October ’16 Wrap Up

wrap-up-october-logo

Hello everyone!

HAPPY HALLOWEEN! I am here today to wrap up all the things I read, posted and accomplished in October. This month was a lot calmer than the last one, thank God. There were still some ups and downs but that’s how life is. I also read a lot more books than I thought I was going to. I had a lot of fun in the Halloween readathon! I got to talk to a lot of people on Twitter because I made the effort to interact on the hashtag and while I didn’t read as much from that list of books, I read a lot from my overall TBR and I can’t wait to show you guys my thoughts!

SO let’s get started!

Personal Thoughts

This month has been all about trying to find where I want to go next. I currently live in a country with the second highest murder rate in the world, where the economy is shot and where people are getting angrier and more restless over the situation that they are in with all the right in the world to do so. But I feel like I’ve filled my quota. I feel like since I moved here four years ago, I’ve grown immensely as a person. I’ve become more independent, more responsible and more conscious of myself and who I am. I’m so grateful for all the experiences I’ve had here but I’m so done now haha. I am ready to go somewhere, experience something new. I want to go to college! And unfortunately, what I want to study doesn’t exist here. I’m just looking toward the future and figuring out where I want to be.

Books I Read

read-books-october

  1. The Goal (Off-Campus #1) by Elle Kennedy – 4 Stars  This is the first book that I finished this month, literally on the first of October. I read most of it in September and really liked it, though it’s not my favorite in the series. There’s going to be a spin off series at some point and I’m so excited to see which characters will show up there!
  2. Cress (The Lunar Chronicles #3) by Marissa Meyer – 4.5 Stars  I’m glad I finally continued reading this series and I like this one the most so far. The first two books I found kind of predictable but this one definitely kept me on my toes. I love the way the whole series is developing and how dire things are getting, though it’s not that great for them. I hope the conclusion is good as well.
  3. Sea of Shadows (Age of Legends #1) by Kelley Armstrong – 3 Stars  I was really looking forward to reading this book because of how much I loved Armstrong’s other works but I was a little disappointed. This one is more of a high fantasy which is a contrast to her usual urban fantasy and I think that might’ve had something to do with it. The world building was confusing since you’re thrown in right away and the plot went really slowly too. I didn’t connect with the characters as much though I’m still going to finish the series.
  4. Dead Girls Society by Michelle Krys – 3.5 Stars  This is an ARC that I got from NetGalley that I wasn’t really sure what to expect from but I ended up enjoying it. That’s not to say that I didn’t have issues with it as you can tell from the rating. The plot was intense, it kept me on the edge of my toes and I was totally clueless to who was behind all the crazy things. But there’s was unnecessary romance, the narrative was immature at times and the ending was really aggravating.
  5. Trial by Fire (Worldwalker #1) by Josephine Angelini – 4 Stars  I read this book with Mariana @ Book Is Glee. We’d been wanting to read a book together for a long time and she had just bought this one so we decided it’d be a good one for the first time. I was surprised with how much I enjoyed it. The plot was complicated but I liked how the author combined modern and old lifestyles as well as magic and science into the world. The characters frustrated me a bit but I’m looking forward to seeing how the rest of the series develops.
  6. The Bargaining by Carly Anne West – 3.5 Stars  This is the first actual horror book that I read this month and it scared the crap out of me. I was terrified and creeped out the whole time so I don’t know how coherent my analysis of this will be. The plot is really creepy, full of strange, paranormal happenings. However, I didn’t like the characters. I felt like I didn’t really end up understanding what happened and a lot of things weren’t explained very well.
  7. Return to the Dark House (Dark House #2) by Laurie Faria Stolarz – 4 Stars  This is the first book that I read for the Halloween readathon. I’ve been highly anticipating this book for almost two years because I absolutely loved the first book in this series but this one was a little disappointing. I was still scared and I was on the edge of my seat all the time. However, there were less points of view and I felt like since this is the last book, there wasn’t as much closure as I wanted there to be. I didn’t even get the final reveal! Not cool man, not cool.
  8. Fairest (The Lunar Chronicles #3.5) by Marissa Meyer – 4 Stars  I was so freaking disturbed by this book. I think Levana is one of the best villains that I’ve ever come across in a book. I’ve always felt like she is formidable and intense without ever being on the page. To go into her head not only solidified that thought for me, but it also opened my eyes to her thought process and her desires and why she’s a villain. It was really interesting and it made me more intrigued to read the finale.
  9. Please Remain Calm (This is Not a Test #1.5) by Courtney Summers – 4 Stars  This is the second book that I read for the Halloween readathon. I both enjoyed and did not enjoy this little novella because of a few reasons. I think it was a great addition to the first story, and I liked the new perspective we saw. However, the ending was a huge cliffhanger which I did not appreciate because there’s no more to read! That made me sad.
  10. The Girl of Fire and Thorns (Fire and Thorns #1) by Rae Carson – 4 Stars  This is the third and last book I read for the Halloween readathon, there was a Trick or Treat challenge and I picked a treat because I was overwhelmed with so much horror! I was really surprised with how much I ended up enjoying this book. I’ve been wanting to read it for a long time and I’m so glad it exceeded my expectations. This is a kind of high fantasy that I’ve never read before (considering it’s my favorite genre that’s saying a lot). There’s magic, religion and war and the world building is very Latinx/Hispanic oriented which I loved. The ending was really fast and it sets up a lot of variations for the next few books which I’m pumped to read now.
  11. The Sun is Also a Star by Nicola Yoon – 5 Stars  I LOVE THIS BOOK! This is an ARC that I got from NetGalley that I really really enjoyed. I also read an ARC from Yoon’s debut which I liked a lot but this one was so so much more in my opinion. The way this is written is just so absolutely beautiful and emotional. This is the only book that I’ve ever read where I can say that instalove was done WELL. It feels real and honest and raw and I love all the other themes in this book as well. Honestly, one of my favorite books of the year.
  12. Manners & Mutiny (Finishing School #4) by Gail Carriger – 5 Stars  Finishing this book is so bittersweet for me. I love this world and this series has been top notch in my opinion. This is a companion to one of my favorite adult series the Parasol Protectorate and this book we finally get to see that final connection between the main protagonists which was not what I expected! This book was full of action and danger and adventure and some much needed and appreciated romance! Honestly, it was one of my favorite finales and I’m so sad to see it come to an end. However, I still got some more companion series in this world and I’m looking forward to them so much more now!
  13. Empire of Night (Age of Legends #2) by Kelley Armstrong – 4 Stars  This is the second book in this series and while I’m a huge fan of Kelly Armstrong, I don’t think high fantasy is her strongest genre. I definitely prefer her urban fantasy books over this series even if this book did improve a lot more than the first one. There was more action, more characters introduced and the old ones were fleshed out and there were a lot of twists and  turns in the plot that I didn’t see coming. I am looking forward to seeing how this series end but I don’t really have a lot of hope for it being a five star read.
  14. Killer Instinct (The Naturals #2) by Jennifer Lynn Barnes – 5 Stars  I am completely and totally obsessed with this series now. I want to kick myself for not reading it sooner because it is just that good! This is one of the best contemporary thriller series I’ve ever read, like Criminal Minds in book form. This book was so much creepier, so much more intense and so much more personal. The relationships between the characters and their individual development grow by leaps and bounds. I’m always amazed at the way these books turn out to be, I can never guess how they go down and I’m so excited to continue this series!
  15. All Fall Down (Embassy Row #1) by Ally Carter – I just started this book since I finished Killer Instinct early in the day. I’ve been wanting to read this book for months, I’ve had it on my TBR for months and I finally put my foot down and decided that it would be the first one I picked up for November so I can finally read it. So far, so good :).

Posts I Shared

Reviews

Tags And Awards

Memes

Top 5 Wednesday

Waiting on Wednesday

Book Traveling Thursdays

Throwback Thursday

Features

Challenges Update

  • Goodreads Reading Challenge – 117/120 Books (98%)

I’m so freaking close to reaching my goal! Only three more books to get there and I’m 1000% sure that I’ll be able to do it next month. I’m really excited to see how many books I manage to surpass it, because it helps me figure out where to put my goal for next year. Though I think I’ll put it lower anyway because I might be a little busier next year if life turns out the way I want it.

  • Read It While It’s Hot Challenge – 38/12 Books

.Two more 2016 releases added to this list! I’m so proud of myself for doing so well in this challenge because it’s something that has been weighing on my mind. I anticipate so many releases every year but never really pay attention to them so I’m glad that I finally made an effort to read them when they come out.

  • 2016 Debut Author Challenge – 8/x Books

No new books added to this challenge this month. I wanted to read Fear the Drowning Deep but with the readathon happening I just didn’t have enough time to get to it. Hopefully next month I can add some more books on here and I hope to reach 10 books at the end of the year.

  • Finishing the Series Challenge – 17/5 Series

Yes for so many more finished series! I’m kind of going a little more overboard with this challenge in particular. You’ll see what I mean in my TBR for next month but I’m just so pumped to continue checking off unfinished series that I’m pushing myself a little bit haha.

So that’s it for this post! I would love to know how your October went and if you have any plans for Halloween tonight! I will be staying in and watching Hocus Pocus with my Mom and I hope to convince her to let me buy popcorn and soda haha. My November TBR will be up tomorrow and I can’t wait for you guys to see my theme! Thanks so much for reading and I’ll see you on my next post!

Send off

8 thoughts on “October ’16 Wrap Up

  1. Ahh great reading month, Sara!! I’m super jealous and impressed, haha. I totally felt the same way about Return to the Dark House. It was way too open for the last book. I really want to continue with the The Lunar Chronicles.

    Also, I totally feel you on wanting to get out of the place you’re living in. It can definitely be an overwhelming situation. I hope everything works out the way you want it to ♥

    Liked by 1 person

    • Thanks 🙂 haha
      Supposedly the author said on Goodreads that she sees potential for a third but if it’s not originally in the contract, I hate when authors leave open endings on the off chance that they can get another book. It’s frustrating.
      Thank you ❤ I'm really struggling with disappointment and frustration and I kind of want to give up on everything and just not… continue but hopefully things will get better.

      Like

    • Hahaha yeah I do. Thanks 🙂
      Well I’ve been looking into more of the west side of Canada, since I don’t know any French and I’m hoping to study English/Publishing. I got accepted into SFU but I don’t think I’ll be able to go 😦

      Like

Leave a Reply

