Great British Bake Off Book Tag

great-british-bake-off-book-tag

Hello everyone!

It’s another Tuesday, meaning another tag. Kirsty @ Kirsty and the Cat Read tagged me to do the Great British Bake Off Book Tag. Now I have never seen this shown but I’ve seen it around Twitter from some European friends. This is kind of like a new phenomenon over there and a lot of people watch it and love it. I’m kind of interested in it now but I’m gonna do this tag before trying to see if I can manage to watch the show from all the way here in SA.

SO let’s get started!

CAKE: The cake has sunk in the middle. Pick a book that didn’t rise to your expectations.

Sea of Shadows Cover

I’m a huge fan of some of this author’s previous works but this one let me down. I was expecting a more action packed book but this one was a bit lackluster. The series has improved but this first book was disappointing.

BISCUITS: Once you’ve eaten one, you’re hungry for more and each time you eat another, they get more and more delicious. Pick a book series or trilogy that got progressively better.

Heist Society Cover

I was really looking forward to reading this book and while I didn’t enjoy it as much as I thought I was going to, the series continued to improve with each book I read. The finale was amazing and I loved it! And I just found out that there’s a new novella for it coming out! I’m so excited!

BREAD: Kneading dough requires hard work and determination. Pick a book that you put off reading for ages and needed a lot of determination to pick up.

Falling Kingdoms Cover

I don’t know why I was so reluctant to read this series. Maybe it was the hype, maybe it was the fact that it was another six book high fantasy YA series and I didn’t know if it’d be similar to one I’d already started reading. But yeah, a lot of people recommending this series to me was the final push.

DESSERTS: Foreign deserts such as crème brûlée and Spanische Windtorte are on the menu. Pick a book set in a foreign country.

Wolf by Wolf Cover

There were quite a few books that I could’ve picked but this one is definitely one of my favorites. It features a motorcycle race across parts of Europe and Asia and I’m hoping to read the sequel this month! I hope it’s just as good.

ALTERNATIVE INGREDIENTS: Not usually used, but surprisingly good. Pick a book from a genre you wouldn’t normally read but ended up loving.

Ten Thousand Skies Above You Cover

I’m not the biggest fan of science fiction, it tends to be a little confusing for me to understand but I love this series! This second book completely blew me away and I love the way the plots are set up and I can’t wait to read the final book!

PASTRY: Shortcrust pastry can crumble easily. Pick a character who you initially liked, but as you read more and more, your relationship with them crumbled apart.

Hush, Hush Cover

The first time I read this book I really liked the main character and I enjoyed the books as a whole. But that just says a lot about the kind of reader I was when I was younger but I definitely hated everything about this series the second time around.

VICTORIAN/OLD-FASHIONED BAKES: Recipes from the past that still taste delicious today. Pick your favorite classic novel.

A Tale of Two Cities Cover

I don’t read a lot of classics and I haven’t since I graduated from school so this is pretty much my pick every time I’m asked about my favorite classic.

PATISSERIE: You’re eating a chocolate éclair but there’s barely any filling inside. Pick a book that lacked substance and fell flat.

The Loose Ends List Cover

I did not enjoy this book at all. I’ve complained about it for a long time after I finished it because I feel like it was insensitive, rude and not funny at all whatsoever.

CHOCOLATE: Chocolate is a comfort food for many people. Pick a book you could read again and again and still find comforting.

Aristotle and Dante Discover the Secrets of the Universe Cover

This is one of my favorite books of all time and I love it so much. I need to re-read it soon because I feel like it would be like coming home. And I’m pretty sure that this is going to be one of those books that I read over and over.

THE GRAND FINAL: Everyone is out to impress with extravagant show-stoppers! Pick your favorite book of the year so far that really impressed you.

The Naturals Cover

This book is definitely going to end up being on my list of favorite books of the year. I fell in love with this author’s other contemporary thriller series and decided to give this one a try but it was SO MUCH BETTER than I was expecting. And the series itself just keeps getting better and better.

So that’s it for this tag! I haven’t tagged anyone but if you’re a fan of this show, please help spread this tag around and feel free to say that I tagged you! Let me know if you’ve read any of these books and what you thought of them. Thanks so much for reading and I’ll see you on my next post!

Send off

One thought on “Great British Bake Off Book Tag

Leave a Reply

