November ’16 TBR – Vampires Theme

tbr-november-logo

Hello everyone!

I’m using November and December to continue reading all those urban fantasy and paranormal books that I’ve had backlisted or series that I haven’t managed to finish yet. So November is all about Vampires and all the series that I started in middle school and high school that I never finished. I don’t know how I’m gonna feel about this series now that I’ve grown as a person and a reader but I’m willing to see what happens.

SO let’s get started!

First Order of Business:
The Blazing Star
by Imani Josey

the-blazing-star-cover

Up until a day ago I had no books to read for review this month. But I saw this amazing cover on Twitter and I immediately went on NetGalley to see if this book was there, and it was and I got accepted to read it! Not only is that cover absolutely gorgeous, but this story is about a trio of girls who time travel to Ancient Egypt, doesn’t that sound awesome?! I’m so excited to read it!

Goodreads

TBR Jar Pick:

I decided to eliminate this section from my TBR. I’ve only managed to read a few of the picks on this section from this year and I’m a lot more interested in the actual books that fit my theme than the ones that end up being in this one section.

The Mom Book Club:

My lovely friends and I decided to take a bit of a book club break these last few months. We’re gonna start fresh in 2017 because right now we’re all super busy to read something together. Let’s hope we get more books read next year!

Read It While It’s Hot Challenge:
A Million Worlds With You
by Claudia Gray

A Million Worlds With You Cover

I’M SO EXCITED FOR THIS BOOK! This is the last book in the Firebird series and I can’t wait to see what the conclusion has in store! I read the first book with the Mom Book Club and the second with Abby who is part of the book club and I am so pumped to read this as soon as it comes out! And those covers are just so completely beautiful.

Goodreads

Continuing Series:
Winter, Miss Mayhem, Forest of Ruin, All Fall Down, Prudence and All In
by Marissa Meyer, Rachel Hawkins, Kelley Armstrong, Ally Carter, Gail Carriger and Jennifer Lynn Barnes

Winter Cover  miss-mayhem-cover  Forest of Ruin Cover

All Fall Down Cover  Prudence Cover  All In Cover

I have a problem now… I have made finishing series such a priority that these numbers have gone a bit overboard…
I’ve finally reached the last book in the Lunar Chronicles! I started this series in December of last year and will be really done next month since I’m reading Stars Above but yeah I’ll be super happy to finally call this one done.
I decided to read Miss Mayhem and finish this series because I read Rebel Belle with the book club and I wasn’t blown away by it so I want to see if the series improve.
I started reading the Age of Legends series last month and since there’s only one book left, I decided to finish it off with Forest of Ruin.
I’VE BEEN TRYING TO READ THIS BOOK FOR MONTHS! All Fall Down is escaping me, I’ve had it in this section like two months in a row and I still haven’t gotten to it, but this is the month! It’s the first book I’m starting this month.
I just finished the Finishing School series so I want to make sure I keep my Gail Carriger binge by starting the Custard Protocol series with Prudence. I love this author and all her books specially this huge combination of companion series and I can’t wait to continue!
And now with my current book obsession. This series is SO GOOD! Five stars for the first book and it keeps getting better and better as I go on.

Goodreads Goodreads Goodreads Goodreads Goodreads Goodreads

Vampire Academy #2, #3, #4, #5 and #6
Frostbite, Shadow Kiss, Blood Promise, Spirit Bound and Last Sacrifice
by Richelle Mead

frostbite-cover  shadow-kiss-cover  blood-promise-cover

spirit-bound-cover  last-sacrifice-cover

When I was in middle school I read this series though I didn’t finish it, then I got Vampire Academy in my TBR jar last year in April I think and I wanted to continue on and finish this series this year. I remember when I first read it I stopped at a book that had one of the worst cliffhangers of all time but I don’t remember which one that is and now I’m really nervous haha.

Goodreads

Hex Hall #1, #2 and #3
Hex Hall, Demonglass and Spell Bound
by Rachel Hawkins

Hex Hall Cover  demonglass-cover  spell-bound-cover

This is another series that I started when I was younger, though this one was in high school. I read the first book and then loaned it to my best friend and she ended up finishing the series and I didn’t. And I actually really liked the first book so I want to finish it. I’d love to know who else has read it.

Goodreads

Drink, Slay, Love
by Sarah Beth Durst

drink-slay-love-cover

I wanted to break up all these series with a standalone. I heard about this book from Catriona over on Booktube @ Little Book Owl and I watched her review which made me interested in the story. Also the cover is really interesting and it kind of makes me think that this book is going to be funnier then most paranormal books and I hope to get to it.

Goodreads

House of Night #1, #2 and #3
Marked, Betrayed and Chosen
by P.C. and Kristin Cast

Marked Cover  betrayed-cover  chosen-cover

I might regret this… This is the series that I became obsessed with after Twilight. It’s also about vampires and it had a lot of books in it. And I would get every single one as soon as it came out until I moved. I really loved it and I found it so entertaining and just awesome. I never managed to finish it since I moved so I’ve been wanting to start it again… But I’m older now and I’ve looked back at what happens in this series and it makes me wary. So we’ll see what happens haha.

Goodreads

So that’s it for this post! I’m both excited and a little nervous. I’m going to be re-reading a lot of books that I read when I was younger so I don’t know how I’ll feel about those books now. I’d love to know if you’ve read any of these series and what you think of them. Thanks so much for reading and I’ll see you on my next post!

Send off

6 thoughts on “November ’16 TBR – Vampires Theme

Leave a Reply

