day…even though I love making blogger friends.
    And SAME–I have Twitter and Instagram accounts, but I am the worst at posting on them.
    Sharing creative content it probably the hardest, just because there are so many bloggers out there and I feel like all of my ideas will have been done already.
    I hope that blogging starts being fun again! I’ve gone through stressful patches and have taken breaks from blogging, but I have never been able to fully stop. I wish I had advice about dealing with the stress, but I’m in the same boat!

    Liked by 2 people

  7. I absolutely love this post. We book bloggers have SO many struggles, it’s crazy haha. I guess we really should chill and enjoy it, but some days it’s harder than others, not to care about stats, feeling down when you can’t post, or guilty when you’re slow to answer comments. You’re definitely not the only person feeling this way, and it’s so good to talk about it and find other bloggers sharing your struggles. Don’t worry too much, and just remember to enjoy it ❀

    Liked by 1 person

    • Thank you! And thanks for commenting too. You’re definitely right, some days make it harder to enjoy what we love about blogging but knowing that fellow bloggers have moments when they feel the same as I do definitely helps me relax and focus on what’s really important, having fun with it πŸ™‚

      Liked by 1 person

  8. I’ve honestly been struggling with all of the things you’ve mentioned in your post. You are definitely not alone!!
    My stats are at an all time low and I know that it’s because I barely have time to post and even less time to interact with other bloggers on their sites. Having taken on the responsibility of writing a novel as well, (which no one has forced me to do, but I am not a quitter) just leaves me even less time to see what everyone else is doing. Consequently I am also reading less and am not even writing reviews. It’s a mad spiral. I am still on Twitter, but my Instagram account is looking sad. I know that we are all going through phases where we aren’t as productive, but I am still not entirely happy with the situation.
    So, as you can see, I have absolutely NO solutions! Just know that I love reading your blog, that there is nothing wrong with taking a small hiatus or reducing the output of your posts sometimes. People who truly value your opinion and writing, and I am sure there are A LOT of those out there because you are awesome, will always stick around πŸ˜€ Tomorrow will be kinder as my mum likes to say!

    Liked by 1 person

    • It’s a relief to know I’m not alone in these worries so thanks so much for commenting!
      I totally understand how life outside of the Internet can take hold of you and there’s not enough time in the day to give blogging the attention it seems to need all the time. However, I love that you’re also pursuing something that makes you happy. I know writing is something you love and I hope your novel writing is going well!
      I’m beginning to see that it’s all about doing what makes you passionate when the mood strikes. Slowly but surely, we’ll find a way to balance everything without dying of stress haha
      THANK YOU! ❀️ That really means a lot to me, sometimes I feel like my blogging corner gets smaller and smaller so it’s so uplifting to hear that there are people who think what I say matters πŸ˜„
      Your mom’s saying is lovely, thanks for sharing ❀️

      Liked by 1 person

      • You are right! Writing is something that’s very dear to me. I also love that I get immediate reactions from everyone on wattpad so far, it keeps me motivated. But there are simply not enough hours in the day for EVERYTHING and I have a hard time accepting that hahaha
        And I absolutely agree that it shows when you are passionate about something. It draws in the audience much more than doing something generic.

        Liked by 1 person

  9. Really good post with so many truths in it.
    I can really relate with not being creative enough.
    I am not creative at all! And I also don’t take pictures of book nor want to have an Instagram acc, at least for now. The only books I usually take pics and post them on twitter are ones of physical ARCs I received, to say thank you to publicists and publishing houses.
    I’d like to say I don’t pay attention to blog stats, but I do. I know numbers are not high as I’d like them to be, but I still can’t help myself…
    I also worried a lot about posting 6 times per week, but since I made decision to post 4 times per week (with exceptions if there’s a blog hop or if I have an obligation such as blog tour), my life is less stressful!

    Liked by 1 person

    • It’s hard isn’t it? People think creativity is just so easy but sometimes it’s not. Sometimes I think “what else can I do related to books? That hasn’t been done already?” And I don’t have an answer haha I’m starting to think that it’s all about sharing what you’re passionate about, even if it comes from being inspired by someone else.
      Admitting you look at stats can have this shameful connotation which is why I wanted to add it in this post. I know I pay too much attention to it and it tends to get me down but I’m working on it and someday I won’t be as focused on it as I am now.
      I’m glad you found a way to make blogging less stressful for you! I’m hoping to be able to find a new rhythm so I can feel less stressed soon 😊

      Like

  10. This post couldn’t come at a better time, Sara. I’ve been feeling many of these things this past month because I’ve not had the time to really focus on blogging as much as I would want to. I’ve been out of ideas, I have hard time writing reviews, I doubt what I do on social media, I can’t comment as much as I would like to on other blogs… the list goes on and on! On top of that, I have requested reviews/ARCs to read and review and I can’t seem to find the time or motivation sometimes. It’s stressful, but I love blogging about books, so I try to shrug it off. I honestly need a few days to regroup and try to come up with new ideas, content, new ways to write reviews, etc. As for stats, well, I’m not too obsessed with them. I like to check them up from time to time, but I know they are low and that I don’t have as many followers as other. Some days I think I’m doing something wrong because I see newer blogs gaining more followers than I do, but then other days I truly don’t mind because I see the interactions through comments/social media as more valuable and, even if I only get one comment in a review, I think that’s enough for me. My biggest issue right now is related to the one you commented about Twitter, about feeling boring and that others have such funny comments/posts and sparkly and unique personalities. I honestly feel like the most boring person in the world haha. But let’s finish on a positive note! To me, you are one of those unique personalities. I mean, you are so YOU on your blog and Twitter. It’s hard to explain, but I like your blog and your opinions because I sort of know where you are coming from, I know more or less what you like/dislike and I love your commitment to everything you set your mind to. So, I don’t have any solutions and I think it’s normal to doubt ourselves in this whole thing, but something I do is to try to put things into perspective. I ask myself: What do I love about blogging? What do I love about my blog and what I’ve done so far? I keep doing that. How could I improve? What do I like about other blogs and how can I do it in my own style? It’s like I interview myself every few weeks to see where I am standing to be able to move forward. That’s pretty much the only “tip” I know πŸ˜›

    Liked by 1 person

    • Thanks so much for your comment and lovely thoughts! It’s such a relief to know that I’m not the only one who struggles with blogging commitment sometimes.
      Most of the time I manage to shrug off all the worries and just push forward because I love to do it, but it’s been something tough to do lately. I’m not glad you’re dealing with it too, but I’m glad someone understands what I’m going through and that we can talk about it.
      I totally understand what you mean about follower counts. It’s tough to see people just starting and getting so much more attention and a bigger following quicker because it kind of makes me feel uninteresting and boring. But it’s important to look at the positive things in every day, like this comment on this post πŸ˜„
      Twitter is so big and so full of different personalities. It definitely a lot more intimidating than actual blogging sometimes which is why I tend to retweet a lot of things instead of tweet them myself.
      THANK YOU ❀️ it’s so uplifting to hear that someone who can see it from the outside feels like they understand me and my thoughts and my feelings on books because that’s exactly what I want to happen.
      I love your tip! It’s definitely a good idea to focus on oneself and your own progress and the things you want to do instead of focusing on what other people are doing and feeling bad about yourself over it. I’ll definitely try to make it a more conscious thought as I move forward with my blog.

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

