Book Traveling Thursdays Oct. 27th – Halloween Is Here!

btt-oct-27

Hello everyone!

It’s BTT time! This is a weekly meme created by Danielle at Danielle’s Book Blog and Catia at TheGirlWhoReadTooMuch. You can find all of the information you’ll need to participate on the Goodreads page.

This week’s topic is Halloween is here! Choose a spooky read that you have either read or want to read. I don’t really read a lot of spooky books (not counting this month). I tend to designate October as the one and only month where I read things that scare me because I have issues. I decided to pick a book that I read last year and which I enjoyed and whose companion novella I hope I’ve already finished reading this year.

SO let’s get started!

My choice for this week is This is Not a Test by Courtney Summers. I read this in October of 2015 for my Zombie month. It’s a really creepy and eerie book that kept me on the edge of my seat though I didn’t understand the main character very well. A blogger friend of mine recently used this book for the BTT of Mental Health but I have to say that that is not what I read the book for or what captured my attention the most. I thought it’d be nice to mention anyway.

Original Cover & My Country Cover & My Favorite Cover

This is Not a Test Cover

I think this cover lends itself well to the content of the book. The background is blurry and it has spots of blood on the top corner which really transmits horror and death which is good considering the book has that. I like that the girl is there since we have a female protagonist but that we can’t see her face. The tilt of her head kind of brings to mind her mental health, which now that I’ve payed attention to it, I can see the connection. I think it’s a solid book cover and that it represents that book well.

My Least Favorite Cover

this-is-not-a-test-hungarian-cover

And then comes Eastern Europe again to ruin a good  thing. Why do they do this honestly? I don’t get it. What is this supposed to be, Hungary? This looks more like a contemporary thriller about a female spy, not a horror book with zombies and a main character that struggles with mental health. They tried to keep the blood splatter but because the red is so bright against the black it looks more like paint. Sigh, just no good.

So that’s it for my choices! Let me know what you think of the covers and if you agree with my favorites. Thanks for reading. See you on my next post!

Send off

2 thoughts on “Book Traveling Thursdays Oct. 27th – Halloween Is Here!

Leave a Reply

