T5W Oct. 26th – Favorite Spooky Settings

t5w-oct-26

Hello everyone!

Time for another Top 5 Wednesday. Top 5 Wednesday was created by Lainey from gingerreadslainey and is now hosted by Sam from Thoughts on Tomes and if you would like to join, here is the link for the Goodreads group with all the information.

This week’s topic is Favorite Spooky Settings. And I thought  a lot about what my choices could be because I don’t read a lot of spooky or scary books (besides this month) but I am easily creeped out by a lot of things. And this list turned out to be a mix of contemporary thrillers, paranormal retellings and some mythology as well.

Mild spoilers ahead if you have not read some of these books. Beware as you read.

SO let’s get started!

#5: Underworld
from The House of Hades
by Rick Riordan

The House of Hades Cover

I think this is the scariest/most emotional book in this series because of the setting. You’re in the Underworld like half of the time, and there’s a lot of monsters, and they can’t eat anything. Touching things isn’t the best idea either. Everything can kill them and that was terrifying for me because like duh favorite characters, basically main protagonists, we do not want them to die.

#4: Wonderland
from Splintered Trilogy
by A.G. Howard

Splintered Cover

This is not the same Wonderland from the classic. Imagine this setting a zombie apocalypse kind of Wonderland. There’s skeleton bodies, and half spider, half women villains and a lot of freaking creepy things! Honestly, while I was creeped out and slightly disturbed, it was one of my favorite things about this series because it made something so familiar, so different!

#3: The Wastes
from Sea of Shadows
by Kelley Armstrong

Sea of Shadows Cover

I recently read this book and the setting was really scary (for me). The characters have to travel across an almost desert like waste that is riddled with monsters and legendary beings which unfortunately, our characters encountered. Not only were they a threat but also incredible creepy and powerful. And considering you’re in a kind of desert, not having water to drink was also a huge problem. And it had this really eerie feeling… it was creepy ya’ll.

#2: The Alexander
from Illuminae
by Amie Kaufman and Jay Kristoff

Illuminae Cover

If you’ve read this book then you know it has it’s moments of extreme creepiness. There’s a spaceship infected with a zombie-like virus and the development and destruction of it is insane, intense and completely disturbing. I didn’t realize a book that doesn’t have a linear narration could make me feel so many things, like fear and disgust. It was amazing!

#1: Cabin
from Welcome to the Dark House
by Laurie Faria Stolarz

Welcome to the Dark House Cover

I just recently finished this series and loved it, even if I was scared out of my mind the whole time, but I think that the setting of this first book is the creepiest. Seven teens get selected from a contest to meet a famous horror director and they get taken to a cabin which has recreations of different characters and sets from his movies. But it does not end up being like the winners think it will be. It’s scary and creepy and heart breaking and it was so good! Never have I enjoyed being scared more.

So that’s it for this post! I would love to know some of your favorite spooky, creepy and scary settings. No guarantees that I’ll actually take those recs into account because I’m a giant scaredy cat who hates to be scared (most of the time) but I’d love to know anyway! Thanks so much for reading and I’ll see you on my next post!

Send off

11 thoughts on “T5W Oct. 26th – Favorite Spooky Settings

Leave a Reply

